The Miami County Historical Museum presents a series of photographs from 1880 through 1940 - Most photos are from around the Historical Paola Town Square, showing many buildings that are still in use today, filled with vibrant business from Restaurants, Art Galleries, Antique Stores, Banks, and many more.
David Lykins, a Baptist missionary, who built a log mission on the banks of Wea Creek. The county was settled by Indians who had emigrated here from Illinois in 1832. They had been living in the Northwest Territory, now Illinois and Indiana, but as the white man Peorias and Kaskaskias were granted 150 sections of land in Miami County by the Federal government under the jurisdiction or the Osage River Agency.
Under the Treaty of 1854, the Peoria, Wea, Piankishaw, (sic) and Kaskaskia tribes united to become the Confederated Peoria tribe. These tribal members were remnants of the mighty Illinois Nation. Illinois means “ tribe of superior men.” Today, their descendants are Peoria Tribe of Oklahoma.
The land for the town (403 ½ acres) was in the head right of Baptiste Peoria. The name Paola, evolved from the Indian pronunciation of the word Peoria, in honor of Baptiste Peoria. The Paola Town Company was formed in 1855. Paola City was incorporated in 1859. Streets were laid out at a angle and east and west streets were named after various tribes having reservations in this part of the territory.
The town was built around a square given to Paola by the town Council headed by Baptiste Peoria. The gift carried a proviso that no building would ever be built on it. Baptiste made the square a playground for his people, and many horse races were held there.
Baptiste Peoria lived in a log house just outside of Paola, now 314 North Pearl Street, where he ran a store and hauling service. The Indians got their water from Mitchler Spring which has never gone dry at this location, now on the grounds on Penwell Gabel funeral home. A cupola from the demolished Brescia Hall at the Ursuline Convent, is now over the spring.
An Indian burial ground was located at 402 North Pearl Street and extended back the distance of the full lot. David L. Peery requested permission from the City Council in 1910 to move the graves from this location to Oak Grove Cemetery. These graves are now in the Oak Grove Addition in the Paola Cemetery, and were a part of the tombstone preservation project started in the fall of 1992.
Baptiste Peoria married a Miami Indian named Mau me wah. The couple had several children, four of whom survived and lived in Paola. Several buried in Paola Cemetery.
After the death of Mau me wah, Baptiste married Mary Ann Isaacs Dagenett, whose ancestors were French and American Indian. She came to be known as Mother Batees and was highly reguarded by the community and was influential in the selection of Paola as the county seat. After Batiste moved his people to the Oklahoma Territory, Mary Ann remained in Miami County and became a U.S. citizen. Mary Ann Isaacs Dagenett Peoria is buried in the Indian Cemetery south of Louisburg. Baptiste was the chief of the Peorias for 30 years and died in the Indian Territory, Oklahoma on September 13, 1873, at the age of 87.
Early symbolism tended to pattern life and the motifs were generally harsh and severe. By the latter 19th century attitudes had changed and the art work was more focused on a life in the hereafter. These stones show willows, meaning earthly sorrow and the doves are symbolic of the soul and purity.
Paola Cemetery is located at the intersection of Miami and West Street. To find Lot 397, enter Paola Cemetery at the Otttawa street entrance off of West Street. It is the second lot on the north side of the drive in the first lot row of the section marked Oak Grove Addition.
The origin of the name "Paola" has been the subject of discussion for many years and has given rise to various conjectures.
There is no record of the name being chosen by any official body of settlers or even by the original town company itself. Naming a new town was and still is an important event in every community, yet there seems to be no proof whatever that such an event ever took place in the case of Paola.
It is Paola now as was Paola when the first settlers came on the scene in 1854-5. The Indians had been calling their village by that name and the few white people who arrived after the territory was opened up simply followed suit. The name was Paola and nobody questioned its source or even its meaning.
The oldest citizen, the Venerable Judge Ezra W. Robinson, who came to Paola in 1856, says that the name was in use when he arrived and that he did not know its origin or whence it came.
In after years, however, people began to say that it was called after Baptiste Peoria, the Indian chief, for no reason but because there was some similarity in the sound of the two words and that the Indians, when pronouncing the word Paola, meant Peoria.
It is strange that the tribe could not pronounce its own name. Moreover, why change "e" to "a" and "r" to "t" and "ia" to "a"? the transformation is too radical to carry conviction and doubtless was accepted by many for want of a better explanation. One thing that it does show, however, is that the Indians used the word first. Where did they get it?
Another version of the origin of the name, Paola, is given in these words, "Paola founded in 1855, named after Pasquale de Paoli, the Corsican patriot who led his countrymen against Genoa in 1755 and 1789." It is safe to say that the Indians never heard of the gentleman from Corsica.
The third and more plausible origin of the name is given by the venerable John Chestnut, who came to Osawatomie in 1854 and is now a citizen of Denver, Colorado. He states that Paola is called after a town on the west coast of Italy.
It is true there is such a town on the coast of Calabria in southern Italy. It is also true there is a monastery and a hamlet connected with the great Church of St. Paul beyond the walls of Rome called Paola, but it would take no other than an Italian to suggest these obscure places as a name for a wigwam village on the plains of Kansas in the middle of the last century.
That Italian was Paul Mary Ponziglione, S.J., the great Indian missionary who came to these parts in 1851, and was especially beloved by the Peorias. His own name suggested that of his patron, the Great Apostle of the Gentiles: hence Paola. He did not have to go to the wilds of Calabria for the suggestion; it was within his own heart.
CHAPTER 1: LAYING THE FOUNDATION FOR SETTLEMENT
“The Indian Nation”
For thousands of years before Paola was officially recognized as a city of The Kansas Territory in August, 1855, the area surrounding Paola was part of the Osage Indian land.-–Records of the Kansas Territory Government, KSHS.
Before and after the Louisiana Purchase of 1803, the English, Spanish, and French at various times claimed the lands already settled by the Kansa and Osage tribes. The French had established early trading posts in Missouri and at Trading Post in Linn County. Often referred to as the “Great American Desert,” this land was never American or a desert. It was the home of the native Osage Indians and had provided them with plenty.—“A History of Kansas,” By Anna E. Arnold.
Treaties with the Kansa and Osage Indians in the “Removal Policy” of the American government resulted in the moving of these tribes toward the South freeing up land for the arrival of various tribes from the Eastern states. This included the Indians that were to be transplanted in the Paola area.--“op cit.”
At this same time various religious organizations: Baptist, Presbyterian, and Catholic missionaries arrive to establish missions/schools to “convert” the Indian way of life to a Christian life style.
The following is a very important dissertation compiled and written by a local historian. It is obvious after reading the next three pages of local history, that Mr. Long has completed a piece of local history that needs to be published in its entirety and it needs to be presented here—in our book of Paola history.--Phil Reaka.
VERY EARLY PAOLA HISTORY
By Harold L. Long
1803-1855--A United States delegation traveled to France to buy New Orleans from the French. On April 30, 1803 an agreement was reached to purchase this territory. Congress ratified the Louisiana Purchase treaty on October 20, 1803. The United States Government took possession of the Louisiana Purchase from France at New Orleans December 30, 1803 and at St. Louis on March 9, 1804.
Before this time, both Spain and France had claims to this territory but made no settlement. Both had explored some of the area and had contact with various Indian tribes that were inhabitants.
At this time, this entire region was rolling tall grass prairie with timber along the larger streams, flood plains, and around some springs. The area was home to buffalo, elk, deer, antelope, prairie chicken, black bear, cougar, wolves, coyote, and numerous other animals.
Also, the Osage Indians lived along the Osage and Missouri Rivers in Missouri and the Neosho River in Kansas and Oklahoma. The Kansas Indians lived along the Kansas (Kaw) River above the Missouri River. Both tribes are presumed to have used this area as a common hunting ground. Both are branches of the Sioux Indians. Both likely camped at the springs (North Pearl Street in Paola) on their hunting trips.
On June 2, 1825, the Osage Indians signed a treaty relinquishing all of their land in Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas, and Oklahoma and accepted a reservation in Southern Kansas, 25 miles west of the Missouri line. At the same time, the Kansa Indians relinquished their claims and accepted a reservation along the Kaw River from near Topeka and westward. Their former lands were allotted for immigrant Indians moving from the east to settle on reservations in this area.
Because Congress passed the Indian Removal Act, in the summer of 1828, several U. S. Government Agents, delegations from several Indian tribes, and Isaac McCoy, an Indian activist, Baptist preacher, toured the partly surveyed, future reservation areas in Kansas.
The Wea tribe representatives along with government agents selected a site to be developed as a future Indian village and a U. S. Government Agency location.
The Wea delegation along with government agents select a site at the twin springs area (there were two springs) near Bull Creek. The upper spring is on the East side of Pearl Street going up the hill. The lower spring is northwest of the intersection of Iron and First Street now covered over by an industrial site. Both springs are now piped into the storm drain through the area.
According to government records, the area near North Pearl Street was recorded as Wea Village and as a U.S. Government Indian Agency. It was continually occupied ever since by the Agency and the Indians.
It should be noted that Wea Village had been incorrectly referred to as Peoria Village. The Government officially lists Peoria Village as being located along the banks of the Marais des Cygnes in Franklin County not in Miami (Lykins County). A second settlement called The Peoria Methodist Mission one mile west of this settlement also in Franklin County. Also on the north bank of the Marais des Cygnes River. (Then called the Osage River.)
On October 29, 1832, the Wea’s and Piankashaw’s sign a treaty to relocate on the Kansas Wea lands. Some arrive at Wea Village (already established) in early 1833. (Pearl Street)
Each tribe relocating to Kansas was to be furnished a government agent, a blacksmith, a miller, a gunsmith and a farmer. Not all of these positions were always filled. Also, several buildings for the Agency and the Indians were to be constructed at the located villages. The house for the Wea Government Agency was located above the upper spring. (North of Wilson Funeral Home location.) A blacksmith for the Weas, Piankashaws, Peorias, and Kaskaskias was located here at Wea Village. General Maston G. Clark was the first agent. William Carlisle was the blacksmith. Also, there were two gunsmiths on location. Churches were encouraged to Christianize the Indians and to establish missions.
August, 1833, a Presbyterian Missionary visited Wea Village and in February 1834 started a mission about a mile east of town. The Mission was discontinued in 1838 and sold to the government for $750.00.
On October 25, 1833, The American Fur Company and Chouteau’s were granted trading rights and established a post listed as being about a mile east of Wea Village at the junction of Bull and Wea (Indian) Creeks. This actually was about one and a half miles southeast on South side of Wea Creek. This license was renewed at least four times over a period of ten or more years.
In 1835 Maquahononga or (“Negro Legs,”) a 90 year old chief of the Wea’s dies at Wea Village. He came to the village about 1831.
On April 13, 1837, the Osage River Indian Agency is relocated from Fort Leavenworth to the Presbyterian Mission buildings. The Agency is moved to the Pottawatomie near Lane in 1840, to Sac and Fox, to Miami Village and last relocated at Wea Village after 1854. The Wea Agency was always located above the spring on Pearl Street and was combined with the Osage River Agency after 1854. The Osage Indian Agency was located on the Neosho River near St. Paul not to be confused with the Osage River Agency.
The government sold the Presbyterian buildings on Wea Creek east of town, to the Baptist in 1840, and Dr. David Lykins came in 1844. He, then, went to Shawnee Baptist Mission in Johnson County in 1845 and 1846 and returned to Wea Baptist Mission in 1847 replacing the retiring minister. He started and operated an Indian school named The Harvey Institute until 1857.
Rev. Isaac McCoy, an activist Baptist minister and a government surveyor surveyed the boundary lines for the Wea/Piankashaw Reservation. His son, John McCoy, surveyed the original town of Paola in 1854 and 1855, filed for record October 13, 1855 in old book A at the Miami Courthouse.
Baptiste Peoria was allotted 1280 acres! From this acreage he transferred the above 240 to the Paola Town Company.
Christian Dagnette, another chief of the Wea’s dies in 1848 southeast of Louisburg where he lived. His widow, Mary Ann Isaacs, then re-married Baptiste Peoria. She lived in Paola until her death on March 4, 1883. Baptiste Peoria moved with the Indians in 1867 to Oklahoma and died September 13, 1873 as chief of the confederated tribes.
Both the Catholics and Methodists held religious meetings in Wea Village The Methodists state that besides preaching at Peoria Methodist Mission, located in Franklin County, they preached 12 miles distance to the east at Wea Village.
The Catholics established a mission at St. Paul and Fr. Christian Hoechen and later Fr. Paul Ponziglion, A “horseback missionary” traveled a circuit including Wea Village. In 1846 Baptiste Peoria donated land and built a chapel below the spring. Fr. Paul Ponziglion baptized all of the tribe present in mass. He, being an Italian, furnished the name of Paoli/Paola after his native country, Italy. He started many area Catholic churches and later went west to Colorado and Wyoming preaching to the Indians. He retired and died in Chicago, Illinois.
In Washington D. C. May 30, 1854 with Baptiste Peoria as interpreter, and Eli Moore as Indian Agent, the tribe representative signed a treaty retaining 160 acres for each Indian and some land in common for other purposes. They ceded the rest of their reservation to the U. S. Government.
The Wea, Pianchaskaw, Peoria, and Kaskaskias are now combined and known as the Confederated Tribe and Baptiste Peoria is made their chief.
On May 30, 1854, President Pierce signs the Kansas-Nebraska Bill officially opening the Kansas Territory for settlement except for the Indian allotment lands. The Indians can, now voluntarily sell their allotment with the approval of the Bureau of Indian Affairs in Washington and move to Oklahoma. It was in 1867 that they were required to become citizens of the United States and settle on their 160 acres or move to Oklahoma.
Baptiste Peoria and family are allotted 1280 areas. As chief of the confederated tribes, he selects lands at Wea Village. At this time, he had a trading post along with the government agency, as mentioned before, located on the hill north of Paola. Also, there is a blacksmith shop, Indian Chapel, and several other log cabins at the location of the first true site of the city of Paola.
Baptiste welcomes in settlers along with persons already working in the area and at the agency. Baptiste and associates, start laying out a town. John C. McCoy began a survey of the original town of Paola in the fall of 1854 and completed it in 1855.
As far as I know, Baptiste was French and Delaware/Miami Indian and spoke several dialects. His wife, Mary Ann, may be French and Brotherton Indian. They came to the area under the Indian Removal Act.—History by Barry, Andreas, Wilder, Blackmar, KSHS, Methodist History, Catholic History, Connelly, local historians, and papers.—Harold L. Long.
CONTINUING THE INDIAN STORY
(Some of the information that follows may be a repeat of parts of what was written by Mr. Long! However, to present history as accurately as possible, accounts of different people and their writings, even if it concerns the same subject, must be presented without alteration. You, therefore, will read some accounts that cover the same historical subject again and again.)
1822—Father DeLacroix and French traders entered the area.-- History of Our Cradleland, Reverend Thomas H. Kinsella, Ll.D
1837—The Wea Village near Mitchler Springs (Wilson’s Funeral Home) was the first attempt at a permanent settlement which was actually within the present day city limits of Paola. (Mitchler Springs, the site of the Osage Indian River Company and Baptiste Peoria’s Trading Post (North Pearl Street).
The “original” beginning of Paola began many years before August of 1855. Mitchler Springs and Granny Wakefield Springs (as they were later named) were the stopping point for hundreds of years or more for thirsty travelers, most of whom were the Native American Indian. (Mitchler Springs is active today near the Wilson Funeral Home and the Granny Wakefield Springs close by-—probably from the same water source.)
This area was to become the actual beginning of the town site of Paola. When a government Indian agency was established here, many names were used in reference to this site: Wea Village, The Osage River Indian Agency, The Osage Indian River Company, Baptiste Peoria Trading Post, Battiesville, The Indian Trading Post, Bulltown, and mistakenly Peoria Village. (One must not confuse the Baptist Indian Mission east of town on Wea Creek with this site!)
--Various references including The Ethyl Hunt Collection and B. J. Sheridan.
1840---“….near the banks of Wea Creek, was located the Baptist or Wea Mission. Connected with the Mission was a well-conducted school for Indian children. This Mission and school was established in 1840, and had, for a number of years been under the charge of Dr. David Lykins, who discharged his trust with great fidelity and to the infinite advantage of the Indians. There were a number of white men employed about the Mission in various ways and capacities, but they were generally transitory characters whose names are not recollected and who did not reside here long enough to become identified with the settlement of the county…..”op. cit. B.J. Sheridan.
1840--. . .“At the beginning, the mission property (obtained from the government—it had been headquarters for the Osage River Sub agency) consisted of one dwelling (38’ x 18’) a story and a half high (divided into four rooms), with two stone chimney’s, and a one story cook house (17’ x 18’) connected to it by a passageway. . . .--Bureau of Indian Affairs Report, St. Louis Missouri.
1844-—Davis Lykins arrived from Indiana.—B. Wallace
1848-—Wea (Baptist) Mission was establish and headed by Superintendent David Lykins. -- History of Our Cradleland, Reverend Thomas H. Kinsella, Ll.D
1848--Located east of Paola near Wea Creek, this Indian school was named after the Sub-Agent “H. Harvey” who was in charge of the Osage Sub Agency. This mission is often referred to by many names: The Old Presbyterian Indian Mission, Baptist Mission, Lykin’s Indian Mission, Harvey Institute, etc.–Bureau of Indian Affairs Report, St. Louis Missouri.
1850-—Edwin Lykins was born in the “Old Baptist Mission” and became first child born in Miami County.--–1971 Edition of Miami Republican by Ethyl Hunt.
1852-—Mrs. David Lykins dies in the “Baptist Mission” and was buried at the Indian cemetery the site of which is somewhat unknown today.--“Op Cit.”
1852-—Col. Ely Moore was appointed the Indian Agent for the Miami, Wea, Pianchaskaw, and Kaskaskia tribes.—- History of Our Cradleland, Reverend Thomas H. Kinsella, Ll.D
1854-—Some of the earliest residents of the Wea Village on North Pearl (not yet called Paola), included: Daniel Martin, Charles White, Thomas Rice, James Poland, William Chestnut, O C Brown, John Everett, Elden Palmer, Henry Devillens, Alan Wilkerson, and Knowles Shaw, a blacksmith.—- History of Our Cradleland, Reverend Thomas H. Kinsella, Ll.D.
1854-—“At the close of the year 1854, the following persons were residing at or near the Agency: General W. A. Heiskell and family, the Shaw family consisting of the four brothers, Cyrus, Isaac, Knowles and William, with their mother and sister, and D. L. Perry.”—op.cit. B. J. Simpson.
1854—-Sam Boon built a log cabin at northwest corner of village—used as a hotel—torn down in 1869.-—Miami Republican, 1869.
1854--Cyrus Shaw was born in Hamilton, Ohio, March 8, 1829. He was educated in the common schools of Indiana and brought up on a farm until eighteen years of age. He then entered a store as a merchant's clerk and was soon in business for himself. In 1854, he came to Kansas, located at Paola where he served for some time as clerk in the store of the noted Indian chief Baptiste Peoria. He was subsequently engaged in mercantile business for himself about two years. He was elected the first Treasurer of Lykins County, now Miami. In 1858 he received a contract for carrying the mail between Kansas City and Fort Scott. He ran the first four horse stage over that route and continued that business four years. He was subsequently engaged in milling at Paola. He was elected County Commissioner in 1867. Was re-elected and held the position until 1871. He has been connected with the Miami County Bank since February, 1879, in the capacity of bookkeeper.--William G. Cutler's History of the State of Kansas.
1855--“The Osage River Indian Agency was located on the immediate north and adjoining the town sire of Paola, and on the spot now occupied by the dwelling of Cyrus Shaw. It consisted of a row of log houses, and one or two detached log ones, and near it, on the slops of the hill alongside of the main road from Kansas City to the southern part of the territory, was a large spring of sparkling, cold water, now the property of George W. Mitchler. Many thirsty Indians and many more white immigrants still hold that spring in grateful recollection.”--“A Sketch of the Early Settlers of 1854”, By B. J. Simpson.
CHAPTER 2: THE OFFICIAL “SES-QUI-CEN-TEN-NI-AL” BEGINNING
“Off To The Races—1855-1870”
1854—The Kansas Nebraska Act was passed by the United States Congress. This act changed everything! The Kansas-
Nebraska Bill was passed by the U.S. Congress in May 1854 creating a territory on its way to statehood. During the
ensuing seven-year drama, "Bleeding Kansas" drew national attention while the issue of slavery was debated and the
native populations were dispersed. In 1861 Kansas was admitted as the 34th state in the Union leading to the
outbreak of Civil War.
Kansas was made officially a United States Territory by the Kansas Nebraska Act of 1854. . . The early settler often
selected a spot for his home near a timbered stream, where he could cut logs. Homes were made from the earth and
were called dugouts. They were rectangular holes cut in the side of a bank of suitable size and depth, roofed with
poles over which were heaped cornstalks and dried grasses, and then topped with strips of sod. They were warm, dry
and windproof. Walls were plastered with a mixture of clay and sand. Later, homes were made of squares of sod, of
convenient size for handling like bricks. Such houses stood for 35 or 40 years. Schools were also made like this. Claims
were fenced with stone, or Osage orange hedge planted. Game was abundant. Fruits and meats were dried. Milk and
butter kept in the spring or hung in the well. . . . --Historic Johnson County, by Elizabeth E. Barnes, 1969.
1855—The election of March 30, 1855 to fulfill the Congressional Act of 1854 to organize the Territories of Nebraska
and Kansas took place in 18 districts across the Territory of Kansas. The Fifth District was divided into four voting
precincts: Bull Creek, Pottawatomie, Big Sugar, and Little Sugar. “Bull Creek Precinct—Commencing in the Osage (or
Marais des Cygnes) river, opposite the termination of the dividing ridge between Pottawatomie and Middle Creek;
thence by an easterly line, running north of all the settlements on the waters of North Sugar Creek to the Missouri
State line; thence up said line between the fourth and fifth districts; thence east along said line to the line between the
Peoria and Ottawa reservations; thence south along the same to the Osage river, and down said river to the place of
1855--It was not until the First Territorial Legislature met at Lecompton that Paola officially became a location on a
map—at least a map developed by a government entity. Records of the First Territorial Legislature show that an act
had passed “The Council” on August 20 and on August 23 passed the House of Representatives. These two events
and the signing of the Act by acting governor Daniel Woodson approving it on August 29, incorporated the Town of
Paola (Paoli). Paola, K.T. (not Kansas yet!) was born!--Official Records of the 1855 Kansas Territorial Assembly, KSHS,
1855—In this same year an election was held to determine whether Paola or Osawatomie would become the official
county seat. After counting the ballots, Paola was victorious.-—Cradleland
1855--Cyrus Shaw operated the first stage line from Kansas City to Paola to Osawatomie to Ft. Scott. Later, it moved
west to include Olathe and Spring Hill.--Cradleland
1855--A stage coach repair shop was located where the Vassar Hotel was.--Cradleland.
1855--The town of Paola was laid out in the spring of 1855, and incorporated by the Legislature during the session of
that year, its limits comprising all that tract of country "set forth and defined in the plat of said town". The Paola Town
Company was incorporated about the same time, the cooperators being Baptiste Peoria, Isaac Jacobs, A. M. Coffey and
David Lykins. This company was authorized to acquire title to by any quantity of land not exceeding 600 acres. The
Board of Trustees appointed consisted of William A. Heiskell, Isaac Jacobs, William H. Lebow, B. P. Campbell and Peter
Potts. The streets were laid out at an angle with the points of the compass, of eleven and one-half degrees to the east
of north, south of east, etc., and all those streets running nearly east and west named after various tribes of Indians
having reservations in the part of the Territory. The corporators, after organizing and acquiring title to about 400 acres
of land, fixed the value of the land, assets, rights, credits, and effects at $36,000 and divided the same into seventy-
two shares, of which Baptiste Peoria, William G. Krutz, T. J. Anderson and W. R. Wagstaff each held twelve shares and
William E. Ide, A. J. Shannon and Ezra T. Nye each held six.--William G. Cutler's History of the State of Kansas.
1855--- Baptiste Peoria donated five (5) lots for a church and five (5) acres east of town for a cemetery. In 1859 the
Catholics begin to build a stone church . . . .”the Civil War interfered with all religious affairs and it was not completed
until 1863. . .--Mrs. James S. Neylon, Miami Republican, August 5, 1932.
1855-—Knowles and Cyrus Shaw just north of the Haughey Hack Line – (North of Wilson’s) operated the Shaw
Brothers store.—Ethyl Hunt Collection.
1855--The so-called "tar springs" and "oil springs" which led to the idea that oil existed in paying quantities, were
known to the Indians from time immemorial and to the white men as early as 1855. One of the most noted of these
was the Wea Tar Spring. Mention is made of these springs in The Herald of Freedom of March 31, 1855, and July 25,
1857. The first prospecting was done in 1860 by G. W. Brown. A company was formed at Lawrence of which Erastus
Heath, Maltravis Solomon, Dr. Barker, Seth Clover, W. R. Wagstaff, G. W. Miller and Dr. Lykins were members, and G. W.
Brown was president and manager. Thirty-year leases were obtained on thirty thousand acres of land, and the drilling
was begun in June. The wells were sunk in the vicinity of springs where the oil had been escaping for centuries and no
longer existed in paying quantities. After sinking three or four wells near Paola the work was laid by for the winter, and
before it was resumed the Civil War came on, and nothing more was attempted for twenty years. In the meantime the
oil from the springs which was of a very heavy variety was sold for wagon grease and sometimes used for medicinal
1855—In September, 1855, The St. Louis Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church South sent several young
preachers to organize missions among the white settlements in Kansas, among them Cyrus Robert Rice……He traveled
horseback and on the day after leaving Springfield, Missouri, he found himself among Indians naked to the waist but
who greeted him in a friendly way and directed him to the “double log cabin of Chief Baptiste near where the town of
Paola now is. He had his first night on a bed of buffalo robes and the next day went to the settlement called
Osawatomie on the Marais des Cygnes River where he met Rev. Samuel L. Adair, who told him plainly that they did not
want a representative of the slave interests there. . . .”--William Ansel Mitchell’s Story of Linn County—Reprint The
Western Spirit, August 21, 1931.
1857---Paola Town Company has a house built for their first “city hall” on north side square where Coker’s Store was
located.—Ethyl Hunt Collection.
1857--In June, 1857, Baptiste Peoria was elected President of the Paola Town Company and A. J. Shannon Agent and
Secretary. On the 29th of June, 1858, Baptiste Peoria was re-elected President, Allen T. Ward, Treasurer, and W. R.
Wagstaff Agent and Secretary. From this time until after the expiration of limitation of the Charter of the Paola Town
Company, granted in 1855 and continuing ten years, no further meeting of the Company was held, and no other
officers chosen during its corporate existence. Allen T. Ward, Treasurer died in June, 1862, and the vacancy caused by
his death was not filled. Under the law applicable to the dissolution of corporations, W. R. Wagstaff, as Agent and
Secretary, became Trustee, with full power to settle its affairs. He continues to manage its affairs until its property was
finally disposed of.--William G. Cutler's History of the State of Kansas.
1857-—William C. Quantrill paid $2.25 an acre for land near Stanton (Sect. 21, Township 17, Range 21 at the public
land sale at Paola on June 29, 1857.-–Quantrill and the Border War, by William Connelly, 1910.
1857--“The first school taught by a white person in this county was taught by Mrs. Malona Williams, who later became
Mrs. Cyrus Shaw. It was a subscription school, which was begun in the fall of 1857 and continued for a term of three
months. The tuition rates were $3.00 for each pupil and the school numbered twenty-five. It was held in a little frame
building, then standing on the ground occupied by one of the Condon buildings, in Paola, Kansas. As nearly as Mrs.
Shaw can remember, this building was where the Henson-Woodman Hardware Company’s storeroom faces the east,
just north of and adjoining The Investor’s Company office, opposite the post office. It was a one story, board structure,
about twenty feet square with three windows and a door.” (114 South Pearl near the location of Achey Insurance)
“….in the Southern Methodist Church, which at that time stood on lot 1, block 37, but was moved later to the south end
of lot 1, block 35”…"some Indians attended, among which were Dan and Jim Eddy and Mark Pascol. The latter was a
grandson of Baptiste Peoria, the chief.”
Mrs. Williams later taught at a school near Spring Hill in 1858.--“Miami County School History” by B. J. Sheridan, June 30,
1911, (Collection of newspaper articles at the Swan River Museum in Paola.)
1857—Lykins County (Kansas Territory) had a population of 1,352.—B.J. Sheridan writings.
1858—W. R. Wagstaff, on behalf of the Paola Town Company, offered to donate to the county 150 lots within the town
site. The proceeds from the sale of these lots would be to help finance the county government. They were deeded from
the city to the county and then from the county to private citizens when sold. The money went into the treasury of
Lykins County.—Miami County Register of Deeds and “The Western Spirit”, Feb. 2, 1900.
1858--Early in August, 1858, the Osawatomie people presented a petition for a vote to permanently locate the County
Seat in accordance with the provision of the law of 1858, which said, "When the County Seat of any county has not
been located by a vote of the electors of the county and county buildings have not been erected, the Board of Co.
Commissioners upon the petition of a majority of the legal electors of the county shall order an election for the location
or removal of such county seat." The County Seat had never been located in Paola, that is, by a vote of the electors.
Some of the earliest settlers remember the submitting of this important question to the Paola Board as causing much
agitation among the Paola people. The Board of Supervision ordered an election for the permanent location of the
County Seat to be held on the same day as the general election and from that time on party lines was abolished. The
Paola people worked like beavers. It was said at the time that they personally visited every legal voter in the county.
For ten days before the election it was believed that Paola would win if the voters could be persuaded to go to the
polls; hence every effort and inducement was used to get all voters friendly to Paola to the voting places. The county
was divided into small districts and three men constituted a committee to get every voter of every district to the
respective polls. The returns showed that Paola had won by a majority of 90 votes. A contest was threatened based
upon some illegal Indian votes. But after examination it was found that Paola would still have a majority of 48 votes.
The result of that election was of great importance to Paola. It created a belief among those who wanted to live and
build at the County Seat that the town was sure to remain as such. The only evidence now existing that Paola is the
County Seat is to be found in the act of 1855 establishing it as the permanent Seat of Justice. The petition upon which
the Board of Supervision ordered the election has disappeared. The journal of the Board does not contain the order of
the election. No record of the canvass of the vote seems to exist. The County Seat still rests on an act of the Bogus
Legislature.--Miss Ethel Wise, June 11, 1918.
1858-—The City Park was donated by Baptiste Peoria . . . .with the provision that no building should ever be placed
there . . . .in early days, it was an open common where the Indians ran horse races and indulged in war dances.--Ethyl
1858—-The first brick building in Paola was the one story building used as a saloon. It was built by Thomas Hill and
Hemphill Wilson . . . . . later it was Rex Kaiser’s barber shop . . . .---Ethyl Hunt Collection.
1858--A man named Totten built the first house in the city of Paola. (Others had been built prior to Paola being a city
that was recognized by the Kansas Territory Legislature) It was later taken by the United States Government for
military purposes. It became the officer’s headquarters during the Civil War when many soldiers were assigned to Post
(Fort) Paola.—-History of Our Cradleland, By Reverend Thomas H. Kinsella, LL. D.
1858-—A Lockup Pound and Morgue were located at present City Hall--Ethel Hunt Collection.
1858--Six Irish families traveling from Indiana settled between Paola and Osawatomie. Upon learning of the settlers,
Father Paul Ponziglione paid them a visit and celebrated Mass in one of their homes. In December of 1858, Father Ivo
Schacht visited the settlement and took over its spiritual needs. Construction of a church in Paola began in 1858, but
crop failures, drought, and the start of the Civil War halted the effort. The church was finally complete in 1865, but by
1877 it began to crumble. Faced with a deteriorating church, the parish started constructing a new one in 1880. In
1902 a school was built. The following year the Ursuline Sisters took charge of the school. On Jan. 14, 1906, the church
was destroyed by a fire of unknown origin. By the next year a new church had risen in its place. In 1959, the old school
was replaced by a new one. In 1999, the parish completed a major renovation of the interior of the church.—“The
Leaven”, Official Newspaper of the Archdiocese of Kansas City in Kansas, Online Ed.
1859—-“Father took me to two places of important events the next spring, or summer—a government distribution of
money to the Indians, at Miami Mission, and to the capital of the Territory, Lecompton. The coin: gold and silver, was
hauled to Miami Mission. . .Mounted soldiers rode in front, behind, and to the sides of the wagon, which drew up at the
big house, in which were government officials, and Baptiste Peoria (Major Bateese), with his sectary and interpreter,
who put the coins in little piles on a table, and then into small sacks. Each Indian stepped forward when called, and
with another or a white man who counted the money and handed it back to the person called. This took an hour or
more. Tents and sheeted wagons were all around the place, many peddlers were there with gewgaws, ribbons, silks,
dresses and shawls that reflected all the colors of the rainbow, which they sold to the Indians. There were pony
races, and, off from the main places, were dice games and card playing, and drinking. . .—B. J. Sheridan,
1859--“Abilard Ayres whom I mentioned, had come from Beaver, Pennsylvania….was bound for Paola we were….had
attended the 1857 Kansas land sales in Paola. . .bought a tract, about seven miles north of Paola….to prepare the new
home for the Ayres family. . . . .
On the levee at the north end of Main Street, of what is now Kansas City, Mo., a horse team and an ox team were
engaged to haul the Sheridan’s, with the Ayres, and their belongings to Paola—nine persons including the drivers.”
“not another stop was made till the General Clover house, in Paola, was reached. . . .The Indian Agency headquarters,
a large log house of five rooms, stood where now is the home of Drew McLaughlin, on North Pearl Street northwest of
what later was known as “The Mitchler Springs,” now the W. H. Moorehouse property. The next day I went “down
town.” There were only two little shanties between Clover’s place and the five or six frame shacks on the north and
east side of what is today Park Square. Indians, saddle horses, oxen hitched to b big covered wagons, and a few white
men, were in sight, but not a white woman. Half way back to the log house, on the hill, father met me and gave me a
swipe with a rod, for leaving without permission.
“The following day I stayed in until father told me I could accompany him and Suttons. Clover and the General’s son. To
Miami Mission, a little village of mostly Indians, ‘near the east bank of the Marais des Cygnes River, about 11 miles
southeast of Paola. The trip was made in a spring wagon, hauled by mules, and Wea Creek was forded close to the
Baptist Mission, later the Robert McGrath homestead . . . at the mission village, father met some men from whom he
bought a “land warrant,” which was, by law of congress, passed in 1854, a special grant to a soldier. ….Osage
township, the southeast quarter of Section 28-18-23 . . .–B. J. Sheridan’s Collection, Stories of a Kansas, 1030-31, The
INSERT PICTURE OF GENERAL SETH CLOVER, INDIAN AGENT—1-11
1860--In 1860, under special charter from the legislature, Paola was organized as a city of the third class. This form of
government was continued until 1862, when it was organized as a city of the second class. Kansas: a cyclopedia of
state history, embracing events, institutions, industries, counties, cities, towns, prominent persons, etc.--by Frank W.
1860—“In March I saw the first great fire. There has been neither rain nor snow for two months, and the prairie was a
tinder box. Fire seemed to start on both sides of the Marais des Cygnes, and every settler must have set in to back
fire. It looked like the world was burning up. . . . I saw the outlines of The Miami Mission buildings, apparently burning….’
Thousands of trees on the river bluffs were charred,…north of “Taylor Crossing,” . . .was about ten square miles south,
west, and east of what is now Henson Station, on the Frisco railway, some five miles south of Paola.” -–B. J. Sheridan’s
Collection, Stories of a Kansas, 1030-31, The Western Spirit.
1860--If I went West, I think I would go to Kansas.--Abraham Lincoln.
1860—-A great drought struck the area! Did not rain for more than 16 months.--Historic Johnson County by Elizabeth
1860--“It was the year of drought in Kansas Territory, and river wash days were in order, because only the pools in the
beds of large streams afforded water for livestock and for the family washings. From Council Grove….to Oswego, and
from Pomona to Trading Post, . . . settlers could be seen, in the later part of the summer, slowly winding their way,
behind ox-teams to the river pools, with wagons loaded with cooking utensils, meal, sorghum, chickens in coops,
and the scant supplies of wearing apparel and bedding. . . . .Beginning with mid-summer of 1860, Lykins, (now Miami)
county, became very dry, and Osage township was the driest, except for the pools of the deep river…nearly all of the
country west of Lykins county was a parched plain. . . --“Weekly Critic” by B.J. Sheridan, Miami Republication, July 9,
1860--Just north of Wilson’s Funeral Home was a stagecoach stop. The area was Paola’s first waterworks. Many hauled
water from this spring including the Civil War period of 1961-1965--Ethel Hunt Collection of Newspaper Accounts.
1860--A Baptist Church was built on East Peoria, east of the library.--Ethel Hunt Collection.
PAOLA GEARS UP FOR THE CIVIL WAR
It All Started With A Bullet And A Map!!
Hanging on a wall in the Swan River Museum is a black and white map of Paola from the 1860’s which was presented
to the museum by the Nichol’s family of Paola. Because maps of this type would lack detail when reproduced in our
book, we choose not to publish it. It is an awesome Civil War map of the town with the names of the officers who were
in Paola at that time, written on it.
Also, in my room is an old lead bullet that was found at the school yard near North School. Further investigation
resulted in the following: The map was military map showing the town and various sites within the town including the
Fort near the present water tower.
The old lead bullet was determined to be one from the Civil War period when Union troops were stationed in Paola for
a period from 1861 to 1865. (Ed Belsanti, in the summer of 2004, also found a civil war bullet near North School!)
From this time on, the race begin to find more information concerning Paola and the Civil war. More will be found, but
time is running out for our book. However, we believe that the information contained here, will open our eyes to the
fact that Paola was a major player in the Civil War on the western border!—Phil Reaka
1861--1865—During this period of time, the nation was involved with the bloodiest war it has ever experienced. The
Civil War involved Paola much more than most people realize.—Phil Reaka
1861-—Located at 210 North Pearl was a home taken over by the U. S. Government for military purposes. The Union
Officer’s headquarters at 209 North Pearl was just across the street…a rooming and eating house. This house is the
home of the Tom Beener family.--Ethel Hunt Collection
1861--When the Civil War broke out some men from Ottumwa joined the first units, one was Lane's Brigade, formed in
1861 and later mustered into the 9th Kansas Cavalry. Some men joined Harrison Kelly's 5th Kansas Cavalry, as Kelly
was a local well known and prominent Ottumwa leader. Still other's traveled to Paola and Osawatomie to enlist.--
1861—“About this time, General James H. Lane held a review of troops in the open space before the school, and a
number of boys left and enlisted.” This account happened in a school yard in Osawatomie, but General Lane recruited
troops for the Civil War in Paola as well.--B. J. Sheridan, Miami County School History, 1911.
1861—The War of the Rebellion officially begins, although Kansans have known for years that it had been in a “civil war
struggle” way before the first shots were fired at Fort Sumter in Charleston, South Carolina.—Phil Reaka.
PAOLA, K.T. AND WILLIAM QUANTRILL: A PERFECT MATCH??
“We Were Somewhat To Blame For His Kansas Presence!!”
1857--William C. Quantrill arrives in 1857—already bitter young man who hated John Brown--was brought here from
Ohio by Col. H. Torrey (the man who began one of Paola’s first hotels on the northwest part of square. Also, the H. V.
Beeson family were friends of the Quantrills and the Torreys and all were part of this exodus to Paola. (Quantrill, as
hard as it is to believe, briefly was a teacher in Stanton, Kansas Territory in 1857-58.) History will later tell the rest of
this story.— Quantrill and the Border War, by William Connelly, 1910.
1857-—William C. Quantrill paid $2.25 an acre for land near Stanton (Sect. 21, Township 17, Range 21 at the public
land sale at Paola on June 29, 1857.—Connelly.
1857—Samuel D. Irwin was the county superintendent (public education administrator), living in Paola, examined
Quantrill’s papers to check his qualifications before he was permitted to teach school in Stanton, K. T. Samuel Irwin,
also, surveyed the town lots in town and then named the streets. He was also a member of the Paola Home Guard
under Major Ben F. Simpson.-–Ethyl Hunt Collection of Writings.
1861—Quantrill was arrested in Stanton for his earlier crimes at Lawrence. With many threats on his life, he was taken
in protective custody by W. L. Potter of Paola where he was held under arrest at Stanton and hurried to Paola. In
Paola, he was now among friends who at that time sympathized with him and his position on the slavery issue.
Remember, he was considered one of the “border ruffians” and Paola was a border ruffian town. He feasted at the
Torrey Hotel until night, when he was escorted to the jail house and was secretly given a heavy duty revolver for
his own protection. When he was arrested he was assured that he would be protected by the sheriff while confined
After a few days jail time in protective custody, a "writ of habeas corpus” was issued, and Judge Roberts gave him his
liberty. A banquet was thrown by Col. Torrey at his hotel. Afterwards Quantrill head to Missouri to continue his
plundering and planning his; forthcoming “sack” on Lawrence.—Connelly.
1863-—“the people talked constantly of the Civil War, and the dreaded Quantrill Band” . . . .”All the soldiers had gone
into barracks at Paola. One day news came of Quant ell’s threat to destroy Lawrence” . . .”our most prized things were
carried out and hid every night (near Marysville to the northwest of town) She (mom) heard their wagons”…”knew they
were moving on and not burn our homes.”…”He left behind what we called Quantrill’s trail”….”and many times we
crossed it on our trips to Paola.—Mrs. James S. Neylon, “A Story About Paola”, Miami Republican, August 5, 1932.
1863--Alert at Post Paola of the Quantrill gang heading this way after sacking Lawrence. (August 20, 1863) He came
as close as Bull Creek and then changed course after encountering Union soldiers from Paola who were put on alert.—
MORE OF PAOLA AND THE CIVIL WAR
1861---Pat Devlin, the originator of the term "jayhawking" was killed in the fall of 1860, in Aurora, Col. and it is a
remarkable coincidence that "Marshall Cleveland," the last and by no means should the least of the “jayhawkers” have
been killed on almost the exact spot where the name originated. Marshall Cleveland was known at different times by
different aliases. His real name was Metz, and he came to Kansas from Ohio. He was a man of commanding stature, tall
and muscular, and brave to a fault. He first made his appearance on the border in 1861, as one of Jennison's
jayhawkers. On the 14th of October, he was mustered in as Captain of Company H, Seventh Cavalry, but unable to
bear the restraints of army life, he resigned his commission November 1st. Gathering about him a number of men of his
own class, he commenced a course of robbery and plunder in the name of "Liberty." Having stolen $125 from H. L.
Lyons and considerable property from Joseph and John Beets, himself and two of his confederates, named respectively
"Buckskin" and "Rabbit Ear" were indicted for robbery at the March term of the district court. A State warrant was
issued for Cleveland, and the sheriff made several ineffectual attempts to arrest him. He laughed at the civil authorities
and defied the military. He was declared an outlaw and Capt. H. S. Greeno, Company C, Sixth Kansas Cavalry, in
command at Paola, sent out two soldiers in citizens' clothing, to ascertain his whereabouts. On the 10th of May they
found him at the Geer Hotel in Osawatomie. On the same day the Sheriff attempted to arrest him, but failed to procure
a posse equal to the task. Capt. Greeno proceeded to Osawatomie in the night. Approaching the town he picketed the
roads with a portion of his forces under Sergeant Morris. As daylight approached Sergeant Morris drew in his men,
surrounded the Geer Hotel, and before Capt. Greeno reached the hotel, had received Cleveland's surrender. Cleveland
being allowed to dress and come out of the house, sprang upon his horse, which some friend had brought him, broke
through the guards and dashed off in the direction of the Pottawatomie, followed by the whole command. Capt Greeno
and Private John Johnson, being finely mounted, rapidly gained upon the outlaw, and when within range were fired
upon by him several times. On arriving at the bank of the creek he dismounted and ran down the steep bank. Johnson
also dismounted and approaching the bank, fired a fatal shot at Cleveland from above. He was buried in the
Osawatomie cemetery and some time afterwards his "wife" caused to be erected at the head of his grave a monument
bearing the following inscription: Marshall Cleveland, May 11, 1862, Earth counts a mortal less, Heaven an angel
1862—In august of 1862, Jim Lane, Senator and General of the Kansas State Militia, went about the task of recruiting
Blacks for the Union Army with fanatical zeal. Many of his first recruits were from the Leavenworth area but recruiting
spread in earnest to cities like Wyandotte, Lawrence, Paola, Ft. Scott and Sac and Fox Agency. Indians as well as
Blacks were recruited to fight together under one flag.—“The First Kansas Colored Infantry Regiment”, by Eric
1862—William “Bill” Gordon was a slave in Virginia and had been sold several times before making it to Paola and
becoming a “free man.” After coming to Paola in 1862, he enlisted in the Union forces at Paola. He was a member of
Company E, 79th Regiment, U. S. Colored Troops during the Civil War. He fought in the Battles of Cabin Creek, Honey
Springs, Sherwood Missouri, and Poison Springs Arkansas. — Bill was discharged in 1865 and returned to Paola
where he became a grave digger “Sexon” of the Paola Cemetery for 31 years. This makes his employment the longest
in Paola history. -- Miami Republican, December 20, 1912.
1862—In 1903, Henry Lyder while plowing last week for his father, A. M. Lyder, on the east side of John Brown’s
lookout, southeast of town, plowed up a small shell that was likely fired there during the early 60’s when there was a
fort on the hill where Mrs. T. K. Clifton’s residence is now located. A small steel cannon was brought here by Jim Lane
and the soldier boys had target practice from the fort to the John Brown lookout.—Miami Republican, September 11,
1862—“Then came the exciting times when the soldiers were constantly moving in their snow-white covered wagons.
Many times a train of these wagons camped on the hills just east of our village. (Marysville) After they gone all of the
children would go out to find what they had left behind. Some found pocket knives, purses, tobacco, pans, tin cups, and
skillets. Some found money, but all I could see was the decks of cards they had scattered to the winds”….”I can home
with my arms filled with these cards. There were” . . . .”years of war after that. One spring morning a man on a large
beautiful gray horse came riding through the town, stopping at every house. He was an officer from the barracks at
Paola. He said that President Lincoln had been shot and requested that mourning should hang from every house for
thirty days.”. . . “Mother went to the store and bought a width of black calico,”. . .”sewed it around a staff and nailed it
to the window where it hung for thirty days for Mr. Lincoln.”….”Our folks lost no time moving to Paola. Father went into
the grocery business in a frame building that stood on the corner where the new beautiful Miami County National Bank
now is being built. Our house was on the lot where the Commercial Hotel now stands, and on the corner where the city
hall stands, was the home of Mr. Baptiste Peoria” . . .”and his wife. The Miami Indians were here. They were smaller
Indians and a little darker in color. They owned nearly all of those lovely farms in Miami County.”-—Mrs. James S.
Neylon, “A Story Presented by her.”
Men Killed serving Kansas--1861-1865
* Killed in Action: 24 Officers.494 Men.
* Died of Wounds Received in Action: 7 Officers. 181 Men
* Died from Disease: 27 Officers. 1611 Men
* Died of Disease in Confederate Prisons: 36 Prisoners
* Died of Accidents Except Drowning: 2 Officers. 66 Men
* Died of Drowning: 36 Men
* Murdered: 1 Officer. 7 Men
* Killed After Capture: 11 Prisoners
* Committed Suicide: 3 Men
* Military Execution: 4 Men
* Executed By Enemy: 2 Prisoners
* Died of Sunstroke: 1 Man
* Died of Causes Known but not classified: 6 Men
* Died of Causes Not Stated: 5 Prisoners. 53 Men.
* Total: 2,544 Men
--*Regimental Losses in American Civil War 1861-1865, Fox, William Freeman 1840-1909,
Albany Pub. Co. Published in 1889.
1862--The Twelfth Regiment Kansas Volunteer Infantry (Company C) was raised in response to a call of the President
of the United States, dated July, 1862, for 300,000 volunteers for "three years, unless sooner discharged." This
company was organized and mustered into service at Paola in September 26, 1862, chased after Quantrill in 1863,
chased after General Shelby later in 1863, and later fought General Price in Arkansas with several killed at Jenkin’s
Ferry. Nick L. Beuter from Paola was Captain of this fighting unit.—Framed Memorial Certificated Donated by Nick
Quimby and wife Sarah, Swan River Museum, Paola, Kansas.
1862--The quota of Kansas under this call was three regiments of infantry. Hon. James H. Lane, then U.S. Senator from
Kansas, was authorized by the War Department to raise this quota of troops, and under certain restrictions, to officer
the same when mustered into the United States service, thereby taking from the Governor of the State the right to
commission the officers, and ignoring his authority.
In the month of August, 1862, Charles W. Adams, of Lawrence, was authorized to recruit a regiment of cavalry in the
counties of Wyandotte, Johnson, Douglas, Miami, and Franklin, Coffey, Allen, Linn and Bourbon. Within six weeks after
the authority for recruiting was given, the regiment had more than the minimum number of men in readiness to take
the field. The regiment rendezvoused and was mustered into service at Paola, Kansas, in the month of September,
On the 7th day of September, 1862, while Co. H was being recruited in Johnson County, Quantrell's guerilla band
surprised the town of Olathe, sacked the place, and murdered five unarmed men of that company.
In the month of October, Cos. A and I were ordered to the town of Olathe, Kansas, and Cos. G and K were ordered to
Mound City, Kansas.
The regiment was divided and detachments stationed at different points along the line between Kansas and Missouri,
as follows: Paola, Olathe, Wyandotte, Shawnee, Mound City, Trading Post, Fort Scott, Leavenworth and Fort Riley,
performing various kinds of service, mainly escorting forage trains, and occasionally pursuing guerrilla bands, which so
numerously infested the borders. One company - H - was stationed at Fort Larned, Kansas. These posts were guarded
by the 12th Regiment alternately, and also occupying Kansas City, Westport and Hickman's Mills, Mo., constantly
scouting and marching from place to place, collecting forage and protecting the loyal people on the border of Missouri
and the whole State of Kansas from the ravages of merciless bushwhackers and thieves.--Franklin County, Kansas
Genealogical Society, Ottawa, Kansas.
1862-—Chief Baptiste Peoria was appointed by the U.S. Government to interview Indians of the Indian Territory west of
Missouri and Arkansas to ascertain their loyalty to the government. A letter of appointment came to “Major Peoria” from
the government in 1864, commissioning him “chief of scouts for Headquarters Army Post, Paola, Kan.” His duty was to
scout part of the Missouri border…..He had “power of attorney” for Miami Indians many times.--Tulsa Sunday World,
October 22, 1967.
1863—October 6, Quantrill struck at Baxter Springs, Kan., killing 90 of 100 soldiers, including the members of Major Gen.
James G. Blunt’s band. Blunt escaped. There is a picture of a civil war band that was taken on the streets of Paola in
1864 with General Blunt. Blunt was in charge of Post Paola at that time. This photo was probably taken after that
disastrous event at Baxter Springs.—KSHS.
1863—A man who would later be a part of Paola’s economic growth, W. G. Rainey, served as captain of the Co. B., 2nd
Bat. 1st Provisional Regiment of the Kansas State Militia mustered in service in Paola during 1863. Capt. Rainey later
built the Rainey Building on the southwest corner of the square.—Muster Role, Swan River Museum, Paola, Kansas.
1863—Because of the increased threat from an invasion by the Confederates by way of Missouri, a telegraph line was
constructed from Kansas City to Ft. Scott for faster communications. This proved to be important later when Price and
his troops headed for Kansas and later fought at the Battle of Mine Creek near Pleasanton in October 25, 1864.
(November 28, 1863.)—Wiley Britten.
1864--General Curtis finally determined to issue the necessary proclamation, and that evening, under orders from him,
I left Leavenworth for Paola to relieve Major General Sykes of the command of the District of South Kansas. Riding all
night I reached Olathe early the next morning, when I assumed command by telegraph and directed all troops in the
district to concentrate as rapidly as possible at Paola, at which place I arrived that evening. Early on the morning of the
13th with such regular troops and militia as had arrived; I left Paola for Hickman's Mills, in Jackson County, Missouri,
arriving there on the following morning. The same evening other troops arrived, and the force then under my immediate
command was the 11th, 15th, and detachments of the 5th, 16th and 14th Kansas (cavalry), a portion of the 3d Wis.
cavalry, 1st Colorado, and section of 2d Kansas battery and eight twelve-pound mountain howitzers with the addition
of the 5th, 6th and 10th regiments of Kansas state militia.—Portion of Gen. Blunt’s Writings Preparing for the Battle of
1864—Thomas Moonlight played a major part in the defense of Kansas during Price’s invasion. A report begins with this
heading: “COL. MOONLIGHT'S REPORT OF THE PART TAKEN BY THE 11TH KANSAS CAVALRY IN THE CAMPAIGN OF 1864
AGAINST THE REBEL GENERAL PRICE” Headquarters 2d Brigade, 1st Division, Army of the Border, Paola, Kas., December
1864—Many schools were closed during this year because of the threat of an invasion by Confederate troops from the
Missouri area.—B. J. Sheridan collection of writings.
1865—The following are inspection reports of John J. Sutter who was a captain in the Union military. He was appointed
assistant inspector of artillery in the Department of Missouri in 1865. He inspected men, horses, and equipment of
various batteries including Ft. Leavenworth, Paola, and Ft. Scott. July 16, 1865.
“Remarks: This battery is camped on the north side of Bull Creek about a mile north of Paola Hdqtrs. This camp is badly
located, stumps in park and camp not cut down, making it nearly impossible to drill the Manual of the Piece and very
difficult to move the battery out of park, stables, and quarters of men, leaking very badly, being covered with dirt and
hay, the horses are in exalent (sic) condition being well cared for. There are four officers of the Battery absent
from it. Co. on various duties making the duty devolving upon the Lieut. ------very hard.”--University of Missouri
Western Historical Manuscript Collection—Rolla, Missouri, John F. Bradbury, Jr., Senior Manuscript Specialist.
1865—No photo has been discovered of the “Fort” on Tower Street; however, military inspector John Sutton did make a
“hand drawing” of the fort in his 1865 inspection report.—Courtesy of Mr. John F. Bradbury, Jr., Senior Manuscript
Specialist of The University of Missouri (Western Historical Manuscript Collection) at Rolla, Missouri.
LIFE CONTINUES FOLLOWING THE SURRENDER OF GENERAL LEE!
To the Senate Washington, D. C. of the United States. March 7 1862.
I transmit, herewith, for the constitutional action of the Senate, thereon, a Treaty concluded at Paola, Kansas, on the
18th day of August 1860, between Seth Clover, Commissioner, on the part of the United States, and the delegates of
the united tribes of Kaskaskias and Peoria Piankeshaw and Wea Indians. I also transmit a communication, of the
Secretary of the Interior, of the 6th instant and accompanying papers from the Acting Commissioner of Indian Affairs in
relation to the subject.ABRAHAM LINCOLNAnnotation
 DS, DNA RG 46, Senate 37B C5. The treaty was amended and ratified by the Senate, February 12, 1863.
1862—The Wakefield Building sometimes known as the Union Hall was used for courthouse purposes before the Rainey
building is built there in 1869.--Ethel Hunt Collection.
1863—The “Family Grocery” was located near where the Swan River Museum was located on the north side of square
123 years later.--Ethyl Hunt Collection.
1863—Selection of criminal cases:
Case 43 charged Hiram Crider with having a saloon in a two-story frame house on east side of public square, and
selling liquor to an Indian—Edwin Dagnette, Wea Tribe, Jan. 1.
Case 44 charged Jacob Moke with selling liquor to Indians on December 20, 1862, in a one-story frame house, situated
on south side of Public Square, by the name of Noel Dagnette, Wea Tribe.
Case 45, charged John Townsend, operator of the Gem Saloon, a one-story frame house on east side of Public Square,
selling liquor to Antonio Cott, Wea Indian.
Additional case involved a distillery operating in banks of Bull Creek one mile west of Paola.--Ethel Hunt Collection
1865—“The first building for graded schools in Miami County was erected in 1865. At that time this district, No. 21 was
governed by three directors and Ezra Robinson was chairman.” The new brick school house was located south side
square which was later used as a courthouse from 1873-1897. The superintendent was a Mr., A. A. Roberts. Mrs.
Brewer, one of the teachers at the school “was a sister of the late Judge David J. Brewer, of the U.S. Supreme Court….”
…B.J. Sheridan, op.cit.
1865—-A Methodist Church was built at approximately 112 S. Silver at a cost of $11,000.--Ethel Hunt Collection.
1866-—Churches in Paola in February, 1966, Baptist, fine large frame, no resident pastor. Methodist, brick, Rev. T. J.
Taylor, pastor. Catholic, stone, Rev. Father Watron, pastor, Presbyterians occupy the Fort hall, Rev. J. N. Rankin, pastor.
Congregational, no building, Rev. A. H. Johnson, pastor. Colored, frame, Rev. G. B. Price, pastor.--The Miami Republican,
1866--1869--William Grove Rainey, a Captain in the Civil War, was sheriff and he died in 1877.--Ethyl Hunt Collection.
1867-—The Presbyterians held church in a room on the second floor of a building at Northeast corner of Square.--Ethel
1867—-H. M. McLaughlin purchases the Old Civil War Military Barracks south of Stand Tower on North Oak Street for a
furniture factory.—Written document showing McLachlin’s indebtedness for this purchase, Swan River Museum.
1867—Paola had its own band called the “Paola Silver Cornet Band.”-–Miami Republican, Sept. 3.
1867—An advertisement by business owner Tom Hedges—Bourbon Whiskey @2.75/gal. Also, Joshua Clayton has two
mule teams used to transport cured meats, eggs, etc. to Kansas City—-The Paola Argus, 1867.
1867—Paint Hiner opened an elegant and tastefully decorated Oyster Saloon in the brick building upstairs on the north
side of the square. Oysters, fish, and game and all the delicacies of the season may be had there.--Ethyl Hunt
1867—The “Old Stone House” in the east part of town known as the “Military Hospital” has been town down.—The
Miami Republican, July 4.
1867—Col. Jennison, the widely known jayhawker, was a guest of Johnson Clark last week.-—The Western Spirit, 1867.
1867—S. M. Larkins, who came here from Lawrence two years ago and took his first contract of building the Methodist
church of Paola, has opened up a new brickyard on Bull Creek bottom south of town. Mr. Larkins has already completed
the new school house, Pinneo’s brick corner, and Mrs. Baptiste’s building.-—The Western Spirit, 1867.
1867—We are a little skeptical about saying anything with regard to our hotels. The landlords are all right and the
buildings are all wrong. A man keeping a hotel in Paola at the present time must keep it like the Indiana tavern . . .
However, there is a prospect of a good hotel.. . . The present hotels are the Union House by L. C. Crittenden and the
Torrez House by Col. Torrey.-—The Republican, March 9, 1867.
1867—Captain Steve Quimby kindly loaned me a rare old copy of the Paola Argus of the date of January 5, 1867. It is
an eight column folio, subscription price two dollars a year and nearly all advertising.-—Paola Argus, January 5, 1867.
1867—On and after the 1st day of July the Paola post office will be found at the drug store of M. C. Wheeler on the
square. This portable institution has become a nuisance and the present postmaster is worse than the office.-—The
Miami Republican, June 29, 1867.
1867—Bob Lummis has established a ferry at the wire crossing on the Marais des Cygnes on the Fort Scott road. The
ferry saves over five miles of travel.-—The Miami Republican, June 29, 1867.
1867—The Paola Windmill will soon be in working order. The paddles or sails are constructed and the mill machinery is
being put together. (Look closely at the inside cover map!)-—The Maimi Republican, August 17, 1867.
1867-—A gay dance will come off on the evening of the Fourth in the lower room of the Mrs. Baptiste building. This will
insure a large crowd as the room is large enough for 50 couples.-—The Miami Republican, June 29, 1867.
1867--A gentleman informs us that in one day he counted 96 wagons loaded with merchandise purchased in Kansas
City passing to the south of us.-—The Miami Republican, July 13, 1867.
1867-—We were shown some gold that had been found on the farm of Dr. Robinson in Linn County on the Sugar Creek.
—-The Miami Republican, June 22, 1867.
1867-—The lower floor of the new school building in this city is being plastered and seated with the best modern seats.
The frame of the desk and seat is iron and arranged for seating two scholars to each seat and desk.-—The Miami
Republican, September 14, 1867.
1867-—We would call the attention of the city council to the number of stove pipes that are sticking through the roofs
of some of the houses in this place and the manner in which fire is scattered in the streets and alleys. If a fire would
break out in this place, owing to high winds and a scarcity of water, it would be impossible to check it before half the
town would be destroyed. A committee should be appointed to go around and inspect every chimney and stove pipe in
the place.--The Miami Republican, November 16, 1867.
1867-—B. Miller and Bro. are getting up a band wagon for the Paola band that will throw Yankee Robinson’s forty horse
chariot in the shade. When the wagon is completed the band will put on their uniforms and ride up to the state fair at
Lawrence and there carry off the palm for the best band in Kansas.-—The Miami Republican, August 24, 1867.
1867-—D. L. Perry of this place killed four wild turkeys at one shot on Wednesday last. Who can beat it?—-The Miami
Republican, August 24, 1867.
1867-—Sixteen Negro families occupy the same tenant house a short distance east of the square.—The Miami
1867-—April of this year Paola and eastern Kansas was hit by a 55 second earthquake with some damage to the area.
The building that located The Republican was badly damaged on one side!—-The Miami Republican, April 27, 1867.
1867-—We are a little skeptical about saying anything good about our hotels. However, there is a prospect of a good
hotel. The present hotels are the Union House by L.C. Crittenden and the Torrey House by Col. Torrey.-—The Miami
Republican, March 9, 1867.
1867-—Two braves of the Kaw persuasion visited Paola on Thursday. They were covered with war paint, heads shaved
on each side, leaving a streak of hair about an inch wide from the forehead to the back of the neck, leggings, blankets
and moccasins, a disgusting ugly sight.-—The Miami Republican, July 13, 1867.
1867-—We saw a specimen of “Young America” on the streets Christmas bare-footed, in his shirt sleeves, a cigar in his
mouth and a pack of firecrackers in his hand. He was a “gay little cuss” and enjoyed himself hugely.—-The Miami
Republican, December 28, 1867.
1867-—The Paola Base Ball club have received their bats and balls and selected grounds in the southwest part of
town. We expect our club like our band to eclipse anything in the state.—- The Miami Republican, August 31, 1867.
1867—Captain Huff and Captain Parish have opened the new livery stable on the north side of Park Square.—The
Western Spirit, 1867.
1867—Business Houses built in Paola in 1866: Pinneo, Perkins & Fort, two story brick east side square; Mrs. Mary
Baptiste, two story brick north side; H.M. McClure, two story brick on south side; A. Wilgus & Co. south east corner
square; Crowell & Co., addition to dry goods store northeast corner square; B. Snyder, addition to building north side
square; Akers & Hillis, one story building north side square; T.J. Cummings, one story north side.—The Western Spirit,
March 9, 1867.1867—Col. McCaslin, one of our most respected and beloved citizens, has been presented by the
state of Virginia, a medal for his devotion and patriotism to the cause of liberty, having served with honor and
distinction as Colonel of the 15th regiment of West Virginia in infantry.—The Miami Republican, August 24, 1867.
1867—G. W. Quimby, the excellent drummer of the Paola Silver Cornet band, is no doubt entitled to a complimentary
notice for his energy and efficient services in bringing about many of the ornamental and decorative trappings of the
band. A brave soldier of the gallant Eleventh Kansas, his heart is still fired with the patriotic sounds that rallied the
thousands to martial array.—October 5, 1867, The Miami Republican.
1867—The old Government blacksmith shop just east of the square has been remodeled and will hereafter be known
as “The Paola Furniture Store.” Heinreich & Jamison have moved their furniture there and in addition they have coffins
on hand.—October 12, 1867, The Miami Republican.
1867—The fence around the public square is in a dilapidated condition. Why don’t the “city fathers” have it fixed? It is
a shame to have the trees destroyed that the city has been to such an expense to have planted.—November 16, 1867,
The Miami Republican.
1867—Our hotels are daily crowed with stranger; the trouble is that our hotels are not large enough to accommodate
all that stop in Paola. We need a good hotel in this place and we wonder that some of pour monied men don’t build
one. Mr. Dixon, of the Paola House, has been making some much needed in improvements by painting, papering, and
refurnishing. Mr. Swain, who recently tool charge of the Union Hotel, is remodeling and refurnishing the whole house.
However, neither hotel is large enough.—November 16, 1867, The Miami Republican.
1867—There are 250 scholars attending school in this place and 50 attending the colored school.—November 16, 1867,
The Miami Republican.
1867—The cold weather of the past week has in no way retarded immigration. Our streets, every day. are full of white-
topped wagons of immigration. With the opening of spring, many new houses will dot the prairies and many acres will
be upturned for the first time. Southern Kansas is the garden spot of the state.—December 21, 1867—The Miami
1867—-The Paola Wind Mill is fast progressing to completion.-- The Miami Republican, October 19, 1867.
1867—A Post of the Grand Army of the Republic has been organized in his place and all who have worn the blue and
“kept step to the music of the Union “will have an opportunity to join this patriotic organization.—-The Miami
Republican, August 24, 1867.
1868--Travel through this place is immense. 80 wagons loaded with goods and agricultural implements passed through
in one day, to say nothing of immigration wagons.--The Miami Republican, 1868.
1868—“Between November 1868 and the middle of April, 1869, I saw as many as 2,000 prairie chickens in the fields, . .
.3,000 ducks and geese in the ponds, . . .near Yoncopin Lake, a small body of water that covers 125-20 acres, about
nine miles southeast of Paola.” . . .--B. J. Sheridan collection of writings, Miami Republican.
1868—The Lawrence stage now leaves at 2 a.m. returning at 9 p.m. This gives people an opportunity of remaining in
Lawrence 5 hours and returning home the same day.--The Miami Republican, February 15, 1868.
1868—Mr. (??) the gentleman who purchased 1400 acres of land from B. Peoria and Co., last fall, passed through here
Monday with a portable saw mill which he is going to put on his land. The land lies in what is called Goodrick’s bend of
the Marais des Cygnes and is nearly all timber.—February 1, 1868, The Miami Republican.
1868—The Indians are preparing to leave the county and B. Peoria and Co. is selling their lands which are the finest in
the county. There is much immigration and real estate is much in demand.—February 1, 1868, The Miami Republican.
1868—Proposals for conveying the mail of the United States from July 1, 1868, to June 30, 1870, will be received at the
contract office of the post office. The route to be covered is from Paola to Rockville by way of Miami Village and New
Lancaster, a distance of 20 miles and back once a week.—February 8, 1868, The Miami Republican.
1868—Mr. Blakeway has commenced the erection of a fine brick business block on the west side of the square. It will
have a 50 foot front and be two stories high.—August 15, 1868, The Miami Republican.
1868—The county board made an appropriation of $200 for the constructing a good board fence around the public
square. This is something that is badly needed as the square was rapidly being destroyed.—September 12, 1868, The
1868—Major General James G. Blunt and other military personnel passed through here on their way to the Cherokee
nation accompanied by an escort of U.S. troops for the purpose of paying the Indians their annuities.—September 12,
1868, The Miami Republican.
1868—The last payment which will probably be made in this county to the confederated tribes of Peoria, Piankishaw,
Kaskaskia and Wea Indians, in their tribal capacity, was made this week. By early spring the remainder of these once
great and powerful tribes will have departed from here. The number of Indians receiving payments at this place was
323. Miami’s number 117 and the confederated band number 206.—December 5, 1868, The Miami Republican.
1868—Owing to the bad condition of the roads no stages or mails arrived from Sunday morning till noon on
Wednesday. Hurry up the railroad.—December 12, 1868, The Miami Republican.
1868—On Monday evening, Capt. McGill and family were seated around their fireside when a rap at the door was heard
and upon answering the summons were surprised to find a small boy, about 12 years of age standing there almost
frozen, who asked for shelter for the night. The youth said that he was from Linn County, was an orphan and had been
cruelly treated by the man with whom he had been living. He had walked that day a distance of 22 miles and it is a
wonder he was not frozen.--The Miami Republican, February 8, 1868.
1868—Some time since the city authorities turned over the public square to the county authorities with the
understanding that it was to be taken care of, put under a good fence and otherwise adorned. The reverse is the case.
The old fence has not been repaired and stock of all kinds is allowed to trespass ruining the grass and young trees.
The private citizens of Paola originally fenced and planted the forest trees in this public ground and they resent seeing
We hear great complaint from the ladies because the sidewalks are not kept clear of a lot of loafing, idle men and boys,
black and white, who gather in crowds, and are scuffling and wrestling making it unsafe for a lady to walk the streets.
Obscene language and filthy oaths are prevalent.—The Miami Republican, October 10, 1868.
1868—The Paola House has been renovated and furnished with new beds and beddings. The stage and express office
are connected with the hotel and stages leave daily for all parts of the country. J. Dixon is the proprietor.-—The Miami
Republican, January 18, 1868.
1868—Paola has never been do gay as this winter. Balls, social parties, festivals, oyster suppers, and skating parties
are all the go and go it is. Paola is a gay place and we are a gay people.-—The Miami Republican, January 11, 1868.
1868—Our town was thrown into considerable excitement on Thursday last by the arrest of a prominent county official
of this county on the charge of forgery.—-The Miami Republican, February 4, 1868.
1868—There will be a meeting at 7:30 Saturday evening for the purpose of completing the organization of the Paola
baseball club.-—The Miami Republican, May 16, 1868.
1868—The laying of the cornerstone at the Osawatomie state asylum was postponed due to bad weather and will be
held next Tuesday without fail.—-The Miami Republican, May 16, 1868.
1868—George Sullivan of Marysville township, killed a catamount Friday which was over four feet long and weighed 70
pounds.—-The Miami Republican, August 22, 1868.
1868—The ferry boat at the wire crossing on the Marais des Cygnes was carried away by high water last Tuesday
evening.—-The Miami Republican, November 21, 1868.
1868—W. G. Krutz of Florence, Indiana, who is one of the original town proprietors is building a new hotel on the
northwest corner of the square. It is to be a 55 foot front by 70 feet deep, three stories high with a basement, a two
wing story 60 feet long.-—The Miami Republican, August 15, 1868.
1868—J. H. Scott, one time publisher of the Paola Crusader, has started a new paper at the Osage Mission to be called
The Osage Mission Journal.—-The Miami Republican, August 8, 1868.
1868—-We learn that parties intend erecting a brewery at the wire crossing of the Marais des Cygnes on the Fort Scott
road.—-The Miami Republican, April 11, 1868.
1868—Seventy five men have been working along Wea creek cutting railroad ties.-—The Miami Republican, August 29,
1868-—A handsome pine fence is being erected around Park Square.-—The Miami Republican, November 21, 1868.
1869--A description of Wire Crossing (Wire Road to the south of Paola) that B.J. Sheridan, educator, crossed frequently,
“Henry White, who ran the ferry at the “wire crossing”, at the Marais des Cygnes river”…..“This ferry boat was about
thirty feet long and sixteen feet wide. It was run back and forth by pulleys on a big guy rope, stretched across the river
and tied to trees.”……..”Sometimes it took twenty-minutes to swing across.”….”I had heard of so many people being
drowned there….”…B.J. Sheridan, op.cit.
1869—Common clothing worn by citizens of Paola then, “Soldier overcoats were common in the winters of those times—
the old, blue coat with brass buttons and a cape. They were sold cheap, and being left-over stock of contract supplies
piled up when the (Civil) war was brought to a close….” “I have seen dozens of these coats hung upon the wall at a
teachers’ examination in the old Paola School building of a winter day.”--B.J. Sheridan, op.cit.
1869—A three-story building (west side of square) was completed and to be used as a courtroom and county offices.
(Rainey Building)-–The Miami Republican, 1869.
1869—A three story building was built by William G. Rainey, who later was sheriff. He and his family lived on the third
floor—was located where Gamble’s store on west side square. The jail was in back of this building. (Burned in 1927.)
Six rooms on second floor were rented for County offices. Captain Rainey served in the Civil War prior to this time. . . .--
Ethel Hunt Collection of Newspaper Clippings.
1869--Captain John Huff and Geo. W. Quimby have opened a grocery and provision store on the north side of the
square.--The Miami Republican, April 17, 1869.
1869—The new calaboose will be ready for occupancy early next week.--The Miami Republican, May 1, 1869.
1869—The boys from this county who were in the 19th Kansas cavalry have returned home.--The Miami Republican,
May 1, 1869.
1869—In July of this year a major flood hits the area—-The Miami Republican, 1869.
1869—The question of “have we a city marshal?” has been changed to “have we a city government?” And from the
loose manner in which things have been running for some time past we unhesitatingly answer that we have neither.—
February 13, 1869. The Miami Republican.
1869—In a game of baseball at Osawatomie last week F. A. Smalley met with a severe accident. Both he and Mr. Merritt
ran for the same fly ball and ran together striking their heads and breaking the bones of Mr. Smalley’s face in two
places. Mr. Holladay opened the face and replaced the bones.—February 27, 1869, The Miami Republican.
1869—On Monday last, four stages and four hacks arrived from the end of the railroad track carrying 73 passengers
besides 30 odd who walked in carrying their carpet bags.—May 22, 1869, The Miami Republican.
1869—On July 17, Bull creek flooded badly killing several people.—The Miami Republican.
1869—Weaver & Haerman, of St. Louis have commenced the erection of a steam flouring mill in this city near the depot.
—August 14, 1869, The Miami Republican.
1869--The Presbyterians of this city have commenced the erection of a house of worship. The rock for the foundation is
on the ground. The church will be built on the north side of Peoria street, almost opposite the Baptist church.—August
14, 1869, The Miami Republican.
1869—The comet now visible in the later part of the night is one about which clusters come of the most notable events
in history. Each time of its appearance it has been preceded by most terrible wars and followed by plague and
pestilence unequalled for destructiveness in the records of the world.--September 11, 1869, The Miami Republican.
1869—Paola has a population of 2,500; five organized churches and yet there are not to exceed 600 persons who
attend divine service on the Sabbath.—November 13, 1869, The Miami Republican.
1869—The railroad is completed and now running to Fort Scott.—December 4, 1869, The Miami Republican.
1869--The Kansas City, Fort Scott & Gulf Railroad used this type of locomotive prior to the turn of the century. It is a
Wood-burner and has a "Wash-tub" stack. The railroad reached Olathe, Kansas by December 1868 and was placed in
operation from Kansas City, Missouri to Olathe, a distance of 21 miles. A year later the tracks reached Fort Scott,
Kansas (100 miles). The road was continued to Baxter Springs, Kansas, making in all about 159.92 miles. The entire
road was placed in operation May 2, 1870. 1887, the Katy entered Rosedale via a Track Agreement. This trackage
rights agreement is still in effect. The Katy uses the Frisco tracks between Paola and Kansas City --A History of the City
of Rosedale, Kansas by Margaret Landis. Copyright 1976.
1869—There have been 200 buildings erected here during the past season and in a jaunt around town we counted 30
more in the process of erection.—December 4, 1869, The Miami Republican.
1869—V. C. Jarboe has established a new banking house. Paola has three banking concerns in operation now.—
December 4, 1869, The Miami Republican.
1869—By the last or June, 1869, when school was out, The Missouri River, Ft. Scott & Gulf Railroad, now the Frisco, was
completed from Kansas City, Mo., to the south of the county. This did away with the stages, and the freighters’ teams
of mules and horses that plied between Kansas City and Twin Springs, over the road used by the Government for
seven years beginning December, 1861 (Civil War) . . .being a direct wagon route through Paola and on to Ft. Scott.
The first post office, south of Paola, on this line, was Osage, of which Nathaniel S. Milone was postmaster. . . .section
33-18-23 . . .The office was discontinued when Fontana was founded, . . . For seven months from November, 1868, to
June, 1869, it was a common thing to see fifty freighters camped at the “Wire Crossing” where there was a ferry; also
to see two stage coaches, loaded with baggage , ten to twelve passengers trudging along, picking around mud holes. .
. .On both sides of the river, at the ferry, near the Losh store, and near the Young store and saw mill on the north side
were big platforms were kept in shape from spring till fall, for dancing. . . . for sixty couples to assemble. . . .with music
furnished by . . .--B. J. Sheridan Collection of Writings, The Miami Republican, 1869.
1869—“I was tired of that job”…was told to me about the little stone church where Father Wattron was the priest, in
Paola, that the teacher, hired, had given up the school, and I could get it. I then had a certificate good until May. . . .”
The old log house had to be repaired, and it was late in the fall before I took the school. . . .wage was $37.50 a month
with room and board at each house in the district’. . . . “The schoolhouse stood on . . . northeast quarter of section 29-
16-23. . . . .”--B. J. Sheridan Collection of Writings, The Miami Republican, 1869.
1869—From 1869 to 1889 Paola used to have stiff boxing matches with and without gloves, from once to twice a
month. Often the fighters met outside of the city limits, the popular place being about 200 years southwest of what is
now the Frisco Depot.-—B. J. Sheridan Collection of Writings, The Miami Republican.
1869—Col. Torrey dies. He came to Paola in 1858 and operated the Torrey Hotel that Quantrell stayed in while living at
Stanton. (He was the one responsible for bringing Quantrill to Kansas--Ethel Hunt Collection, Newspaper Clippings.
1869—A major flood hits the area.-—July, 1869, The Miami Republican.
Chapter 3: THE WAR IS OVER, THE INDIANS ARE GONE, AND GROWTH BEGINS!!
“Railroads and Banking Set The Stage For An Economic Boom”
Paola! Not far distant is the day,
When thou shall flourish in a rich display
Of busy streets, of buildings grand and high—
A thousand chimneys pointing to the sky;
While underneath your old suburban trees,
The costly homes of opulence and ease,
Where every breeze is fragrant as you see
The growth of commerce and prosperity.
Local Paola Poet, 1866
The beginning of the 1870s brought many changes to Paola. The Civil War was over; the Indians who didn’t own
property had gone to the Oklahoma Territory with Baptiste Peoria; settlers were arriving in greater numbers. A May
22, 1869, story in the Miami Republican reads, "Monday night, four stages and four hacks arrived here from the end of
the railroad tracks, carrying 73 passengers, besides 30 others who walked in, carrying their carpet bags." Other
articles note that the depot was fast being completed and a sidewalk was being built from the public square to the
depot. Citizens were continuing the difficult task of building a city. The poem above expresses the optimistic feelings of
Paola’s earliest citizens.
Please note: Items in this time period from 1870-1900 whosse sources are not specifically cited have been taken from
the newspaper clippings collection of Ethel J. Hunt.
1870—“The work of building sidewalks and grading and leveling the streets is still progressing and adds much to the
appearance of the city.’
1870—“April 7, 1870 On motion of Haughey, an appropriation of $75.00 for a band stand in the Public Square was
passed.” --Book A, City Journal 1869-1882 of City of Paola.
1870—On March 19, 1870, a count was made and 52 teams at one time were hitched to the hitching rack around Park
Square with loads of grain, wood and produce.--Ethel J. Hunt’s “History of Paola”.
1870—“East Ward votes at the Light and Danning Livery Stable and West votes at calaboose.”
1870—“The Paola Cemetery was platted and recorded in September, 1870.”
1870—“Copley's is just in receipt of a stock of undertaker's materials and can supply walnut coffins in 15 minutes and
velvet covers in an incredibly short time.”
1870—“Mangrum & Branch, artists in this city have been taking a number of views of the town and vicinity which are
well executed and will be the very thing to send back East to friends. The views are taken from the residence of E.W.
Massey, Esq., near the windmill and show the most of the town with the "pilot mound" on the west, the high prairie on
the south and the meanderings of Bull Creek with its banks covered with timber.”
1870—A Bowstring Arch Truss type-bridge was built over Bull Creek at the south end of Paola. As was common during
the period, whenever increasing loads required a new bridge, the older one was relocated to a site where a lighter
bridge would suffice. This happened to the Bull Creek bridge in 1903. The three spans were disconnected and moved to
various locations in Miami County. One span was placed at Bryan Ford over Middle Creek, south of Beagle. Another was
placed at David Ford over Middle Creek, east of Jingo. The final span, and the bridge that is part of the nature trail in
Topeka, was located at Whitaker Ford on Wea Creek, three miles west and two miles north of Louisburg--Kansas State
1871—June 21 the Paola Town Company deeded the land that had been used for recreation for the Indians and
incoming settlers to Paola City with the proviso that it should only be used as public grounds. See copy of deed below.
The text has been copied using the language, spelling, capitalization, etc. of the original document. A copy of the
original document can be seen at the Swan River Museum.
1871---“The Paola fire department was organized July 6, 1871 and will meet the first Saturday of each month. The
council will be asked to appropriate money for the purchase of engine, hose and necessary fixtures.”
Ethel Hunt’s “History of Paola, Kansas” tells that the fire wagon was horse drawn and the firemen all put on red shirts
before going to a fire. Water was pumped from nearby wells.
An 1884 insurance map of Paola (located in the Swan River Museum) shows the location of the town’s wells. With the
wood buildings there was always danger from fires.
1871----The Western Spirit (originally called The Kansas Spirit) was established.
1871—“The track of the M. K. & T. Railway was completed into this city on Sunday evening. Immense crowds were
passing out all day to observe the work and followed after the tracklayers until after 11 o’clock p.m. when the city was
reached. A large number of our citizens accompanied by the band went out and had a “jubilee.” Welcoming speeches
were made, huzzas were shouted and divers and sundry kegs of beer were emptied, etc. etc.” Miami Republican,
Sept. 30, 1871
1871—On June 24, 1871, Baptiste Peoria deeded two acres of land to School District 21. p. 401, Book V Miami County
Courthouse, Register of Deeds. (The acreage was to be used for the building of the new school.)
Baptiste Peoria had gone to the Indian Territory (Oklahoma) with the Indians who had chosen to not become citizens,
but newspaper articles show that he returned frequently--probably tend to business affairs and visit family and friends.
1871—“October 14—The corner stone of the Paola educational institute (the high school building) was laid Tuesday,
under the auspices of the Masonic lodges of this city, Osawatomie and Stanton, with due solemnity and
impressiveness. At 1 o’clock the lodges in full regalia formed in the street and preceded by the Silver Cornet band and
followed by pupils of our public school, marched to the site of the new school building.”
1871—“Mrs. Susan B. Anthony spoke at Methodist Church.”
1871—“The Olathe Mirror says that there is a greater demand for Paola beer in that city than for Kansas City made
1871—“Contract to build cistern for the use of the city has been let and work commenced on the northeast corner of
square. It is to be 18 feet deep and 20 feet in diameter to be furnished with water by means of a hydraulic ram from
the big spring on the premises of G.W. Mitchler. It is destined to become the most popular drinking resort in the city”
1871—“The fences around the public square are being removed and set in about 10 feet where a sidewalk will be put
down around it. Stone hitching posts will be put up...The square is to be planted in evergreens and with the wide
gravel walks and fountain in the center, the public square of Paola will be the most beautiful in the state”
1871---"Among the new buildings completed is the splendid new dwelling house of Mrs. Baptiste Peoria in the east part
of the city on Kaskaskia Street. The cost of the most creditable structure is $6,000."
In a research paper written by Mrs. Ed Parker in 1935, Mrs. Parker tells that "Mother Batees", as Mrs. Peoria was
known, lived in a rambling log house next to the City Hall before she planned and built her new house. In 2005, her
house is owned and well cared for by Evelyn Burson (Mrs. Willie Burson).
1872–“The Ladies had a "leap year" party at the elegant and comfortable home of Mrs. Baptiste Peoria. They procured
an omnibus to transport their companions. With good music, delightful games and entertaining conversation, the
evening passed most pleasantly and nice supper was served at 11:00.”
1872—“Motto of the women suffragists of Kansas is “no ballot, no babies.” From the March 9, 1872 Western Spirit
1872—“Memorial Day is rapidly approaching and it is time some action was taken by Paola citizens for its observance.
There are 50 soldiers buried in the cemetery of this city and it is fitting that the day should be properly observed.”
1872—“The Wine Making and Grape Growing Association has again come to life and will meet the 30th.”
1872—Two years ago there were 8 saloons in Paola, all prospering. Last year the high license fee reduced the saloons
to 4 or 5.”
1872—“Mose Wronker, the cigar manufacturer, goes back into the Scherman Building.”
1872—“Cy Shaw is about to erect a new residence on his lots north of the city in what used to be called Baptisteville by
the early settlers.”
1872—“Maj. Baptiste Peoria returned a few days since from Washington city where he has been for some months past
looking after the interests of his children.”
1872—“Responses are being received from almost every point along the Ft. Scott and Holden railroad to invitations to
attend the Grant and Wilson rally here on the 22nd. Some of the best speakers in the nation and in the state will be
here. Three brass bands will play.”
1872—“Col.. A.S. West & Son who have been engaged in the pork packing business the past season, say they have
packed 800 head of hogs, averaging 240 pounds each. They have sent one carload of bacon to St. Louis.” (The plant
was located at the northeast intersection of Wea and Pearl Street.)
1872—“Already the stream of immigration has begun and the white covered wagon of the settler seeking a home is
daily seen moving over the hard frozen ground of our prairies.”
1872—In the early settlement days, there weren’t many residents in town. Consequently, citizens had plenty of room
to grow their vegetable gardens and keep pigs, chickens, cows, goats, horses etc on their property. Early newspaper
comments seem strange today, but the roaming animals created real problems for the residents. Note the next three
1872— “All hogs running at large will be impounded starting Monday. They are doing great injury by their rooting up of
shrubbery, fences and the like”.
1872— “Who stole the city hog pound? Even the material out of which it was constructed has disappeared.”
1872— “Those pesky critters, goats, are becoming quite numerous around town again. One of them jumped through
the glass door into Snyder's store this week.”
1872—Life in Paola in the 70's was as raw and rigorous as it was in other small towns that were being developed in
the sweeping Westward Movement. Selected items from Miami Republican and Western Spirit newspapers listed below
typify some everyday conditions early Paola settlers experienced.
1872— “In order to stop, if possible, the noise of people walking around in the courtroom, Sheriff Weaver has spread a
bountiful supply of sawdust over the floor. It works like a charm”
1872— “Paola sidewalks are in a deplorable shape, boards flying up and holes that are very large.”
1872— “Blanks for bids for wooden sidewalks are sent out by the city clerk and many people are urging that brick be
used instead of wood.”
1872— “Marshal Long shot Watson Pinneo last Wednesday, when trying to arrest him. Pinneo resisted, whereupon
Long fired the shot that took effect in Pinneo’s neck. Pinneo was put in jail and is now out under bond”.
1872— “Watson Pinneo, who was shot by Marshal Long last week, is recovering. The wound in the neck is nearly well.”
“1872—J.J. Smith who has the largest vineyard in Eastern Kansas on his farm four miles northwest of Paola will make
5,000 gallons of wine this year. He made 4,000 gallons last year and it was disposed of at fair prices.”
1872— “C.Hansman advertised that he would deliver a four gallon keg of good beer for family use to any place in Paola
for $1.00.” (brewery was on west Peoria.).
1872—“Bruce Younger, a cousin of the Younger brothers, was arrested at Joplin last Monday on the charge of being
concerned with the Missouri Pacific train robbery. Younger has frequented the saloons in Paola considerably the last six
1872— “Hugh Conner, brother of John Conner, was in town celebrating at the Sogemeir saloon last Saturday night,
and got into about three rapid fire fights. He whipped the first two fellows all right, but the third one was too much for
1872—The North School was built on the two acres of land deeded to the school district by Baptiste Peoria in 1871.
1872—“Seniors in the Paola High School study spherical trigonometry, surveying and navigation, astronomy, geology,
mineralogy, zoology, mental philosophy, logic, Latin, Greek, French or German are optional.”
1872—The Miami County Teachers’ Library was established in 1872.--From Story of Paola, Kansas 1857-1950.
1872—“Blind Tom, the Negro musical prodigy whose concert here two years ago gave complete satisfaction, will again
1873—“The first barrel of native crude lubricating oil ever shipped from Kansas left Paola at 10 o’clock a.m. September
11, 1873. It goes to the Kansas City Exposition for exhibition.”
1873--- Miami County leased the first free school building for courthouse purposes in 1873. The school building was
abandoned when the North School was completed. Built on the location of the jail (in 2005) and facing Miami Street, it
was a two-story brick building with two rooms on the first floor and one large room upstairs. It had been erected as a
school in 1865 at the cost of $14,000 and was sold to the county in 1876 for $8,000. (See picture with 1876 entries.)
July 23, 1873--- Ingersol, of Croft and Ingersol, sold forty-four feet of Lot 1 of Block 31 to the City of Paola. Those 44
feet sold to the city had been purchased from Mary A. Peoria and her husband (Baptiste Peoria). In November, 1869,
Mary A. and Baptiste had bought lots 1 and 2 from the Paola Town Company. Later in November of 1869, Mary A.
Peoria and her husband (Baptiste) sold the east 44 feet of lot 1 to Croft and Ingersol. Information from the Miami
County Register of Deeds Office.
1873—“Three Greason brothers bought the Miami Republican which was established in 1866.” The Story of Paola
1873--- Baptiste Peoria died in 1873 and was buried in the tribal cemetery --September 13, 1873. From the Tulsa
Sunday World, October 22, 1967.
1874—“Mrs. Peoria left for the Indian Nation on Monday morning last accompanied by Charles Hedges.”
1874--The Panic of 1873, the ensuing depression, and a period of drought had already made life miserable for a great
many settlers but economic difficulties and a lack of rain were things which most people had coped with and could
understand. Nobody was ready to battle this strange phenomenon-this plague of locusts that descended on the land
from the Dakotas to Texas in mid-summer.--Robert W. Richmond, Kansas State Archivist.
1874— “The long looked for grasshoppers arrived in Paola today (8/22/1874) at 1 o’clock.”
1874---A 1936 research paper prepared by Nettie Murray for the Pleasant Hour Club (a study club) relates that the
grasshoppers came to Paola in 1874 and ate everything green and then left after three days. The next spring little
grasshoppers hatched by the thousands and ate everything green, even the bark on rose bushes. When their wings
grew, they flew away the last of May. Farmers replanted their corn, the rains came and the corn matured before the
frost came. In spite of the plague, the farmers had a fine crop of corn that year.
1874—“The 12 sheriff sales in this issue indicate the wiping out of the title of many farmers to their land in Miami
1874—“On the hill by the new Paola school building is the Bache windmill that grinds corn. It is a curiosity because it is
constructed in the old fashioned manner. The arms, or rather fans, are very long and, when in action, furnish an
1874—“Cole Younger, the noted outlaw, spent last Saturday night in Paola, but the fact was not known until Monday.”
1874---Headlines from The Miami Republican dated 8/8/1974:
Paola’s most severe loss!
The St. Charles Hotel and
Union Block Burned!
A Large Number of Business Rooms Destroyed!
Loss, seventy-five Thousand Dollars!
The St Charles Hotel, owned by Messrs. W.G. Krutz and W.R. Wagstaff and the Union Block, owned by Thomas Lester of
Indiana, were on the north side of the square. Business owners in the basement of the hotel were J.W. Price, druggist,
E.K. Shaw, jeweler, J.W. Campbell, saloon owner, and Charles Button, barber and bath rooms.
On the first floor of Union Block, there were the First National Bank, W.E. Nicely & Co. Clothing, and the Hoosier Store,
groceries. The second floor of the Union Block was occupied by H.S. Campbell real estate; Sperry Baker, attorney-at-
low, M. Klassen, merchant tailor, police judge James Kingsley, and the Republican office. On the third floor were the
lodge rooms of the Masons and the Odd Fellows.
1875—“Charles Mathews has opened a match factory in Paola, and will in a few days have on had a supply to meet
1875—“Voting for the East Ward will be at the calaboose. Voting for the West Ward will be at the office of P.P. Fowler,
Police.” --Western Spirit, September 30, 1875.
1875—“J.B. Hobson as administrator of Allen T. Ward will have a sale at the front door of the courthouse on the 18th
offering 4 shares of stock in the Paola Town Company.”
1876 —“Pleasant Hour Club was organized.”
1876---"The fire company has had a new belfry erected on the engine house and the new bell hoisted to its place. It is
a very nice bell."
1876--- “The work of changing the old schoolhouse into a court house is progressing. It will answer the purpose of
county offices and court room for the next 25 years.”
1876—“The courthouse building is finished and many citizens had an opportunity of inspecting it last Saturday, and we
believe everyone was pleased with it.”
1876—“If you want to find the length of any day, multiply the hour at sunrise by 2; to find the length of any night,
multiply the hour of sunset by 2"
1876—“Steam was raised in the cheese factory one day this week. Cleaning up and getting ready for business, we
1876—“The Paola Cheese Co. will commence making cheese May 1".
1876—“And now comes a reputable citizen of this place with a letter from Henry Ward Beecher, saying: "Drop in and
see me. I have a jug filled and not with water either."
1876—“J.C. Cusey shipped 10 cars of fat cattle to Kansas City last Monday from Paola.”
1876—“There is much rejoicing among the temperance people, especially the women, because Milt Ward has joined the
Good Templars. Milt isn’t a hard drinker for it goes down easy with him–about three pints a day.”
1876—“The Paola Good Templar Dramatic Troupe will produce their play “The Drunkards Warning...Admission 25 cents,
reserved seats 50 cents.”
1876—“Charles Shubert, the tailor, says he will trade a suit of clothes for hickory nuts or walnuts.”
1876—“Ahrens and Warnke have completed their new building on the south side of Park Square. Much credit is due
them for their energy and faith in Paola.”
1876--- “The colored Masons had a festival and ball in the old school building Thursday evening.”
1876—“Fred Kiddle, manager of the Paola Flour Mills has put in a new corn sheller with a capacity of 2,000 bushels per
1876—“Corn from Kansas sells for two cents a bushel more in Baltimore than corn from any other state.”
1876—“Dr. Hoover has a fish trap on Bull Creek and last Tuesday morning he brought in a cat fish weighing 55 pounds.”
1876—“According to ordinance, the city marshal has the right to impound all livestock running at large, and he now has
three large pens of horses, cows, hogs and dogs.”
From the earliest days, Paolans have participated in many organizations–churches, service and social. Listed below are
organizations referred to in the 1870 to 1900 period in this publication:
Wine Making & Grape Growing Association
Miami County Teachers
Good Templars Lodge
Order of Eastern Star
Pleasant Hour Club
Odd Fellows Lodge
Immigration and Agricultural Society
Western Enterprise Club
League of American Wheelmen
Knights of Pythias
Paola Cornet Band
Richard’s Drum Corps
McCaslin G.A.R. Post
In 2005, three of the groups listed above are still active. The Masonic Lodge was organized in 1860, and received its
charter in 1862. (A picture of W.R. Wagstaff accompanies this entry because he was the first Master of Paola Lodge
#37 A.F. & A.M. of Paola in addition to being the manager of the Paola Town Company from the reorganization of the
Paola Town Company in 1858 until the final dissolution of the company in 1865 when the charter expired.)
The Andreas History of Kansas notes that Paola’s charter issued in 1855 was granted for ten years. In the
reorganization of the Paola Town Company in 1858, Baptiste Peoria was re-elected president, Allen Ward was elected
treasurer and W.R. Wagstaff was elected agent and secretary. After that June, 1858 meeting no other officers were
elected. Allen died in 1862; and his vacancy was not filled. The charter expired in 1865. Under laws for dissolution of
companies, W.R. Wagstaff, as agent and secretary, became Trustee with full power to settle the Paola Town Company
Along with many other old Paola documents, W.R. Wagstaff’s signature as manager of the Paola Town Company is on
the Park Square Deed and the South School Deed, two documents that are reviewed in this section of the time line.
The Order of Eastern Star was first organized June 25, 1872 in the hall of Paola Lodge #27 A.F. and A.M.
1876---“The Pleasant Hour Club was organized.” In 1902 the Pleasant Hour Club conceived the idea and carried into
execution the organization of the Second District Kansas Federation of Women’s Clubs. (From the Pleasant Hour Club
Scrapbook.) Pleasant Hour Club and the Second District Kansas Federation of Women’s Clubs still exist in 2005.
1877--An 1877 brochure published by the Western Spirit sent to eastern areas to encourage settlement in Miami
County, Kansas, had the following to say about Paola:
“Paola today is one of the liveliest towns of the state, beautifully situated, surrounded on all sides with timber. Bull
Creek borders it on the west and south, and Wea Creek on the east. It has a population of over 1,600, with no objects
of charity. It has a large courthouse, $65,000 school house, five churches, the prettiest park in the state, two railroad
depots, three mills, fine brick business blocks, one carriage and buggy manufactory, three wagon manufactories, two
pump manufactories, five blacksmith shops, two harness shops, two printing offices (Spirit and Republican), two tailor
shops, three milliner stores, four furniture stores, four agricultural implement dealers, five grain dealers, seven grocery
stores, four dry goods stores, three drug stores, one sewing machine store, one news depot, two baker and
confectionery stores, three restaurants, eight hotels and boarding houses, three livery stables, two veterinary
surgeons (Light and Edmiston), two lumber yards, two banks, one flour and grain store, five carpenter shops, one
flour chest manufactory, three barber shops, one stock feeder, eight physicians, four clergymen, ten attorneys, one
auctioneer (A.B. Light), three real estate agents, five contractors and builders, eight stone masons and brick layers,
one professional gardener, four painters, one fire department, one Masonic Lodge, one Odd Fellows Lodge, one Good
Templars Lodge, nine church organizations, Methodist, Baptist, Presbyterian, Congregational, Christian, Catholic,
Independent Presbyterian and Universalist: three dentists, one photograph gallery, four boot and shoe shops, three
watch makers, and four saloons.”
1877—The first Kansas Day celebration was held when L.G.A. Copley, a teacher at the North School, planned an
intensive study of Kansas for his history students that ended with an afternoon event January 29, 1877. Many
interested patrons joined the history students and the other classes of the school to learn facts about the State of
Kansas. The event was so successful that Mr. Copley implemented the Kansas Day program into the schools in Wichita
when he became superintendent of schools in that city. It became his hobby to encourage schools over the state to
acknowledge the birthday of Kansas. Topeka, Lawrence, Emporia and Fort Scott had adopted the suggestion 1881.
1878—Map of Paola shows a Lock-up Pound and Morgue on the footage back of the City Hall which is located on the
east 44 feet of Lot 1 of Block 31.
1878—“Harry Nye finished his new residence at 105 East Wea.” Sept. 6, 1878, Miami Republican. (The east brick
portion of the house built in 1878 is still a part of the remodeled house at 105 East Wea.--Verla Thomas, 2005)
1878 ---“Professor Wherrell has moved to Paola from Leavenworth and will open the first session of the Kansas Normal
School and Business Institute in September.”--Miami Republican, May 10, 1878.
1878—Dr. John Wherrell founded the Kansas Normal School and Business Institute in Paola in 1878. There were 5
institutes in Kansas --Leavenworth, Wellington, Emporia, Fort Scott, and Paola. The Normal School flourished for about
six years. It was on the third floor of the North School. U.S. Senator Chester I. Long was one of the students who
attended Dr. Wherrell’s normal school.
1878—“The Kansas Normal School and Business Institute Building, which is located at Paola, Kansas is the handsomest
school building in the state. It is very large and commodious, well adapted school purposes, beautifully finished inside
and furnished throughout with the most approved style of furniture. Every room in the building is heated with the
Tubular Furnace and thoroughly ventilated according to the Ruttan system of ventilation. Paola is situated on the high
rolling prairie in Miami County and is without a doubt as healthy a place as there is in the Union. In its social
advantages it is all that can be desired.”
1878—“Wesley Hymer has a real horse hospital at his big barn on the east edge of Paola. He is an experienced
veterinarian. He treated a driving horse three months for a broken leg and turned it over to the owner, sound as ever.”
1878—“Barb wire is a recent invention,” said J.M. George yesterday, “and the people may as well make up their minds
that it is to be the coming fence. The complaint that livestock hurt themselves will soon be worn off.”
1879—“Meeting held at courthouse to plan for a First Decoration Day program. The scattering of flowers on the graves
of soldiers on May 30 will be the first real celebration of the kind in this town said Col. G.A.Colton.”—The Western Spirit,
May 11, 1879.
1879—“H.H. Grimshaw has just completed a large cistern on the property where he expects to build a hotel.” --The
Western Spirit, March 9, 1879.
1879—“The property owners along west Wea and Peoria streets are entering into a spirited rivalry as to which shall be
graded and macadamized first. This means business.”
1879—“Don’t forget Buckeye Bill’s Grand Auction Sale of carriages and buggies which takes place Wednesday, April 30.”
1879—“The members of the Paola Rifles are talking up a project for building an armory and city hall. The program
suggested is to organize a joint stock company with about 120 shares at $5 per share, which would build a first rate
one story building.
1879—“Wine from the J.J. Smith vineyard and winery NW of Paola is being sold in Gus Sogomeier's saloon.”
1879—“Amos Long was elected Sheriff of Miami County.”
PICTURE OF SHERIFF LONG--2-13
1879—“Mrs. Baptiste Peoria has sold her brick building on the north side of the square to Harvey Perkens for $2,500.”
1879—“The Miami County Bank got 2,000 new silver dollars by express yesterday right from the mint.”
1879—“Bill Gordon, who takes care of the graveyard, found 113 quail eggs, 25 turkey eggs, 17 prairie chicken eggs, 7
guinea eggs and 25 snake eggs on his trip down to Arkansas two weeks ago. While there, he went to the old place of
his boyhood on a hill above the log house where there were some family graves.” (See picture 1-14 for more
information on Bill Gordon.)
1879—“Dr. Woodson D. Hoover gave us a sample of fine printing yesterday. It was the gospel of St. Matthew in
Pottawatomie Indian language. It was the property of Dr. Hoover’s father-in-law, Joseph Lykins.”
1879—“Thomas Hedges, who lives now in Indian Territory, sends the office a copy of St. John’s Gospel printed in
1879—“An anti -horse thief association was organized Saturday.”
1879—“Some of the boys who and girls who don’t like the stern methods of Professor Wherrell gave him a serenade
the other night that didn’t fit altogether. It was a mock funeral with a muffled drum. But they didn’t change the steady
gait of John Wherrell. He makes them mind him, anyhow.”
1879—“D. W. Oyster, Jr., with his brother, Tom, and his brother-in-law, Bill Bowen, came walking in from Arkansas
yesterday with 400 head of cattle which they bought down there in the hills and drove up to pasture in Miami County.”
1879—“The Western Spirit has been a popular place for seeking information because it has a copy of the Rice
geography published at the beginning of the Civil War in Atlanta, Georgia. This is the book that lost the Rice libel suit
against Captain Leslie J. Perry in district court here.”
1879—“Captain Perry who came back and started the Republican Citizen in opposition to the Republican Organ, known
as the Miami Republican, met the other day with John. H. Rice in a friendly conference and cut a big watermelon. In the
meeting Rice said, “Perry, you lied about me in that libel suit,” to which Captain Perry replied, “I am not sure that I tried
to do that because I could not keep up with you.”
1879—“Gus Sogemeier has re-papered and refurnished his drinking parlor and now serves Smith’s native wine,
manufactured a few miles northwest of Paola. He sells Hansmann’s beer, also made in this county.”
1879—“The Paola Rifles have received and accepted an invitation from the Adjutant General of Kansas to go to Topeka
and assist in the inauguration of Gov. St. John.”
1879—“Mr. P.D. Martin is determined to keep up with the times, and to progress with his barber shop with the rest of
the business houses of Paola. During the past week he has placed two of the Archer Patent Adjustable Chairs in his
shop. It is a luxury to get shaved while sitting in one of these chairs, and indeed, all shops of style and comfort have
them. He has also placed elegant marble slabs in front of the three looking glasses.”
1879—“Miss Susan B. Anthony lectured in the Presbyterian Church, Paola, last Saturday evening. Her discourse was a
rare treat. Miss Anthony is not a handsome woman – smart people never are – but she possesses something better –
good, sound, common sense and the ability to present her practical ideas in such a way as to make them understood.“
prospecting for gas in the early 1880's led to gas being piped into Paola homes for domestic use. But the tremendous
economic boom came when the Paola Gas Company found a phenomenal supply of natural gas when well #2 was
struck in the Boon field. The decade of the 1880's in this outline will depict everyday life, physical growth and economic
growth which reached its zenith with the Gas Celebration of 1887.
1880— From a reference book, George Washington Carver-Scientist and Symbol by Linda O. McMurry, page 23 records:
"After about a year the Seymour’s migrated to Minneapolis, Kansas, and Carver moved in with the Richard Moore family
in nearby Paola until he followed the Seymour’s to Minneapolis during the summer of 1880." He made sketches of local
plants while he lived in Miami County.
1880--In George Washington Carver An American Biography by Rackham Holt, the author recounts a story of George
Washington Carver playing an accordion in an upstairs room in Paola.
1880—“Another colony of orphan children arrived from New York.”-- Western Spirit, Oct.29,
1880--Research at the Swan River Museum indicates that orphan trains arrived in Paola on September 10, October 22,
and November 13, 1880.
1880—“The Scherman building on the north side of the square was extended back 15 feet-both upper and lower
stories.” (This small building that is still occupied in 2005 was just west of a wide stairway in middle of the block. The
stairway was removed in May or June of 1983; so the little alley-way where the stairway was built allows the original
rock walls to be clearly visible along the east side of the building.)
1880—“Immigration and Agricultural Society organized at Paola Hall.”
1880—“Paola City previousoy had an East Ward and a West Ward for votors. Four wards were created in April of 1880.
1880— “Upon the suggestion of John Sponable, mayor of Paola, the upper two rooms of the new city building on East
Peoria were used as a library room. The books of the Miami County Teachers’ Library had previously been turned over
to the city. In 1893 the library was moved to its location at 101 East Peoria.”--From The Story of Paola-1857-1950.
1881—“Miss Flora Torrey Wagstaff was admitted to the Bar and will practice law in this county.” Her obituary notes that
she came from New York with her family in 1857. Upon the death of her father, Col. Harry Torrey, her mother married
W. R. Wagstaff.
1882--- The Commercial Hotel was built by H.H. Grimshaw in 1882. The original part of the hotel consisted of three
stories in height and 26 rooms. (Note 1888 entry with picture and an 1892 Commercial Hotel entry from the Annals of
1883---Mary Ann Isaac Peoria died at her cottage on the northeast corner of Piankishaw and East treet on March 4,
1883. Her funeral was held at Holy Trinity Church and she was buried beside her first husband Christmas Dagnette in
the Indian Cemetery some three and a half miles south of Louisburg.
1883—“A black man was hanged from a tree in the Park Square February 9, 1883. Henry Smith was charged and jailed
with having outraged the little daughter of Hugh Bennings. Henry was a brother of Polk Smith. When Sheriff Long
refused to let a mob into the jail, the doors were broken in. Hearing the pounding outside, Smith, the prisoner, cut his
throat with a razor, and when the frenzied men got to him in the cell, he was dying or dead. They tied the rope about
his neck, and with a yell, started out. It was a long rope, and there must have been fifty men holding it. The body was
dragged from the jail back of the Rainey block to the northeast side of the Park Square where it was stretched up to a
tree and left hanging there. Coroner’s inquest decided that he came to his death by his own hand. Polk Smith took the
body and buried it in the cemetery. The little colored girl afterward confessed that her charge was untrue and that she
made it up because Smith quit giving her candy when she asked him for it.”
1883–Dr. Woodson D. Hoover was elected mayor on the Temperance Ticket--Andreas History of Kansas
By 1884 six church congregations that are still active in 2005 had been established. In order of their appearance in
Paola history, there came the Catholic, United Methodist, First Baptist, Mt. Olive Baptist, United Presbyterian, St. James
AME and First Christian.--History of the Churches of Miami County Kansas, 1976.
1884—“Cy Shaw is moving into his new cottage this week.” The land for the house was purchased from Antipas
Thomas who had bought the lots from Elizabeth and David Perry, Baptiste Peoria’s daughter and her husband, in
August 6, 1869. Antipas Thomas then sold the lots to Cyrus and Malona Shaw six months later.
Cyrus Shaw was one of the earliest settlers in the county. His obituary notes that he came to Paola in August, 1854.
He clerked for a year for Baptiste Peoria and then started a general store on Peoria Street. In 1856 he was elected the
first county treasurer; and in 1858 he received a contract to carry the U. S. mail from Westport to Ft. Scott. He ran the
first stages with four-horse coaches ever put on that route. After running the coach line service, he had a grist mill, saw
mill, grocery store, was a bookkeeper, deputy postmaster and then a county commissioner from 1867 too 1871.—
Malona Smith Shaw, his wife, was the first Paola school teacher. She taught in a subscription school in 1857.
1886—“The water pumping station was built. Previously water was obtained from cisterns and wells.”
1886—“Paola's new water tower is going up at the rate of four feet a day and will soon be completed.”
1886—“Paola voted $20,000 for building the Kansas City and Southwestern Railroad.” -- Annals of Kansas, 1886-1910,
1886—“Paola was lighted from gas from a 310 foot well.”--Annals of Kansas
1886—“Paola Free Library had 3,000 book.”--Annals of Kansas.
1886—J.W. Price, druggist, erected a two-story building at the northeast corner of Park Square. He sold his drug store
to Ringer and Emery in 1899. The building, known as Price Block, was later known as the Schumann Block.--J.W. Price’s
obituary, Swan River Museum.
1886—“Park Square had light installed in it. The fish pond did not have a fence until after a probate judge fell in one
1887—“Paola is located about the center of the natural gas field of the west. Paola is the only town west of the
Mississippi River lighted with natural gas! Paola is the only town west of the Mississippi in which two hundred stoves in
private families are heated with natural gas! Paola is the only town west of the Mississippi in which the largest power
engines use natural gas for fuel; and the only town so far as known having under it a 48 inch vein of coal only 439 feet
below the surface. One of the largest glass factories in the country is now preparing to move their plant to Paola.” --
This quote by W.D. Greason, Secretary of Board of Trade, Paola, is from an article in the April 27, 1887 Miami Republican.
1887—“Natural gas is attracting the attention of capitalists where ever it is found in the west. Saturday our reporter
went to Kansas City and took with him 2,000 circulars announcing the advantages of Paola and was considerably
surprised to find the public so anxious to learn the full particulars concerning the Paola Gas Field and as to our future
prospects. While there we distributed the advertising material in all the leading hotels, ticket offices and many other
leading business houses.”-- Miami Republican, May 20, 1887.
1887—“The Paola Gas Co. furnishes their gas to Paola and runs it seven miles into town. They have the whole town
lighted with it and now furnish two hundred stoves in the city with fuel and also a large flouring mill, which is supplied
by six half- inch burners, the capacity of this mill is one hundred barrels of flour per day. This Paola Business seems to
be one of the most wonderful achievements made with natural gas west of the Mississippi River.”-- Miami Republican ,
May 27, 1887.
1887—“S.P. Boon is making a beautiful park at the gas wells in the Boon Field. The underbrush has nearly all been
cleared out and in a few days it will be one of the handsomest parks in this section and best of all it will be lighted by
natural gas.” --Miami Republican , June 24, 1887.
1887—From the Miami Republican following the Gas Celebration June 28, 1887: “Tuesday was a lovely day and the
event of the natural gas celebration brought thousands of people to Paola from all sections of the country to witness
the first natural gas display that was ever made in the west. The early trains from the south brought scores of people
from Ft. Scott and other southern points, and when the excursion had arrived from Kansas City, the town was one solid
mass of people. Hundreds of farmers from this and adjoining counties came in with their wagons and most of them met
at the depot and assisted in getting the people over the city and to the natural gas display in the Boon field. When the
procession arrived.... the gas was turned on in well number two which was filled with water. The force of gas carried
the water upward to a height of nearly a hundred feet…It was something new to see a beautiful flame of such
magnitude intermingled with water. After the speeches, all got in their wagons and carriages and came back
to town where a free dinner was in readiness for their action in the Hayes Grove in the Findlay addition just north of
the city...Early in the evening the people began to throng in the park and around the square in order to be ready to
notice the illumination. An excellent band accompanied the excursion from Kansas City and discoursed music all through
the day. McCaslin Post band of Paola, as usual, rendered some fine music.......The display around the square was good
and showed clearly the beauties of natural gas....The handsomest little illumination we noticed in business circles was
gas attached to a yard sprinkler by a rubber hose. When it was ignited there appeared a nest of small blazes which
were beautiful and attractive....H.H. Grimshaw, H.M. McLachlin, C.H. Mallory, J.S. Wheeler and A.D. States had
magnificent home illuminations...The fire company were out in full dress with their carts and wagons finely decorated.
Flags were waving to the breeze all around the square....There were numerous home water displays which in
connection with the gas made Paola one perfect bower of beauty from morning till night.”
1887—“Local artist, Floyd, is taking some very fine views of the scenery in and around Paola.”-- Miami Republican , July
1887—“Paola Glassworks turned out the first bottles made west of the Mississippi River.” -- Annals of Kansas, 1886-
1887—“December 16, 1887, the glass plant shut down due to the cutting off of gas supply. (See breach of contract suit
filed by Paola Glass Company vs. Paola Gas company in 1889 entry.)
1887—“Work on the Engel crematory was commenced yesterday and the furnace will be in operation next week. This is
the best garbage and filter destroyer in the world and Paola may well congratulate herself on its advent into our city.”--
Miami Republican, June 24, 1887.
1887--- In the Miami Republican "Paola's Colored People" column, it was written that there was a colored club called
Western Enterprise Club.
1887—“The League of American Wheelmen held their second annual meeting in Paola on July 18, 1887.” A special
TRIBUNE correspondence, July 18, 1887, relates that many attending the bicycle races visited the gas wells and the
Paola Roller Mill whose steam boilers were fueled by natural gas, not coal.
1888—“The first W.C.T.U. convention of Miami County will be held in the Paola Presbyterian Church June 7.”
1888–“Lou Baehr's team ran away with his ice wagon last Tuesday, damaging the wagon.” (This is the same man that
has a foundation named after him--the very foundation that helped finance this book!)
1888—“The Salvation Army is holding forth nightly at the Flanders rink with large and interested audiences.”
1888—“Steps have been taken for the organization of a company to prospect for coal, oil, gas, etc., the primary object
1888—“The factory erected a few months ago by Sogomeier & Estelle, for working the lint of flax and hemp is now in
full operation. The mill is located on the hill in Sim's Addition.”
1888—“Grandma Wakefield died Tuesday night in Paola at the age of 98 years. She came to Miami County in 1856. Her
request was that she be buried in the old Mission graveyard just east of Paola. She was buried there, the first burial to
take place there for more than 20 years.”
1888—“Farmers coming into Paola should leave their dogs at home or tie them to the wagon. The scare in town about
mad dogs has made it necessary to kill off all the dogs in town that are not muzzled.”
1888—“J.W. Price & Co. gave notice that they had filed in the office of the probate judge of Miami County a petition for
a druggist’s permit to sell intoxicating liquors. The petition will be heard before the probate judge on the 15th of this
coming May.” (Since Kansas had approved state-wide prohibition in 1880, intoxicating liquors could now legally be sold
only in approved businesses.)
1888---“A strong pole, twenty feet high raised from the top of the Commercial Hotel blazes all night long with natural
gas carried by a small pipe.”
1888-- In The Story of Paola, Art McLachlin remembers lighting the street lights at night. He said, "In the middle
eighties, Paola took on life. A syndicate struck several oil and gas wells in the east part of the county. They had quite a
time getting a franchise from the city council, but finally did so by giving the city 80 street lights, fuel and light for the
city hall, fire department and library. My job from the company was to light the street lights at night and turn them off in
the morning, for which I received $15.00 per month"
1888—“Gas mains are being laid to the different school buildings in Paola for the purpose of heating them the coming
1889—“At last the ordinance allowing meat markets to be open on Sunday till 9 a.m. has been passed and those who
can’t afford ice but can buy fresh meat have privilege of doing it on Sunday morning.”
1889—“Cows are turned out in the morning to take their own way to the boulevard, browsing in yards, tramping over
parks and sidewalks. The city has rented the Ennis lot adjoining the corner livery stable and fixed it up for a pound, but
it is apparently for style and not for use.”
1889—“The street sprinkler is one of the best investments our business men have made.”Ethel J. Hunt, in her “History
of Paola”, said merchants liked to keep their front doors open to attract trade in the summer time, but the dust was so
thick it was a problem. Finally Bill Cox hitched his team to a flatbed with a water tank, and for 50 cents a week would
sprinkle the water on the streets in front of the stores.
1889—“The Knights of Pythias gave a grand banquet Tuesday night in commemoration of the 25th anniversary of the
order. It was a brilliant affair.”
1889—Several 1887 newspaper articles tell of the opening and closing of the glass factory that was in operation for
just a few months. Below is the contract between the glass company and the Paola Gas Company and the results of a
lawsuit filed concerning the closing of the glass factory.
The oil boom of the 1880's created wealth for some local citizens and newly arriving entrepreneurs. With that wealth
came the desire for cultural and social niceties. Service, social and cultural organizations flourished. There was strong
leadership from Paola’s two major minority groups-“colored” citizens and women seeking the right to vote. Indian
citizens still lived in Paola, but most of the leaders had moved to the Oklahoma Territory.
1890—“H.C. Perry informs us that the Golf route will run a special train from Kansas City on the night of October 2, after
the Priests of Palace parade. This will enable Paola people to get home that night”.
1890—“A regular weekly matinee took place at Walnut Grove race track last Tuesday before a good sized audience. H.
M. McLachlin drove his gray horse, Lawnwood, a half-mile in 1:15 and a full mile in 2:34. Also his bay 3-year-old, Oliver,
was repeated by William Cecil, a mile at 2:45, the last quarter being covered in 40 seconds.”
In addition to the race track activity, local newspaper articles reported many community events that were held at the
Walnut Grove Park north of town---close of the school year picnics, Forth of July Celebrations with fireworks, political
1890–“The drinking fountain on the southeast corner of the park has been completed at last.”
1890—“The street lamp on the southeast corner of Park Square has been replaced with a Gordon lamp.”
1890—“Company C of Paola with other companies of the Kansas National Guards has orders to hold themselves in
readiness during the Indian trouble for any emergency.”
1890—“The Paola Gas and Land Co. shipped a carload of their oil to the Missouri Pacific Railroad Company this week.
They have a contract to furnish oil for all of their lines west of Kansas City.”
1890—“Arrangements have been completed to put in an electric light plant immediately. The machinery will be placed in
the skating rink building.”
1890—“The Commercial House was a mass of brilliancy on Wednesday night, the interior being lighted from cellar to
garret and the illuminating appurtenances on the lawn being tested to their fullest. It was the occasion of Mrs.
Grimshaw's return from the East....The Mandoline club discoursed sweet music and Miss Ollie Hiatt, of Garnett, gave
1890---The first South School was built. Local lore has presented two stories questioning the purpose for which Block
25 was intended when the Paola City plat was drawn. One story suggested that since a few graves were found on
Block 25, the name on the original city plat was misspelled and the block was used as a cemetery instead of seminary.
The other version says that the block was always meant for a school.
A copy of the original Paola City Plat in the Register of Deeds Office clearly shows “Seminary” in Block 25.
Journal entries at the Register of Deeds Office read:
For Lots 4 and 5
May 25, 1865 City Clerk–Grantee Miami Co. Lots 4&5
July 3, 1866 County Commission to Paola Town Co.
For Lots 1,2,3,4,5
Nov. 29, 1882 Wagstaff, W.R. (Mgr.), To Wilgus, A. and F.M.
June 21, 1886 Krutz, W.G. (Member of Town Co.) To Paola City
Sept. 9, 1886 Krutz, W. G. & wf. to Board of Education
Sept. 9, 1886 City of Paola to Bd. of Education-Seminary Square
For Lots 6,7,8,9,10
Nov. 29, 1882 Wagstaff, W.R. (Mgr.) To Willgus, A. And F.M.
June 21, 1886 Krutz, W.G. (Member of Town Company) City of
Sept. 9, 1886 Krutz, W.G. & wf. To Bd. of Ed. of City of Paola
Sept. 9, 1886 City of Paola to Board of Education.
In a program Ethel Hunt presented to the Miami County Historical society in 1968, she noted that on November 27,
1882, for $500 W.R. Wagstaff, as Manager of the Paola Town Company, conveyed to A. and Francis M. Wilgus Lots
1,2,3,4,5, and 6,184.108.40.206 Block 25 designated on Plat of Paola City as a Seminary. The block had never been used; so
perhaps the sale was due to the fact that the map had been made 25 years earlier.
Ethel Hunt went on to say that about 1858-1859 a verbal agreement was made with Baptiste Peoria for ground for a
city graveyard south of the southern boundary of the Paola Town site. Through this verbal agreement bodies were
buried on ground supposed to be the City Graveyard and through carelessness or mistake was buried over the line
within the city limits.
1890—“A few years ago all the wooden street crossings in Paola were torn out and stone ones put in. Now all the
stone crossings are being taken out and wooden ones put in.”
1890—“As cold weather approaches, loose boards in sidewalks all over town are being quietly gathered up and carried
away for kindling by thrifty citizens.”
1890—“The handle factory has been running a full force of hands the past few months. They supply four railroads with
1890—“S.A. Hosmer, representing the New York State Evaporating Works, has established an apple drier here near the
Gulf depot. The evaporators will be running full blast in a few days.”
1890—“The show season opens up in Paola next Monday night with one of the best comedy companies on the road.
The opening attraction is "Wild Oats." Mr. Mallory has secured this excellent theatrical troupe at a low rate of
admission, 50 cents, with no extra charge for reserved seats, so the grand opera house should be packed next
Monday night.” (This theater was on the west side of the square, not the Mallory Opera House theater built in 1895 on
1891—“Cows still have open leeway in Paola and whenever councilmen undertake to restrain them they are jumped on
with both feet. It will be a long time before Paola is freed from this nuisance.”
1891–“John Chandler and three children who were over from Colony, Anderson County, last week, having the Dollar
mad stone applied for dog bites, returned home Saturday much relieved.”
1891—“On petition of David Lykins Perry, the ten bodies in the Indian burying ground at the rear of the lot at 402 North
Pearl were moved to the Elmwood division of the Paola Cemetery by order of the Paola City Council September 16,
1891. Each grave is marked. Samuel Baptiste, son of Baptiste Peoria, is buried there. Baptiste Peoria’s store was just
south of the Indian burial ground. Later this store site was the site of the Drew McLaughlin, Sr. home, 314 N. Pearl”.
1891---“J.R. Vogelsong has purchased a number of lots from Mrs. Dol. Campbell on Miami Street adjoining the Missouri
Pacific track for his mill site. He intends commencing work soon.”
1891---JR. Voglesong has contracted with a company for the machinery of a 50 to 75 barrel mill he intends building
1891—“W.C.T.U. has passed a resolution to publish the names of all signers of petitions for drug store permits. One
publication will probably prove a great plenty.”
1891—“G.W. Lowry, head of the colored schools in this city reports that Edward W. Cooper, a colored man, is making a
success of The Freeman, an illustrated paper, published in Independence. Professor Lowry is the best authority on the
colored race that ever lived in Miami County.”
1891—“A. Strausbaugh was named official organizer for Miami County’s Anti-Horse Thief Association at the state
meeting in Wichita.”
1892—“H.J. Grimshaw, Englishman, conducted his hotel at Paola in English tavern style. All guests sat at one long
table. The host said grace, and then carved, asking each guest what portion he preferred. An English garden
surrounded the hotel.” -- The Annals of Kansas.
1892—“The line of march for the Memorial Day services was composed of the Paola Cornet Band, Co. C. K.N.G., uniform
rank Knights of Pythias, Richard drum corps, flower girls, McCaslin Post and visiting posts on the G.A.R.”
1892–“Shofstall & Campbell have a barrel factory in the canning factory building.”
1892—“The population of Paola has been returned as 3,465.”
1892—“Paola has two flour mills, doing good business now, one Voglesong & Poteet, and the other Shofstall &
Campbell.” Also, about this time the Paola Mill & Elevator of H.M. and T.S. McLachlin was in operation.—Verla Thomas.
1892—“A belfry has been built on the city building and the fire bell placed in it.”
1893—“Work on four large and elegant residences is in progress in Paola. The Hillis house soon will be done; M.A.
Schroeder's (510 East Chippewa) is well started and Resin Nicholson (302 South Pearl) is going right along with his.”
1893—“The Paola Free Library was moved this week to the new building east of the City Hall. Mrs. Haskell, the
librarian, will live in the building which adjoins the library room.”
1893—“Not a single accident marred the big Forth of July celebration. It was estimated that there were 10,000 here.
400 came from Osawatomie on the early train and the rest of the town followed by buggy and wagon. People came
from all over Miami County, from Linn, Anderson, Franklin and Johnson counties and from over the border in Missouri.”
1893—“A drinking fountain is being put in at the northeast corner of the city park for the accommodation of the thirsty
public. The pipes will connect with the water main and the water will be cooled by conducting it through the large
cistern that was dug at the corner of the park 20 years ago for fire protection.”
1893—“The bandstand has been moved from the center to the north side of the park and a fountain is being put in the
center. Gravel walks are being put around and across the park.”
1893—“A man from Chanute arrived Saturday to test the virtues of Mrs. Dollar's madstone. The stone adhered 60
hours. The man had been bitten by a rabid dog ten days ago.”
1893—“Noel Dagnette is here this week visiting friends. His home is in Miami, Indian Territory. In talking of the old
crowd, he said, "John Charley is doing well and so is David L. Perry. The Geboe boys are prosperous and John
Wadsworth is now in Washington, D.C. Mrs. Hedges and Dr. Wade are both well.”
1893—“At a regular council meeting these bills were allowed: I.L. Kent, marshal, salary $35; Wm. Emery, deputy, $25;
M.A. Strait, clerk, $12.50; Paola Gas Co., gas for street lamps, $72.”
1894—“The Ursuline Sisters arrived to build a school, Ursuline Academy”.
1894—“Senator John J. Ingalls will speak in Paola May 30, when the soldiers' graves are decorated.”
1894—“Noel Dagnette, now living in the Indian Territory, was back recently shaking hands with old friends. He had
helped survey nearly all of the public roads in Middle Creek.”
1894—“Hon. Chester I. Long, congressman elect from the Seventh District visited Paola friends from Saturday until
Monday.” (Chester Long had attended the normal school at North School.)
1894—“George W. Lowry, teacher in our public school, has been invited to read a paper at the teacher’s association at
Pleasant Hill, Mo. At the annual meeting in March. Mr. Lowry is an educated black man who commands the respect of all
who know him.”
1894—Henrietta Stoddard Turner wrote a letter to the editor of the Western Spirit, February 12, 1894, thanking him for
allowing space in his paper for her women’s suffrage article even though she knew of his “disapproval of and
opposition to equal suffrage.”
1894—“Paola now has a public free library in active operation.”
1894—“Since water in wells and cisterns is so low it should all be boiled. Bad water is to a great extent responsible for
the sickness and fever that prevail.”
1894—“Holdups are almost a nightly occurrence in Paola.”
1895—The cornerstone of the first Ursuline Academy building, built on a five-acre cornfield,
was laid September1, 1895.
1895---The Mallory Opera House was built.
1898---Miami County Courthouse designed by George Washburn was dedicated. The cost of courthouse was $45.000.
From the Annals of Kansas. (At the Swan River Museum there is an extensive history of Miami County’s two
courthouses–the first courthouse building which was initially the first school and the new courthouse built in 1898. This
courthouse history at the museum was prepared by Ethel J. Hunt from her newspaper clippings collection, Miami County
Courthouse documents and Ethel’s memories from working in the courthouse for thirty-one years.)
1898---Lizzie Dollar of Paola, Kansas was telegraphed to take her "madstone" to Fairbury, Nebraska to treat
Hydrophobia cases. Annals of Kansas. In 1876 she treated from 5 to 10 persons a month, getting all the way from 10
to 50 dollars a treatment. An 1888 article says “two men from near Freeman, Mo. were bitten by a mad dog and came
to Paola to consult Mrs. Henry Dollar who has the only genuine mad stone in the west. The stone adhered to the
wound on one for six hours and to the other for two hours. For 25 years this stone has been in the possession of
1899—“William Schwartz, of Wea township, has bought A. Bumgarner’s brick and tile plant in this city and intends to
put in $3,500 worth of new machinery. Mr. Schwartz will run it as proprietor, with Mr. Bumgarner in charge. Our city will
be the gainer in more ways than one, for Mr. Schwartz intends to move here next year. To get such a man among us is
a big thing for the entire community.”
1899—“George D. Vogelsong has taken charge of the Paola Pearl Meal Mill & Elevator on West Peoria Street. Mr.
Vogelsong is one of the most thorough mill operators in the state and has had many years of experience. George is
back in Paola to stay and his return has been signaled by a hearty welcome from all.”
1899—“Although the corner stone had been laid for the courthouse, because of some building problems, the county
officials didn’t move in until April.”
1899—“Mrs. Alice McGrath, the oldest living of all the McGrath’s, is spending a month or two in Miami County. She still
owns the old homestead. (The original site of the old Baptist Mission.) Only for the worry caused by the suit of W.C.
Lykins for her home place under the pretext of an Indian title, Mrs. McGrath would enjoy her old days. W.C. Lykins is
the son of Dr. Lykins and many years ago clerked in Mitchler's store.”
1899—“The friends of Professor George W. Lowry will give an entertainment in the opera house tonight to assist him in
paying for the artificial limb which he purchased a few months ago. It is a worthy project and everybody should attend.”
1899—“Charles Sherman received word from the Soldiers' Home in Leavenworth, Kansas, that George Reed, a colored
man well known here died last Sunday. Reed was a member of the McCaslin Post and was well liked by all who knew
him. Mr. Sherman will look after his property interests here.”
1899—“Companies B, C and I, 20th Kansas Volunteers, were ordered to dislodge Filipino sharpshooters from a jungle
at Caloocan, near Manila, and did it. In the charge, Lieutenant A.C. Alford, Company B, was killed and Jay Sheldon,
quartermaster sergeant of Company I, was seriously wounded. Privates Hewitt, Fritts and Gillilan of Company B also
suffered slight wounds. Company I is commanded by Captain C.S. Flanders.”
1899—“Henry Miller, an industrious and well to do colored man in the south part of town died last Friday, aged 72. He
leaves his wife and several children. Aunt Tabitha will now have to go the rest of life's journey without the faithful
husband. Mr. Miller left considerable property, mostly in real estate. The funeral last Saturday was largely attended.”
1899—“The city marshal’s report shows six arrests during December, five for selling hop tea and one for using profane
1899—“The ice on Bull Creek measures 13 ½ inches and ice men tell us this is the thickest since 1884-1885.”
1899—“The football which was organized here about a week ago has been having practice games on the old mill
ground west of town and they expect to line up against Osawatomie’s eleven soon. Claude Masters is captain of the
1899—“Henrietta Stoddard Turner went to Kansas City Monday where she attended a meeting of the Kansas Equal
Suffrage Association of which she is state treasurer. “Henrietta Stoddard Turner’s obituary notes that she was a
teacher, noted in literary circles throughout Kansas and Missouri and was active in civic and social organizations. Mrs.
Turner was a charter member of the Pleasant Hour Club and was organizer of the May Day Club. The Pleasant Hour
Club is still active in Paola in 2005.
1899—“Every house in town is occupied. Pretty good place is this to live in after all. Any others coming here to live
should take notice: bring your tent with you.”
1900 Annals of KS --Paola passed ordinance compelling vaccinations of all school children.1900--“The Paola Brick Works
turn out the best paving brick now known to the market. KCKS now has filed an order for 150,000. Mr. Wm. Schwartz
put in over $5,000 worth of new machinery and this year $5,000 more.”
1900---“The Paola Fair which will be held in the old opera house, beginning Feb. 19 and last one week. Paola orchestra
will entertain during supper and evening on 19th. There will be music and singing every evening. We would like a nice
display of all grains grown in our county...bring and donate.”
1900--“Women’s Relief Corps 17th Anniversary dinner at Mrs. T.K. Clifton’s on school house hill.”
As the 19th Century drew to a close, the Spanish American War had ended; WCTU (Women’s Christian Temperance
Union) groups were active; women’s suffrage was a powerful force in Paola as it was all over the country; and our
schools were still segregated.
Chapter 5--THE BEGINNING OF THE 20TH CENTURY
Note: To save space for more items of interest of yesteryears the author has used these abbreviations for the sources.
—(WS) for Western Spirit and (MR) for the Miami Republican, the source of most articles. A few may show (EH or ejh) for
Ethel Wise Hunt, long time historian or (PB) Pauline Burson and (HK) Helen Kohlenberg, newspaper woman. Please use
these items as a table of contents for further research about your interest.
1901--Jan. 1, 4,000 Kansans, representing 125 towns and cities enrolled in the 20th Century Total Abstinence Union
Workers, caused saloons to be closed in Garden City, Wellington, Paola and others.—1901, Annals of Kansas, pg. 335.
1901--A fairly strong flow of gas was struck at the fairgrounds west of Flora Hall at a depth of 375 feet by Franklin Light
and Fuel Co.--Jan. 24.
1901--Carl Pickering head workman at D.O. Sellers Marble Works for many years is going to Sellers at Coffeyville.--
1901--Gold medal to the best lady and gentleman dancer of the Paola Dancing Academy at Mallory Opera House.--MR.
1901--Woodson Masters moved from his 4th ward home on E. Piankishaw to new residence on W. Peoria. John Fordyce
completed two cottages there; A.J. White has spoken for one.--Feb. 14.
1901--City council presented ordinance raising clerk’s salary to $200 and Marshal’s to $420 a year.--Feb. 16.
1901--It is reported there are peddlers running over the county selling merchandise; every person who patronizes
them is surely beaten.--Feb. 16.
1901--Sam Condon presented the White-Sheridan camping outfit with the largest and best stew kettle ever made in
Paola, the work of J.A. Brown, the tinner, and is made of the best iron, well riveted, and holds 6 gallons.--Feb. 28.
1901--W.T. Potts, oldest grocer in continuous work for 34 years has begun to repaint.--Mar. 15
1901--Leavitt and Charley Mallory have bought lots south of Methodist Church and will put up residences.--Mar. 15.
1901--The city should provide more hitching posts; many farmers coming to town late Saturday afternoon were unable
to find places to tie their horses... The ladies toilet in the west basement of the new courthouse has been fitted nicely
for country women and children when in town Mar 22
1901--Atlas shows Dr. Robertson’s Health Institute. He had the large building (south of future Sales Barn) and large
medical staff. Sanitarium did well until wife sued for divorce and he received bad press. After Sheriff’s sale, he left for
Kansas City but located in Louisburg 1901. In 1922 he was arrested for concealing assets.--Apr. 4.
1901--Cemetery Association engaged B.F. Bradley, Rich Hill, to beautify the grounds; rubbish was removed last year.--
MR. Apr. 4.
1901--Apprentice girl wanted in millinery at Stich Dept. Store.--Apr. 12.
1901--Dr. J.D. Walthall has moved upstairs in the J.U. Smith building, north of the park. J.E. Maxwell moved to his new
palatial residence on E. Wea, most beautiful home in Paola.--MR. Apr. 12.
1901--W.A. Davis has had published a two-step, composed by R.B.M. LeMaster, called “The Violet Club,” in honor of the
organization of that name in this city.--Apr. 18.
1901—Mrs. (Carrie) Nation, whom we had expected sooner, arrived and was given a reception. She is sister of Charles
Moore, Louisburg and a relative of Mr. January of this county so she was coming to visit kin, too. She made a lecture at
the Opera House, reading riot act to proud humanity in general. May 3. (On April 23, 1903 only 5-6 persons at Mallory’s
to hear Carrie. She came but did not speak. Ticket price was refunded).
1901--There died in Paola an old man who was a credit to his race; Wm. Lee was born in slavery in 1814 in Washington
County, VA, and he served his master till 1863 when he became free and located in Kansas.--May 10.
1901--S.B. Cowell received his life-size, dapple gray, display horse which he now has on exhibition in front of his
harness shop. (Later Frank Koehler’s) --May 10.
1901--Flowering and foliage plants were set out on east side of courthouse supervised by Mr. R.B. Horr and Judge E.W.
Robinson.--May 17 The Paola Gun club will give a grand shooting tourney at the fairgrounds.--MR. May 17.
1901--The new fast Missouri Pacific train to Kansas City is proving very popular, it departs from Paola 7:15 am and
returns in the evening 7:30.--MR. May 23.
1901--Mr. Sarah Stott received, through representatives of the AOUW Lodge, $2,000 insurance her husband had
carried as a member of that order.--MR. May 23.
1901--The class of 1901 banqueted by HS Alumni, in the McLaughlin Hall. Owing to large number of graduates the
program was divided into two evenings; the opera house was crowded both nights.--May 31.
1901--Dr. S.G. Numbers returned and opened an office in the Price Block, over Mitchler’s Clothing.--May 31.
1901--E.C. Phares has the new lumber yard in operation southeast of courthouse, corner of Pearl and Shawnee
Streets.--June 7. The new yard has been sold to E.S. Boyd Lumber Co.—June 28.
1901--J.C. Williford has begun work on his new brick residence a few doors west of the Presbyterian Church.—June 20.
1901--Professor G.W. Lowry has gone on a lecture tour through Oklahoma. He is one of the ablest Negroes in this
1901—Chances are ten to one that there will be a water famine by the first of next September. There is barely 5 feet in
the creek above the dam to pump on now and it is decreasing at an inch and a quarter a day. Soon the supply of
watering troughs will have to be discontinued and yard sprinkling must stop.—July 4.
1901--Dr. R.C. Nickerson, veterinarian, has located with his office at O’Rourke’s stables on W. Peoria.—July 11.
1901--A large party from (here) left first of week for the Kiowa lands to register for claims, after they organized the
Paola Land and Township Site Co.--MR. July 18.
1901--The Miami County Institute opened July 30 with an enrollment of 129. It was moved and passed that the
gentlemen need not wear coats during this session of the normal and also the ladies need not wear high collars.
1901--Papers no longer publish lists of wedding presents or condolence resolutions.--MR. Aug. 2
1901--The County Commissioners, W.L. Beck, R. Hampson and Thomas Crawford, announce that Miami County is now
out of debt and they want it to stay that way.--Aug. 16
1901--Next week the Western Spirit moves to the new brick building second door west of Mallory Opera, using the
ground floor, 115 x 22.--Aug. 16.
1901--St. Patrick’s School will be opened to scholars on Sept. 3. Sisters of Ursuline Academy will conduct the school. A
brick veneered building, 24 x 40, immediately east of the Catholic Church parsonage will be used as preparatory school
for children before entering Ursuline.--Aug. 22.
1901--Luther Douglas White says the reason the natural gas is playing out now is the ground is cracked so generally
and so deep, the gas is escaping and will continue till wet weather comes--Sept.13. Natural gas for fuel is soon to be
past, not nearly enough for last winter and steadily Decreasing.--Aug. 22, 1902. The rain of past week has soaked
pores in the gas line letting the gas escape--Nov. 6, 1903.
1901--The attorney for the MKT RR paid the railroad back taxes for 1896 and 1897 which had been in litigation. The
contention was that the tax was illegal because the County Clerk increased the rate of the state levy because the
valuation was raised and extended the tax--Sept. 13.
1901--Hodges Brothers announce telephone connection of Paola to Chiles, Somerset, Louisburg, Wagstaff, Bucyrus and
Hillsdale. The central toll office is in Mallory Opera House; any patron of the Paola Telephone Exchange having a phone
can talk direct to the places named--MR. Sept. 19.
1901--Now Miami County has a first class private hospital in the hands of reliable resident physicians, Drs. Mott &
VanPelt.--Oct. 4. (Partnership severed in July 1902.)
1901--H.M. McLachlin has purchased the John F. Merrill lumber yard. The Ed S. Boyd lumber will be transferred to the
Merrill yard and consolidated.--MR. Nov. 21.
1901--Persons using hydrant water, until the supply is increased, no waste of water will be tolerated. The use of hose
for washing buggies or any other purpose except to extinguish fires is prohibited--MR. Nov. 29. The Paola Water Co.
received a pump with capacity of 500,000 gallons of water every 24 hours--MR. Dec. 5
1901--An ordinance for license of bowling alleys, ten-pin alleys and shooting galleries was passed. The fee was $20 for
30 days, $50 for 60 days or $2 per day for less than a month.--Dec. 5.
1902--M.E. Thorpe better known as “Buckeye Bill” has bought the B.F. Henry residence 609 E. Kaskaskia better known
as Mallory-Price place.--Mar. 7.
1902--The Frank Koehlers both took scarlet fever and the baby is with grandparents the B.J. Sheridan’s.--Mar. 14
1902--Mr. Martha Smith bequeathed $10,000 to the free public library in Paola.--Apr. 4. Annals of Kansas, pg 360.
1902--The City of Paola is indebted to MR. Charles F.W. Rawson for an ornamental fountain for the Park. It is a metal
cast, representing lilies and a spray in the center.--Apr. 18.
1902--William Loch was bitten on his little finger by a rattlesnake; because of its condition 2 weeks later Dr. Haldeman
had to amputate it.—July 11
1902--Charles E. Jones has refurnished the Crystal Spring Hotel near the Frisco Depot.--July 25.
1902--State tax levy is 60 cents and county levy is 80 cents on each $100 valuation.--Aug. 8.
1902--Sheriff Jelly left for southern Missouri where he has track of the thieves who stole L. Ebert’s harness and wagon.
1902--Dr. A. Reichard drove 900 miles attending his patients during July, with only one team.--Aug. 8.
1902--I.L. Sperling, the Candy Kitchen man, has just put in a new soda fountain.--Aug. 8.
1902--W.F. Parsons has opened up a new billiard parlor in T.W. Rainey’s room on S. side of square-no intoxicants, no
profane language, and no rowdyism.--WS. Aug. 14.
1902--There is another name for the Memorial tablet in the courthouse, James Edward Johnson died at Santa Cruz,
Laguna, Philippine Islands on June 2, 1902.--Aug. 14.
1902--John Hoover bought a new gasoline engine to run the machinery at his carpenter shop.--Aug. 15.
1902--Jim Kane, oldest newspaper man in Miami County, came from his farm to note progress of things in Paola.
1902--This week Dr. Oyster filled orders for 20 gallons of his black ink for use in county district schools.--Aug. 29.
1902--The Walthall Building (Rainey and later H.C. Jones) is to be supplied with a complete steam heating system for
$3,000 for the three stories.--Sept. 5.
1902--The carpenter work on the new amphitheater at the fairgrounds is finished. The grandstand has a seating
capacity of 1,000.--Sept. 5.
1902--The Western Cabinet Co., Paola, received an order from Dawson, Alaska for 24.--Sept. 5.
1902--The Commercial Club’s premiums. for the best kept lawns were awarded by the park commissioner. First Prize: E.
W. Robinson, his gift being a lawn mower; George L. Robinson, second, a lawn settee; and W.H. Gatlin, third, a lawn
swing.--MR. Sept. 18.
1902--The 21st annual meeting of the Kansas Anti-Horse Thief Association was held. The following permanent
organization was chosen in 1901: President, R.E. Mathews; VP, Charles F. Emery; Treasurer, Henry B. Toelle; Marshal,
Robert O’Conner; and Guard, P.H. Rouse.--Oct. 17.
1902--William Gordon’s house near the cemetery is the oldest in this city. It was built in 1855; the walls are of
Hardwood limber.--Dec. 4.
1902--Harry Burton bought Tom Gray’s blacksmith shop, located just west of the Walthall (Rainey) building.--Dec. 4.
1903--An association of all former University of Kansas students living in Miami County was organized at the home of
Miss Issie Potts.--Jan. 1.
1903--Henry Stuart’s Bakery at 17 E. Wea east of the Republican 0ffice burned.--Jan. 2.
1903--Street Commissioner Edwards with men and teams. have been busy the past week removing the surplus
accumulation of mud from the streets around the square.--Jan. 29.
1903--The Christian Church won the Estey organ awarded by the S.W. Davis Furniture Co. to the church organization
receiving the most votes in 1902.--Jan. 30
1903--Dr. L.J. Worthen moved his office from the Walthall building to the Mallory Opera House on the second floor.
WS. Feb. 5.
1903--Ben Bachman has purchased from Dan Neiswender the feed lots east of town which included the building and 4
acres of land formerly the old glass factory.--Feb. 6
1903--The Brotherhood of American Yeoman organized a lodge at McLachlin’s Hall with 40 members. It will be known as
Paola Homestead Lodge No. 100--Mar. 28.
1903--The Harrison Mutual Burial Association of Miami County has nearly 1200 members; their names are on the books
kept at J.T. Suit’s Undertaking place.--Apr. 10.
1903--The Telephone Exchange has a new wagon after the style of a mail wagon with wire screening around the sides
and ends, a covered top and curtains on the sides which can be closed in bad weather.--Apr. 24.
1903--Mrs. G. Gigax and family who live in the east part of town have been the victims of robbery. A month ago they
were chloroformed and about $60 taken.--Apr. 24
1903--This division of the Missouri Pacific has added 17 new engines, mammoth structures weighing 160 tons each;
one went through pulling 68 cars.--Apr. 24.
1903--George Irwin has new row boats and repaired old ones so is now ready for fishing and picnicking parties at the
water works.--May 1.
1903--Lt. Col. Charles S. Flanders inspected KS National Guard throughout state.--WS. May 7.
1903--D.O. Sellers purchased Mrs. Horr’s property in rear of Marble works for storage of Marble stock.--MR. May 8
1903--Sheriff Stevenson bought from the George P. Leavitt widow the 10-room house three blocks south on Silver,
plans to move when his term expires.--May 8.
1903--Thomas Knoop sold residence and lot south of Methodist Church to Luther Minick.--May 8.
1903--Thomas Hodges returned from the State Convention of Modern Woodman of America at Emporia.--May 14.
1903--Sam Baldry who lives alone near the south bridge awoke to find a man in bed with him; thought it was his son
so went back to sleep. Next morning the stranger tried to rob him. Sam had no money so gave him some breakfast and
he left.--MR. May 15.
1903--The salary of postmaster up from $1900 to $2000 yearly and office will go from 3rd class to 2nd class.--May 22.
1903--The Memorial Day procession will form in this order: Band, Civic Societies in uniform, Richland Drum Corps,
McCaslin Post G.A.R., Women’s Relief Corps, school children and vehicles. Graves to be decorated are 123 Civil War
dead, 4 Spanish American War.--May 22.
1903--Four persons from Boicourt bitten by strange dog came to have Dollar’s madstone applied. It stuck on two for 12
hours; on the others it didn’t stick.--May 29.
1903--Paola Tribe No. 30 Improved Order of Red Men officers elected.—June 4.
1903--The flood of 1903 in Kansas City has all industries paralyzed with all streetcars, water and electric systems shut
down. No tickets will be sold to Kansas City at Frisco Depot because their depot there under 3 feet of water.—June 5.
1903--For his customers Elmer Haughey put an electric light in his rubber tired hack.—June 11.
1903--Census population 3,123. Paola made contributions to flood sufferers of $1,000 and a carload of supplies. 1200
carloads of grain were lost last week in the Kansas City flood. Heavy rain caused the end of a building on north side of
park square to fall inward--the old Baptiste brick building erected in 1867 and occupied many years by the Arcade
1903--An excursion to St. Louis costs $4 via MKT to visit the World’s Fairgrounds.—June 12
1903--John Bryan bought 5 rooms. (Old Methodist Church) southwest corner of square.—June 12.
1903--Commencement for 4 Ursuline Academy graduates. Ida Vickers awarded MA at Michigan University after 6-hour
oral exam by 10 professors.—June 19.
1903--Kansas City America Bridge Co. (John Taylor) is putting piers for south bridge with Bushong rock used by railroad
for strength and durability.—June 25.
1903--Frisco has completed its pipeline to Bull Creek; pump engine can also lift coal to chutes. The streets of Paola are
much improved by use of a grader.—June 26.
1903--Colored people of Paola, the Sons and Daughters of Jerusalem, gave a ball at Mallory Opera House.—July 2.
1903--There is talk of putting vitrified brick paving around City Park.—July 3.
1903--The carrying of toy guns by boys is happening to a considerable degree and should be prohibited.--MR. July 3
1903--No celebration of Fourth in Paola but several persons received burns; Jay Trammel was shot in his hand with a
blank cartridge, Cliff Ward had powder picked from face, Harry Peiker a bad burn on leg and Helen Blaisdell on her hand.
1903--Beginning teachers to be paid $40 a month, $4 increase each year until $47.—July 10.
1903--Dr. W.L. Elliott has added an operating table to his horse surgery business at Bryan & Shannon’s Livery barn.—
1903--Drs. Mott and Connell leased upstairs of E.W. Mitchler’s store in Price Block.—July 16.
1903--Paola waterworks plant sold at public auction to highest bidder for cash on hand. John H. Crain of U.S. Court in
1903--Dick Simpson, Dee Scothorne, Elmer English, Henry Ahrens to work in Western Kansas wheat fields-$2-3 a day
and board.—July 16.
1903--J.W. Wren planned to raise his residence to two stories and build a large addition. Two weeks later Mr. Petty
was to build him a new house and the old one was sold to Lafe and Jess Lay.—July 16.
1903--Wm. L Maxwell will build 5 room residence on E. Wea west lot of his father’s.—July 23.
1903--Wm. Fordyce will build residence on north side of Wea opposite Baptist Church—July 24.
1903--John Bryan sold 2-story brick bldg on west side of square occupied by Maher’s Clothing to John and Chas.
1903--Board of education bought 5 carloads of coal, 4,383 bushels, which will furnish fuel for North and South schools
fall and winter.--Aug. 6.
1903--The 1903 graduates of the rural schools of the county held their exercises in the Opera House; 103 is the largest
class ever graduated.--Aug. 7.
1903--Splendid brick street crossings have been built at the southwest corner of park. In another two years no town in
the state will have better walks than we have.--Aug. 7.
1903--Having a Separator at the county farm for one month, Mr. Anna Randel, Supt. has sold 135 pounds of
1903--Citizen’s Bank received charter with capital of $10,000. George Kingsley, W.T. Johnston and John Hoover,
stockholders.--WS. Aug. 20.
1903--Special meeting of Lodge No. 37 A.F. and A.M. next Friday.--WS. Aug. 20.
1903--Homer Clifton had a bullet in his leg for 14 years until Drs. Mott and Connell used new X-ray to locate it
1903--Paola Telephone Co. installed a new system; to get central you lift receiver and replace it to automatically ring
1903--A. Rohrer is having a splendid 7-room house and large barn built on his property in northeast part of town.
1903--John C. Sheridan Estate is turned over to Geo. Kingsley, guardian of three minor children after death of Mr.
Sheridan.--WS. Sept. 2.
1903 --New buildings: Sponable & Donahoe, Post Office and Frank Koehler’s addition to pop and mineral water factory.
1903--Republican this week appears in new shorter and more pages, eight.--Sept. 3.
1903--MR. and Mr. A. F. McLachlin moved into handsome new home on E. Peoria.--MR. Sept. 4.
1903--Rain spoiled Miami Co. Fair but Friday an estimated crowd of 8,000 paid admissions. Races were good.--WS.
1903--School board raised age limit for school from 5 to 6 years.—MR. Sept. 18.
1903--Gus Sogemeier moved drug store from northwest corner of square to old opera house on west side. The room
vacated is being fitted up with vault for Citizens State Bank.--WS. Sept. 24.
1903 --Alex Hamlin returned from Lane Co. where he bought 5 carloads of hard winter wheat for his mills.--WS. Oct. 1.
1903--The Board of Public Library received a splendid memorial photo album by J.B. Hobson. One photo received from
Dr. G.W. Brown of Rockford IL an ambrotype taken in 1863 of Paola looking north to hill where Baptiste Peoria lived. It
was taken from roof of Wm. Sherman’s, north side of park square.--MR. Oct. 2.
1903--Like old times Warren Price working at the Drug Store which he sold to Ringer--WS. Oct. 8.
1903--From Sunday to Wednesday 510 excursion tickets sold from Paola to Kansas City by Frisco and Missouri Pacific.--
MR. Oct. 9
1903--Ursuline addition, 50 x 118 will join present building on the west, brick with basement and 3 stories.--MR. Oct. 16.
1903--Fifty men from county organized as committee of 100 to work with temperance league in suppressing liquor
traffic.--MR. Oct. 16.
1903--H.A. Floyd, real estate, sold brick building occupied by Ahrens Mercantile to C.H. McKeon.--WS. Oct. 22.
1903--Jacob Koehler sold the house and lot adjoining his on E. Wea to Perry Lowe.--MR. Oct. 23.
1903--A local young colored man in wholesale whiskey business sent a Kentucky Co. the names of 20 people with an
order of a gallon to be sent C.O.D. They were not accepted.--MR. Oct. 30.
1903--Total school enrollment 730, High School 140 and Grades 590.--Oct. 30.
1903--Wm. Schwartz sold Paola Brick & Tile to S. G. Norris, KC. who will be in charge making 20,000 bricks daily and will
increase in spring. He thinks shale bed of brick yard the best he has seen for all classes of brick and tile.--MR. Oct. 30.
1903--Last year Clint M. Rosco hurt in street car accident in KC sued for $100,000; jury awarded $10,000 damages.--
WS. Nov. 5.
1903--Blind Boon, noted colored pianist gave a concert at the opera house. He is nephew of Aunt Tabitha Miller. His
home in Warrensburg burned the last of August; he also lost his green parrot that he had carried all over this country
and Europe. His boyhood days were spent here.--Nov. 20.
1903--The fair association has Decided all exhibits and race entries are to be confined to Miami County residents.
1903—D.A. Bumgarner sold the block of ground and building (lunch house) west of Frisco to Jacob Koehler.--MR. Dec. 18.
1904--A meeting will be held at Mallory Hall for the purpose of organizing a company of National Guards here.--Feb. 19.
1904--Charles Griffith purchased in KC a fine $875 Cadillac. They made the trip home in 3½ hours. It was the first auto
owned in Paola and attracted a great deal of attention.--Mar. 11.
1904--B.R. Keith sold undertaking business to Miami County Mercantile Co.--May 13.
1904--William Schwartz was the first member of his family to serve Citizen’s Bank as President. In 1910 son, T.E. joined
him until 1914, also later L.M., grandson.--WS. Jun 10, 1968.
1904--Walnut Park became Camp Sheridan, 21st KS G.A.R. Reunion. See 5/27; 6/17 and 9/16. It required $500 to pay
for expenses: band, straw, wood, transport of 300 tents state would loan. The Presbyterian dining hall cleared $100
and Christian Church a like amount on their refreshment booth. The enrollment of old soldiers was about 800; 22 state
represented; KS, 201; IL, 162; IN, 64; IA, 47. Geo. W. Quimby was commander of McCaslin Post GAR.--Sept. 6-10.
1904--Presbyterian Church on E. Peoria sold by Buckeye Bill Thorpe for $295. The purpose is to erect a new building on
the site of the old one.—June 17. (In January of 1905, they were occupying the basement of the new church.) T.M.
Hobson moved the old building to 2 blocks north of northeast corner of park square to make it into 2 dwelling houses.--
1904--Mr. J.W. Sponable has purchased and donated a lot and one-half to the Congregational Church for a parsonage.
1904--Many of our citizens are attending the St. Louis Worlds Fair. 75 tickets were sold here the past week.—Sept. 16.
1904--The county fair had various good races, few cattle and hogs, grain exhibits, Floral Hall, poultry showing and
merchants’ displays lighter than usual.--Sept. 30.
1904--Since May 1, more than $300,000 has been spent developing the oil well fields, and 400 people added to the city’
s population.--Dec. 2.
1905--W.W. Culbertson was appointed by the Mayor and Council to take charge of the Smallpox quarantine. By the
next morning he had the 9 cases located and guards in charge.—MR. Jan. 13. (Not a single death—Jan. 20). Many cases
of smallpox, 147 white and 27 colored; most did not survive.—HK. 1926.
1905--Capt. E.P. of the Commercial Hotel has given the Presbyterian Church an elegant pulpit Bible, one of the best
made, which he ordered from Chicago--WS. Feb. 10.
1905--S.S. Clover died February 5, in the Indian Territory at Vinita, OK. He was the eldest
son of General Seth Clover and came here with his father in 1857. His father was Indian Agent, and being raised
among the tribes, he knew more history of their families and tribal relations than any man who ever lived in the county.
--WS. Feb. 10.
1905--C.J. Hafey turned two more tanks full of oil into the Standard’s pipes; making 3,500 barrels from one well near
the cemetery. Beatty Bros. will empty 3 of their tanks today.--Feb. 24.
1905--Adv.-New boilers, apparatus at old stand to make sorghum. Farmers please let me know
how many acres of cane they will plant. Robert Harris.--Apr. 28.
1905--As a test, streets in Paola were sprinkled with crude oil. 1905 Annals of Kansas, pg. 420. J.W. Williams. is
sprinkling the streets around the park with crude oil at 10 cents a running foot, a store with 22 feet frontage pays
$2.20 for the season.--May 5.
1905--The franchise of the waterworks expires after 20 years. Judge Robinson has been manager during the entire
1905--The remodeling of the Baptist Church has begun; the old building will be turned to stand east and west and will
stand back forty feet from the street.--Aug. 4.
1905--Paul Mabes, of Northern Germany, arrived here; a nephew of A. Wishropp, he will attend school here this winter.
(He stayed 60 years and was a well known grocer.)--Aug. 25.
1905--Hon. E.H. Funston will address the Miami Law and Order League at a rally.--Sept. 1.
1905--For $425 MR. Bigelow sold 17 feet of (Baptist) church grounds to be used as site of the new public library;
Sponable Estate for $1 sold a lot to be held in trust for a library. Mary Crider sold to John W. Sponable Lot 5 Block 18,
Paola City.--MR. July. The old frame library building was moved to west side of the street.--Sept. 1. (Later it was
auctioned, moved and became kitchen annex to the Methodist Church on the north side. Many dinners were cooked
there including food for people during a murder trial.)--ejh
1905--Last week the first golf match ever witnessed here was played in Smith’s pasture between R.R. Robertson and
George Durkee against Dr. T.G. Vernon and Quince Smith.--Oct. 6.
1906--O.F. McLaughlin building east side of square occupied 36 years by Ahrens was sold to Emil Schumann.--Jan. 19.
Ahrens has taken acetylene lights out and put in gas.—WS. July 13.
1906--Fred Ruby and Charles Gartner bought Condon’s interest in the oldest hardware and seed house in Miami
County, founded in 1868.--Jan. 29.
1906--Clarence Emery and E. D. Boyd purchased lots in 3rd block east of Congregational Church where they will move
houses and build 2 modern residences on 2 lots east of library.--MR. Feb. 13.
1906--The winter has been so warm no ice has been put up.—Feb. 23. (Helped whooping cough epidemic.--April 6)
1906--The formal opening of the new Paola Free Library had every seat occupied. A reception was given; Kittie Hobson
is librarian.--Apr. 13. The Paola High School annual, the first ever issued, will soon be on sale for $1 (1906).--Apr. 28.
1906--Paola did herself proud in the generous contribution given the unfortunate in San Francisco earthquake with loss
of life 30-500 and injured 1-2,000.--WS. Apr. 18, 24. On the car of flour purchased and donated is painted a banner
with “Remember the Golden Rule. From the people of Miami County to San Francisco.”--WS. May 4.
1906--There will likely be some arrests of persons who have neglected to have manure piles removed from their alleys
and other rubbish hauled.--May 4.
1906--Joseph Cook has deeded to the Board of Education the northeast quarter section of land of S33, T16, R22. The
rents and profits are to be used for purchasing clothing, books, and other supplies for poor children who live in District
21.--WS. May 18
1906--Dennis property on northwest corner of square sold to Oyster Bros.--Jan. 29. Emil Schumann purchased the H.M.
McLachlin building on the north side of the square, better known as the Price Block.--WS. May 18.
1906--The 5 store buildings on the southwest corner of the square known as the Gibson Block was traded for 480
acres of oil property in Indian Territory. The same block was sold by MR. Curl to Louis Baehr for $12,000.--WS. June 29.
1906--Work at the Missouri Pacific station is on a 100,000 gallon tank to rest on a concrete base with a standpipe on
the north extreme end of the platform so trains can take on water while stopped.--WS. July 6.
1906--The Crystal Ice Co. have their plant in good running order. Their pump set in large drilled well, failed to work so
they are using city water works. After new pump they intend to use water from well.--MR. July 13.
1906--W.C. Barren has sold 2.79 acres of cemetery land back to the city; three wells were sunk on it which produced
upwards of 7,000 barrels of oil.--WS. July 13.
1906--Ninety-five cents on the hundred dollars assessed value is the county rate of taxation. This is getting down
some.--WS. Aug. 10.
1906--John O’Rourke has leased the old Schroeder lumber yard grounds and will open a wagon yard and feed stable.--
WS. Aug. 17.
1906--Adolph Roth was the first grocer who sold bananas in ’73. He ordered them from New York, paid $10 a bunch
and retailed at 10 cents each.--WS. Aug. 31.
1906--Alex Hodges bought D.O. Banta’s house on 201 E. Wea and moved it and made it into two houses, larger 2-story
at 202 E. Shawnee and the smaller 204 E. Shawnee.--MR. Sept. 14.
1906--Berkley Carver is doing a nice piece of carving on the door arch in the Sellers Building.--WS. Sept. 14. 25
1906--An aggregation of women baseball players struck town last Sunday. A female band is bad enough, but when it
comes to women trying to show their athletic skill in baseball----WS. Sept. 21.
1906--The second district Federation of Women’s Clubs was formed five years ago by the late Mr. Ella Kingsley who
was its first president.--Oct. 12.
1906--The levy for the Library is 2 mills this year, about $1,600, which ought to run it for two years.—WS. Oct. 5.
1906--Kerosene is selling for 10 cents a gallon; as soon as the Paola Refinery got going the Standard cut the price from
20 cents.--WS. Oct. 5. The people in the country demand the Paola made oil and it is sold as cheap and is equally as
good as the foreign made.--WS. Nov. 16. The refinery has its wax plant in operation making parafine and higher grades
of lubrication.--Dec. 7.
1906--Dr. D.V. Mott, with new office upstairs over Miami County Mercantile Co. Building south of Post Office, has
practiced 20 years.--MR. Oct. 16. (In 1907 he successfully removed a tape-worm, measuring 30 feet from a Paola
citizen.)--Mar. 13, 1907.
1906--It looks now that the best thing to do is issue the $25,000 electric light bonds and put the town out of the grasp
of any gas company on light supply.--WS. Oct. 19.
1906--A number of fires have been caused by sparks from train engines.--Nov. 2.
1906--Tom Sanders has bought Elmer Powell’s interest in the South Side Barber business. Splendid baths and Tom
Payton’s shoe polish chair are run with this place.--WS. Nov. 9.
1906--The Crystal Ice Co. will close down for the winter. George Pfanstiel is busy filling the cold storage with ice for the
Missouri Pacific’s water consumption, a car each week.--WS. Nov. 16.
1906--The children of St. Patrick’s school will hold a bazaar at the Mallory opera house; proceeds will go towards
Munich window for the new Catholic Church.--WS. Nov. 27.
1907--After renting the 3-story brick house at 310 S. Silver in 1901 for a hospital, Dr. VanPelt in 1907 built another
story on his cottage at 210 S. Pearl and operated a hospital there. It was disbanded later. (Torn down in 1960s)--ejh
1907--Ahrens Mercantile completed arrangements with Architect Washburn, of Ottawa, for remodeling of CC Boxley
Building and the one adjoining on east, another story added to west building, in present location since 1885, also in
regard to erecting a new store building on the south side of the park.--MR. Jan. 4.
1907--Paola chickens won 10 of 15 battles in the cocking main fought at Leavenworth, the wager on the fight was for a
purse of $500.--Jan. 4.
1907--Radiator factory ready; brick and tile will begin when water main connected.--MR. Mar. 13.
1907—J.B. Hobson and S.B. Cowell held their annual meeting to celebrate their arrival in Miami Co. 50 years ago. Apr.1.
1907--The new Holy Trinity Catholic Church was dedicated Apr. 1. Bishop Thomas Gillis, Leavenworth, officiated.--MR.
1907--The Paola Refinery Company purchased a block on W. Wea, north of flouring mill. They will build a 2-story
warehouse, cooper shop and others buildings.--MR. May.
1907--Numerous complaints to City Marshal Taylor, chickens not being cooped may find owners in police court.—July 12.
1907--The Commercial Hotel uses 3 registers a year, approx. 15,000 signatures in a year.—July 12.
1907--Fire that destroyed 1/2 block of buildings on S. Silver burned an oldest landmark. The frame building behind C.W.
Carr Implements and purchased by E.T. Fowler for a grain storehouse, was “Paola House” first hotel erected in Eastern
1907--Except for WWI Frank Tomlinson in hardware business on east side then moved to north side, with Western
Auto until 1950.--1907.
1907--Henry Dollar has sworn out a warrant charging Chas. Hatcher with stealing his madstone, valued at $500. The
stone was owned by Mr. Dollar for many years and treated many people.--Aug. 16.
1907--An old cottonwood tree in front of Commercial Hotel was chopped down; Baptiste Peoria built a house in 1855
on the lot where the hotel now stands and the tree came up in front of his house.--Aug. 23.
1907--Old Silver Street Hotel being torn down, H.M. McLachlin says it was built 1859; he lived in it until 1863. He hauled
logs and then the lumber.--MR. Aug. 30.
1907--The afternoon circus crowd was around 8,000, some from 20 to 30 miles away.--Sept. 6.
1907--The Pearl Mill and Elevator burned; A.N. Protzman and Robert Ewbank, owners, had some insurance.--Sept. t. 6.
1907--The gas company is installing a six-ton compressor on the Link Flanagan farm southwest of town. The gas supply
will be increased by the pumping of the gas from the lines.--Sept. 13.
1907--The Refining Co. received a large sulphuric acid tank and a 3,200 barrel tank to be used for refined oil.--Sept. 13.
1907--The Republican office will move to the Taylor Bros. building on the west side of the square.--Sept. 13.
1907--Neeva Neal (Dolpha Neal Baehr’s sister) and Chas. Beckman were Married by Probate Judge Hodges in the Miami
County courtroom. Because heavy rains made it necessary to declare the Fair off, the wedding took place in the court
room; the inducement for this public wedding was furniture and keepsakes given by different business firms here and
the desire of the worthy couple to help the Fair.--MR. Oct. 4.
1907--Wea Street is now paved from the railroad track to Ursuline, So, Paola has one street that is a beauty. Peoria St.
will not be finished for several months.--MR. Oct. 18.
1907--Henry J. Allen, Wichita, will deliver a lecture some time in January to start the soldier’s statue fund.--Dec. 6.
(Severe weather caused cancellation.)
1907--Rudy and Gartner shipped a carload of red clover seed to Reading, PA, mostly raised by Miami County farmers
and is the highest priced car that ever left the Paola Depot. (Thomas Pickles is now with Frank Rudy the hardware and
seed man.)--Mar. 6, 1908.
1908--P.H. Grimes purchased the Oyster Estate Building occupied by his drug store on the north side of the square.--
1908--Next spring 50 young squirrels will be put in the city park; there have been few additions since 1895.--Jan. 13.
1908--The County Board has appointed Dr. J.H. Haldeman as County Health Warden; Dr. Joseph Fowler was appointed
county physician.--MR. Jan. 13
1908--Hon. Wm. Jennings Bryan spoke to the largest ever audience in the Mallory Opera House (without charge) for
benefit of fund for the Kansas soldier statue in the Park.--Mar. 20.
1908--The Sunday closing law will be enforced after April 1; merchants and clerks need one day’s rest.--Mar. 20.
1908--Nickel theater changed hands; Oyster Bros. sold to T.W. Ellis. Floor was elevated and opera chairs were put in
OK Theater until 1922. It became Russell’s Variety Store later Swan River Museum. Theater paid $1.50 weekly for
orchestra and piano to accompany silent movies.--May 1.
1908--Jacob Koehler sold restaurant and confectionery to Chas. Mundell; Koehler there since 1873.--MR. May 1
1908--Early Sunday morning the old Paola Packing Plant in north part of town burned with hog houses, stock pens, and
office of Anderson Livestock Co.--MR. May 8.
1908--Do you remember when all country restaurants sold “Lincoln Pie” It was baked in a bread pan and had bottom,
middle and top crusts. Filling was water, flour, sugar, vinegar and currants. A square size of a brick was 5 cents and
everyone bought it.--May 29.
1908--J.I. Huber sold lease and furniture of Commercial Hotel to George and E.J. Wilkes.—June 12.
1908--The weather on Memorial Day was perfect. The column (of people) to the cemetery was about 5 blocks long, an
imposing sight.—June 12.
1908--Prof. Ritchie Robertson and Miss Lillie M. Peters were married in their cottage; she made the 5,000 mile trip from
Aberdour, Scotland.--MR. June 12.
1908--Persons desiring tents for Chautauqua July 24-Aug. 2 may pick location if they place order now.--MR. June 19.
1908--E. W. Mitchler will build a 2-story brick house on E. Wea, cost $6,000.--MR. June 26.
1908--Paola Land and Loan Co. office in Frank Koehler building, east of square: A. Fisher, WH Lyon, Paul and J.E.
Russell members of firm. Frank Koehler put up a new canvas sun blind in front of his harness shop.—July 23.
1908--W. Z. Garman the cobbler upstairs in Wilgus Building at southeast corner of square uses same bench made from
a dry goods box since 1877. He will take 10 days at Chautauqua.—July 23.
1908--People complaining about old frame shack erected in 1882, for use as a city building. Mayor and Council called for
an election Nov. 3, 1908 for issuing bonds. In Feb. the old building was sold and torn down; clerk had temporary office
in Peiker and Scheer’s building.--MR. Oct. 30.
1909--Edward Lykins, Miami, OK, claims to be first white child born in the county, was here to erect a tombstone in city
cemetery in memory of his mother and visit cousins Mr. M.E. Hoover and Mr. E.J. Heiskel--Feb. 17.
1909--A cow walked in the open door of C.C. Boxley’s grocery and caused consternation as she headed for dish
1909--Wm. B. Henson sold his half to his partner Adolph Wishropp south side grocer.--Feb. 24.
1909--No baseball on Sunday afternoon, Mr. Flinn who owns the park signed contract with anti-Sunday baseball faction.
1909--A Bell Telephone booth installed in corridor of Courthouse.--Mar. 30.
1909--Old Wea Mission burned one mile east of town; one of the oldest landmarks. David Lykins, missionary, erected
the log building. Later it was sold to Robert McGrath. John Day was living there.--Apr. 27.
1909--The Colored people of Baptist church will have baptisms at Bull Creek Ford.--Apr. 27.
1909--Blaine Duncan, 21, in charge, American Express office youngest employee ever.--May 11.
1909--J.E. Maxwell sold law office to R.E. and E.H. Coughlin on second floor on south side of Condon Building.--May 18.
Maxwell sold his house on E. Wea to D.O. Sellers.—June 29.
1909--New liquor law cancels all permits of druggists.--May 25.
1909--Jabez O. Rankin appointed Judge 10th Judicial Dist. after W.H. Sheldon’s death.—June 8.
1909--Sid Rawson has burro pulling skeleton wagon taking him to and from Frisco Lunch counter.—June 8.
1909--Walnut Grove Park is ready for July Fourth with Orator R.E. Coughlin and Ed Hiner’s 3rd Regiment Band.
1909--McLaughlin grocery moved from north to south side of square, Cummings building first door east of Ahrens Dry
1909--William Jennings Bryan will lecture on the opening day of the Chautauqua. Hot weather caused the moving
picture shows to shut down for a time. Nineteen passengers piled into Toman’s wagonette after the Chautauqua. In
coming over the Frisco crossing the wagon springs broke and the entire party had to walk home.--July 27.
1909--John Hoover carpenter sold his home south of the Free Library to Rev. R.H. Sherar.--Aug. 3.
1909--The “Camp of 3 Sisters” on Wea Creek closed; it was a popular resort for Paola people. During the last month
there were 75 persons as guests.--Aug. 19.
1909--Adv.--If you have a horse and buggy, Cox at Star Feed and Boarding Barn east of the Courthouse will take care
of both.--Aug. 24
1909--The order of State Board of Health: abolish all common drinking cups in public. Public is divided about it.--Aug. 31.
1909--New City Hall completed on property owned by city since 1873. City Manager notes Washburn & Sons designed
the City Hall, cost $9,905, a 42x90 Paola brick with black mortar and a tile roof by John H. Petty. First floor: Clerk‘s office
and Fire Department with horses stalls. Second floor: Council, offices of Police Judge, City Attorney and Mayor and
firemen‘s bed-rooms.. The 400 pound fire warning bell bought in 1876 for $150 was erected in the cupola. The
volunteer fire department was started after the Chicago Fire.--MR. Sept. 9.
1909--J.L. Lowe has taken a 3 year lease on the Oyster Bros. building on the northwest corner of the Square, occupied
by Taylor Bros., and will move his implement stock there.--Dec. 30.
1909--Will DeFord in KC purchased a Ford runabout; the enclosed rear seat makes winter driving enjoyable.--WS.
1909--Horse races held in old Walnut Grove race track. Other activities there, too.
1910--Large fire in Schumann Building: loss $7,000; Mitchler’s; Ringer’s drugs, Paxton’s jewelry; Dr. Brookings’ library
and furniture; B.T. Riley’s law office; S.E. Croan’s; Beery’s Recreation; the Oyster Building and others.--Jan. 7.
1910--The rain with melting snow brought streams up suddenly with danger from moving 12 inch ice.--Jan. 14.
1910--The house occupied by Elmer Haughty, one block north of the Square, has stood since 1856, one of the first
erected in Paola, made of walnut and oak by Cy and Knowles Shaw, both now dead.--Oct. 4.
1910--Ursuline Sisters have bought 18 acres south of Academy from Sponables.--Nov. 29.
1910--Thirty couples danced to Pumphrey’s orchestra at the old skating rink; first of series every 2 weeks by local
young people.--Nov. 29.
1910--Signatures of 300 petitioners made City Council put on ballot to issue $10,000 in bonds to purchase Wallace and
Tryon land for a public park; Wallace Park bought Apr. 17, 1911, deeded Jun 1, 1912.
1911--Annual report of librarian shows 19,312 books loaned.--Jan. 14.
1911--The deal with James Patterson for the sale of the Miami County fairgrounds was closed. He has 21 cars of
equipment, including animal cages, wagons, canvas, horses, etc.--MR. Jan. 21. He bought the John Zahner 100 acre
tract on the west side of the Frisco railroad where he will establish his permanent headquarters.--May 19. Archie
Hoover sold goats for feed of lions and other animals. Patterson is erecting a 50 x 60 brick building for an animal house,
a 50 x 60 work shop and a 30 x 40 wagon shed .--Sept. 22.
1911--The Strang electric line between Kansas City and Olathe will extend to Ft. Scott through Paola.--Feb. 3.
1911--The past two weeks the gas light was not enough for ground hog to see shadow.--Mar. 3.
1911--Special election to vote on commission form of government, it was defeated.--Mar. 10.
1911--Mr. Harry Burton invites all ladies to see her hair goods. Switches dyed and remodeled and will buy combings.--
1911—F.L. Rauchley is building bottling works and pop factory in south part of town.--Mar. 17.
1911--Deposited in the corner stone of the Methodist Church are the minutes of first quarterly and district conferences.
1911--Owners of automobiles meet at the skating rink to organize. The automobile has become a permanent vehicle.--
1911--Electric lights are illuminating some of the business houses.--Mar. 24. The city library is being lighted with electric
lights instead of gas.--Sept. 22
1911--General science class of high school put on a “Clean Up Week” for Paola.--Mar. 26.
1911--The two rooms for tubercular patients, at the county farm, destroyed by fire are being rebuilt with hollow tile.--
1911--E.S. Evans has bought the 5, 10 & 25 store of A.G. Abrams.--Mar. 31.
1911--Robert Ayres elected mayor over B.J. Sheridan.--Apr. 7.
1911--The firm of McKoon and Wishropp dissolved; McKoon took clothing and Wishropp grocery and real estate.--May 5.
1911--The Paola Symphony has been organized with about 20 members. Rates for concerts and dances will be $1 an
hour for each musician for lawn parties and moving pictures shows 50 cents an hour.--June 9.
1911--Extreme hot weather requires a surprising amount of ice. Monday, Baehr Bros. delivered 93 cakes of ice
averaging 300 pounds each; by Tuesday noon they were out. Nearly all neighboring towns were out of ice for the
1911--The Paola Auto Co. has been bought by A. Lane, managed by his son Vernon, assisted by Ellis McCullough and
John Lane.—July 14.
1911--The Chautauqua is being held in a tent in the new park, South Park, at the south city limits, the first public use of
the park.—July 28.
1911--Frank Hite, day clerk at the Commercial Hotel resigned. Twenty years ago he bought shares in a Mexican mining
company; this week his share was $1,600,000.—Sept. 22.
1911—The first steps toward buses for schools was taken by the Board of Education.—Sept. 26.
1911--The electric red light bulb for police call moved from the opera house to the telephone pole on the corner at
Mitchler’s store.--MR. Oct. 13.
1911--A Wright aeroplane in its hazardous flight coast to coast passed over Paola at a rate of a mile a minute at a
height of 800-1200 feet.--MR. Oct. 20.
1911--Paul Mabes went to Iowa to buy potatoes and apples for Wishropp Grocery.--MR. Oct. 27.
1911--Masons moved their quarters from the third story of Dr. Walthall building to the third story of the D.O. Sellers
building; they expect to remain permanently.--MR. Nov. 3.
1911--Free delivery service will be inaugurated at the post office Dec. 1. Two carriers appointed were Bernal Barnhill
and Lester Rose.--Nov. 10. The carriers look well in their new uniforms. which give them an official appearance.--Dec. 22.
1911--Adv.-To keep down the muddy scum which rises when you use the Paola water for cooking, get a Roberts filter.--
MR. Nov. 24.
1911--Paola owes $35,000 in bonds for paving about the city park, the city and library buildings and street and alley
1911--George Quimby has purchased a 40-horse power Moon touring car.--Dec. 15.
1911--Alex Stremmel purchased the air dome of Bunyan & LeMaster and will conduct it with his OK Theatre.--Dec. 22.
1912--Ray Scheinert received a broken arm when the car rumble seat in which he was riding turned over.--Mar. 11.
1912--Ione Cranston and J.A. Patterson Married in Wewaka, OK.--Mar. 13. The Great Patterson Shows exhibited 3 days
before starting summer tour and stamped with public approval.--May 1
1912--W.H. Lewis has an auto, wishes to sell run-about and single harness cheap.--May 1.
1912--Mr. and Mrs. Rollin Hudson who lived here since April were murdered at 710 W. Wea, June 5, 1912. (Unsolved)—
1912--Mr. Carrie McLaughlin bought George L. Robinson’s old boarding hall foot of schoolhouse hill to be razed and
replaced by a bungalow--June 26.
1913 Dr. J.D. Walthall had addition built to Commercial Hotel, 25 x 40, three stories, basement, and 15 new rooms with
steam heat, making 40 rooms. (12 with bath), dining room, office and lobby enlarged.--Feb. 21.
1913—Cleaning up in city park. 24 seats were shipped in so now the capacity is for nearly 400 people for band
concerts. It has been suggested that the trees in Park Square could be watered from the two old wells and from the
fish pond.--Apr. 6.
1913--Ira McCallon resigned as Marshal and lamp lighter.--Feb. 26.
1913--Voters signed a petition to pave 5 blocks of Pearl Street from Piankishaw to High Line Railroad tracks.--May 11.
1913—I wish to extend my thanks to the Mayor and Council members for their Decision in naming the new park in
memory of my husband J.E. (James) Wallace. Goodbye South Park. Yours, Mary E. Wallace.--May 15.
1913--C.M. McKoon in mercantile business many years is retiring, complete close out of stock.--June 10.
1913--The ground occupied by the radiator plant, ice plant and cold storage plant and the old McLachlin mill, was
anciently an Indian cemetery. Baehr Bros. in excavating for the cellar of their cold storage plant found in an Indian
grave a china dinner plate, part of a buffalo robe and a few bones which they donated to the city library, for the
inspection of those who care to see such relics.—July 26.
1913--Women of Note: Mr. Francis Plank Russell (Mr. Elijah), 82, mother of 18 children--Oct. 17 Mr. Ida Gates
Montgomery, wife of William J., postmaster at New Lancaster.--Oct. 31.
1913--Work has started on a 20 x 50 addition to the post office building extending on the east end. Recently the
present site was leased to the government for ten more years.--Nov. 18.
1913--Miss Flora Torrey Wagstaff was admitted to the bar in this county under Hon. Hiram Stevens, Dist. Judge.
1913--One-half page write-up and 5 pictures of VanPelt Hospital.--Dec. 19.
1914—T.M. Hobson asks Council’s permission to form a private cemetery association for land bought from oil refinery. It
would probably last 40-50 years.--Jan. 9.
1914--H.O. Peterson bought Paola News & Notion Co. from George B. McDaniel.--MR. Jan. 30.
1914--Archie Hoover & Quince Smith have patent for Peerless Skating Rinks and expect to manufacture on a large scale.
1914--Mr. S.M. Strong is leasing LaClede Hotel; Mr. Etta Senter is changing to Frisco Depot Miami House.--Feb. 6.
1914--Paola Electric Light Co. have poles on W. Peoria and Mulberry to Frisco and Missouri Pacific depots which will be
wired for electricity soon.--Feb. 20.
1914--About 60 Merchants and Farmers organized; a paid secretary will be employed. (Later Commercial Club).
1914--The Wells-Fargo, American and US express companies consolidated their business with an office in Mallory Opera
1914--Last Sunday’s Star had 1/2 page write-up about Patterson Circus Shows. Patterson says he couldn’t have done
it without Bill Harris (father of Mr. Walter Smith).--Apr. 24.
1914--15-20 trees in the public square had to be cut, killed in last summer’s dry spell.--May 15
1914--R.R. Robertson is music instructor at Paola School succeeding Emma Paxton--May 15.
1914--T.M. Hobson bought the old Paola Lumber office building to move south of the High school for a residence.
1914--At his birthday party, James Cowell exhibited several hundred pictures on his ready opticon that greatly pleased
his guests.--May 29.
1914--Mr. Garman sold her greenhouse to Fred Hagemeyer, who made it into the largest ever built in Paola.--June 12.
1914--Art McLachlin with brother-in-law bought the John F. Merrill lumber yard from Paola Lumber & Coal. Office building
was remodeled in 1924, brick covered with white diamond sparkle rock--June 19.
1914--As of Mar. 1, 263 auto licenses had been bought plus 25 more since.--June 26.
1914 Paul and Eric Mabes made 12 day trip to Colorado in Indian motorcycle and sidecar.--July 3.
1914--July 13 Dr. Oren Lowe will be in office of Dr. J.F. Koogler, studying in New York--July 10.
1914--June 3 the Cherokee Indian Nation of Oklahoma ceased to be a tribal government; it had been the largest in
USA. Property was converted into cash and allotted to each Cherokee.--July 10.
1914--Rudy-Patrick Seed Co. sold Paola business to Thomas Pickles and J.E. Ballard who have been in charge.--July 17.
1914--Fifteen young men between 18 and 35 years are wanted to go to Ft. Riley with Co. D. to attend maneuvers. Pay
is $1 a day and all expenses.--July 13.
1914--Persons from Germany who have not filed their final naturalization papers before the war are required to file as
aliens with complete family history and physical description; 64 have Paola addresses.--Nat. Archives, KC.
1914--Russia and Japan are two of England’s war partners. That is no proper company for respectable people. England
will live to regret that she ever hooked up with such cattle.--Aug. 21.
1914--A leading merchant started home from KC in his six-cylinder Hudson had to stop 19 times to water his engine.--
1914--MFC returned home from Woodman, Colorado sanitarium after 6 months treatment of tuberculosis.--Sept. 18.
1914--The new addition to Ursuline Academy will be of reinforced concrete. It will be 35 feet west of the standing
buildings, connected with the main building by a hall.--WS. Sept. 22.
1914--A.E. Shelton running for Register of Deeds ran family picture of him, wife and 5 children as his 7 reasons he
should be elected.--Oct. 25.
1914--The new electric lights around Park Square turned on for the first time Saturday--Oct. 30.
1914--The Patterson Circus is being unloaded at winter quarters here: 9 lions, a puma, a leopard, 7 bears, other wild
animals, trained ponies and dogs in John Bachman’s Animal Show.--Oct. 3.
1914--The extra MKT passenger train which left here Saturday night was the first train to enter the new Union Station
just five minutes before the big gates were open.--WS. Nov. 10.
1915--Daniel O’Donnell and Preston Mitchell bought H. H. Grant grocery stock and will be in Jones Bldg.--Jan. 19.
1915--Co. D. 1st Inf., KS NG, 2nd Lt. Cyrus W. Ricketts was elected 1st Lt. to fill resignation of B.L. Sperling--Jan. 19.
1915--M.A. Schroeder offered to City Council to furnish foundation, cement floor and retaining walls for a shelter house
for Wallace Park. Mr. (Frank F) Ivah Scheer to raise money for roof and pillars.--July 19. On Park Cleanup Day farm and
town worked together; women cooked. Pleasant Hour Club asked for plants that could be spared. Later Mothers’ Hour
Club bought a fountain from Campbell property, shelter was built, Hagemeyer was named Superintendent. City
drainage has oil so PWA made it so only drainage in lake was from park.--July 30.
1915--Dr. J.D. Walthall exchanged 3-story building at southwest corner of park for Sinkey farm.--Aug. 13.
1916--Hoboes are numerous around the depots; one morning 110 were in a camp west of city cemetery.--Jan. 14.
1916--There has been more than a week of good skating on the lake in Wallace Park.--Jan. 21. First oil well; Earl Smith
drilling for Frank Elliott in extreme northeast corner of the Park--Feb. 4.
A concert was given by Presbyterian Church to benefit Wallace Park.--Nov. 24.
1916--Ordinance was passed for peddlers licenses to go from $2 to $25 a day.--Apr. 21.
1916--On Decoration Day the cook tent of Co. D was set up at southwest corner of square. A bean dinner was served
to old soldiers, Relief Corps workers and Spanish American Veterans with a fine program in the opera house in the
1916--Major Benjamin F. Simpson, 82, who has lived in Paola since 1857 has died. He was an attorney and former
1916--J.B. Hobson who opened first real estate office in Paola also an agent for Baptiste Peoria died Nov. 19, 1916.--
1916--Soldiers’ statue erected 50 ton 35 feet tall with Union soldier on top, made by Sellers Monuments. Cost $5000. B.
J. Sheridan states it is the tallest between St. Louis and Denver. (Because of unpaid balance of $3,411, bronze 3 x 5
tablet, paid for by Brig. Gen. Chas. Crawford, with 1500 names of Spanish American and WWI dead was not attached
and monument not dedicated until 1968, 52 years later. Seller’s heirs forgave debt. Jun 10, 1968).--Nov. 28.
1917--James Patterson received a spotted hyena, yak, and llama to be added to circus menagerie. He is having a
dining hall built for the 300 men he plans to employ by March 1.--Jan. 17.
1917--The new 9 hour ruling by the State Industrial Welfare commission for female and minor employees will become
effective Feb. 28.--WS. Jan. 17.
1917--New auditorium at Ursuline formally opened Feb. 12.--WS. Feb. 14.
1917--The grocery and hardware stores closed noon Thanksgiving Day, others all day.--Nov. 27.
1917--The county clerk Helman issued 200 hunting licenses this year and there are still several who have not procured
1917--Clarence A. Low and Martin H. Verdier were sent to Camp Funston by the local board to complete the 85%
required of this county.--Dec. 18. Among the soldier boys who left for Jefferson Barracks, MO was Chris Koobys, a
Grecian who with Gus Markis opened the Candy Kitchen two years ago. (He returned for 60 years.)--May 17, 1918.
1917--The third shipment of knitted articles for the Red Cross included 49 sweaters, 4 scarves, 4 pr. wristlets, 2
helmets and 1 pr. socks.--Dec. 18.
1917--High School students will have vacation until Jan. 7, hoping the new building will be ready by then. This is the
last class to graduate from North School.--Dec. 21, 1917. Formal opening was held Jan. 22, 1918 in the new H.S.
1918--Mr. John M. Tracy, 22, New Lancaster, died of pneumonia at Watson Sanitarium.--Jan. 22.
1918--The consumption of wheat flour must be reduced at once; 75 million bushels are being shipped to our soldiers
overseas. Merchants must put in large quantities of wheat substitutes: barley, buckwheat and rice flours; corn meal
and flour, grits and starch; oatmeal, potato flour and hominy.--Feb. 8.
1918--Hard frost caught potatoes and tender vegetables. First real rain since last fall, April unusually cold while March
more like May, seasons a month late.--May 3.
1918--Protzmans sold their elevator on W. Wea to Farmers Union Coop.--May 24.
1918--Call of 91 men by draft board, 54 leave by train May 28 and 7 about June 3 for training camp. Home guards have
90 members; their uniforms ordered through Cole Bros. Citizens contributed $888 for the equipment.--May 24. Draft
board ordered to enlist 5 men for Vancouver, WA to work in aeronautic corps to get out spruce for aeroplanes. A
number of citizens reported seeing an airplane flying over.—June 14.
1918--E.J. Sheldon has sold to Mr. Lucy Jackson the LaClede Hotel on W. Peoria.--May 31.
1918--Paola’s quota of 180 men to assist in harvest are getting toughened up.--May 31. At a meeting of Commercial
Club, Farm Bureau and business houses except Doctors, food and implement businesses asked to close each afternoon
except Saturday to enable all men to help in the wheat harvest. 15 men came down from KC, also.--June 14.
1918--Cpl. Loren D. Banta died of battle wounds in France; first Paola boy to be fatally wounded.
--June 28. Charles Patterson, son of James Patterson, killed in action in France--Aug. 2.
1918--Rev. J.C. Everett and family moved to Presbyterian parsonage given to church by late O.H. Hollis.--June 28.
1918--State Board of Health advises water from city mains for domestic use be boiled. Water is getting low in the creek
and should not be wasted.--July 5. A number of typhoid cases are prevalent around here.--Aug. 2
1918--Traveling in 30 motor cars young men’s division of KC Chamber of commerce will stop in Paola on a 2-day “Good
Will” tour.--July 19.
1918--Local draft board called 8 colored men to go by train to Camp Funston.--Aug. 2.
1918--Robert and Chris McGrath bought from other heirs of Robert McGrath estate 188 acre farm 1 mile east of town.
This is the old Baptist Mission farm where Dr. David Lykins came to this county as missionary to the Indians. In 1866
the late Robert McGrath bought farm.--Aug. 9.
1918--Good news: Delinquent Tax list in paper only 3 columns. Bad news: Shortage of hay. Corn failure. Scarcity of
water distressing. Temperature 100 for weeks.--Aug. 16. Water supply near danger point, 10-15 day supply in
1918--Schools open Sept. 3; 7th grade to the North School, all 8th to South School.--Aug. 23.
1918--Arrangement to erect new ice plant. Promoters: W.H. Moorehouse, George W. Strain, and Frank Sponable with
location near Moorehouse’s Electric Light and Power Plant.--Aug. 23.
1918--Dr. P.A. Petitt sold residence and 3 lots in northeast part of town to Chas. Heflebower.--Aug. 30. He bought and
is remodeling Rev. Charles Wheeler’s house on E. Kaskaskia.--Sept. 13.
1918--69 men called by draft to go to Camp Funston. Registration of all men 18-21 and 31-45 showed 2411 men in
Miami County--Sept. 6. Ship builders demanding $1 an hour for labor seems unfair to soldiers who serve in trenches for
$1.25 a day.--Sept. 13.
1918--A large clock with 4 dials has been placed on Miami County National Bank building, visible from every direction.--
1918--Miss Gertrude Hill elected principal to fill vacancy; Prof. Dewey called to service.—Sept. 27. Dr. O.C. Lowe to
Medical Corps. Dr. Foster to the Army, too.--Oct. 18.
1918--Boche (German) airmen dislike sight of American airplanes, investment of $20,000. Pilot costs $15,000 to train
and put into fighting.--Sept. 27.
1918--Community singing more popular, idea originated in Kansas. A chorus of 350 in “Liberty Sing.”--Sept. 27.
1918--Peiker & Scheer 2 stories and basement almost completely burned; thousands of dollars of food a complete loss.
1918--Mayor Hamlin prohibiting all meetings of more than 20 people due to flu epidemic. First death from flu, Sara
Margaret 6, daughter of W.G. Coplins.--Oct. 11. Patterson Circus intended to work in south this winter but fairs called
off because of flu epidemic.--Oct. 18. Because of epidemic all county schools closed next week. (List of deaths four
times normal)--Oct. 25. Epidemic subsiding rapidly; governor’s ban expires.--Nov. 1.
1918--Garnett has been totally out of water several months, Ottawa and Osawatomie very short, Paola’s water
available only at stated intervals.--Nov. 1.
1918--Sweetest music ever heard--whistle 3:00 Monday morning Nov. 11 followed by ringing of bells all over town and
firing of guns. END OF WAR. Germany signs ARMISTICE. Miami County has service flags with over 700 stars, some gold.--
Nov. 15. Questionnaires will be sent to 18 year olds but not 31-45’s.--Nov. 22.
1919--Henry Koehler sold his 19 acres to come here to educate his daughter at Ursuline.--Jan. 14.
1919--Emery, new president of Peoples National Bank sold Emery Hardware to Paola Hardware on the corner of north
side of square to his brothers-in-law, Boyd & McLachlin.--Jan. 14.
1919--Jessie Ward, 36, died Jan. 11, 1919 of pneumonia following flu. She was elected Clerk of District Court on
Democratic ticket in November and scheduled to be installed at time of death. Garrett Winkler was appointed to serve
in the vacancy.--MR. Jan. 14.
1919--The 35th division has been ordered home from France. Co. D., 137th Infantry of Paola is in the 35th; we expect
our boys home before many moons. The Kansas Legislature is making arrangements for an elaborate welcome when
they land in New York and also Kansas.--Feb. 14.
1919--It is said when the national prohibition amendment goes into effect, millions are going to move to Canada.--Feb.
1919--Allison Brothers is the clothing store that opened in Potts Building on east side of square. John F. Cole and John
Bachman will build on Klassen Estate lots 608 and 610 E. Peoria.--Mar.18.
1919--Victoria Krumsick, 15, daughter of MR. and Mr. W.M. Krumsick, is the youngest student at University of Kansas,
1919--Next Sunday Daylight Savings plan will go into effect again.--Mar. 25.
1919--Max Wells, released from Navy, has been with Sousa’s Band for 8 months at Great Lakes Training Station.--Apr.
1919--Father Bollweg, chaplain at Ursuline, goes to Louisburg and Father Kinsella will succeed him at the Academy.--
1919--Bernard J. Sheridan has been asked by the state headquarters to organize a chapter of the American Legion in
1919--Saturday night there was an unfortunate accident when a boy lost both legs and which should warn all boys to
stop hopping trains.--Oct. 3.
1920--Patterson Circus was west of KTY tracks out N. Iron, a dirt road. (Home place still there.) They had many animals
so people would go there like you would go to the zoo. One day about 30 monkeys got loose and they were all over
the roofs of houses. Parents were to keep children inside and close all windows even though it was summer. Patterson
workers came and captured them with large nets.--EH Scrapbook
1920--Where Paola Iron & Metal is, a cavalry barn was kept to return horses after long trips or training. Horses were
trained to return to barn when whistle was blown.... The men allowed boys to ride to Wallace Park. If some boys
stayed too long, an officer blew the whistle and the horses started back and nothing the boys could do would stop
1920--Emhart Battery Shop burned and rebuilt as Emmarts. Lloyd Drugstore on north side gutted, then restored as
Keith’s Men and Boy’s Wear.--Mar. 26.
1920--Scott Bounds bought lot next to Reeves Poultry House to build stand for his taxi.--Mar. 26.
1921--Ed Boyd is retiring from Paola Hardware because of ill health. Andy Weir and son Clyde have purchased it.--Jan.
1921 The Jackson Hotel was built on the site of the old LaClede Hotel, formerly the Reed House. even back to the Union
built in 1857. Lucy Jackson announced plans drawn up by Geo. P. Washburn, architect with A.E. Freese, contractor. The
best part of the LaClede frame building was retained as the back of the Jackson. The new brick hotel 76 x 40, cost
$50,000 including furnishings had 25 new rooms, with bath, (total 50 rooms. renting for $3.50-$5 a week) and a sitting
room on each floor on the first floor were the lobby, open stairway, guest’s library and dining room for 40 persons.--
Apr. 1921, Coming of Age in Forties.
1921--L.M. Metzler has sold his interest in the furniture store to his brother L.F. Metzler.--Apr. 21.
1921--Board of Park Commissioners Decided to close Wallace Park gates at 9 pm requested by Mothers’ club to keep
loitering teens out but it bothered tourists and adults so gates are open and the grounds are policed.--July 20.
1921--Labor Day is one of importance this year because farmers and laborers are to hold a big picnic in Wallace Park
(now incorporated as part of the city by the mayor and council).--Aug. 9.
1921--Paola is so crowded for school room that the basement of one building and parts of city hall will have to be used.
1921--Mallory Opera House burned. Lucy Mallory was living on the Third floor; Willard Battery was in the basement;
Ground floor: Cummings Studebaker and American Express; Second: Drs. Haldeman and Ealy, Bell Telephone and
Western Union.—WS. Oct. 27. (Item Jun 10, 1968) A verdict of not guilty for Mr. Tiede charged with arson of the Opera
House.--Oct. 17, 1925.
1921--Capt. John C. Collins had 40 hard maple trees placed in city park and courthouse yard to replace trees that died.
They include memorial tablets to Miami County boys that gave their lives in the World War. He also planted 16 trees on
the east parking of the cemetery.--Nov. 4.
1922--In December 45 meetings were held by the Farm Bureau, total attendance 535.--Jan. 6.
1922--A knight of the road weary and footsore knocked at the back door of a W. Peoria home. A social group met him
at the door and insisted he sample the delicious eats prepared.--MR. Jan. 20.
1922--Prof. Olsen from Agricultural College, Manhattan visited the cheese factory. He pronounced it an efficient
establishment and the quality of cheese very good.--MR. Feb. 3.
1922--John Cole enthusiastic about a golf course and thinks there are enough men to start project. --MR. Feb. 10.
1922--A very interesting Tuberculosis clinic was held in the city hall; Dr. L.A.VanPelt, Miami County Health Officer and Dr.
O.C. Lowe attended.--MR. Feb. 24.
1922--Last summer Albert Merrill promoted a swimming pool. The first pay was collected from subscribers and a lot was
purchased one block east of courthouse, cost $1,435. The residence to be sold and moved. Work will start on pool in
the spring.--WS. Mar. 3.
1922--Judge J.O. Rankin Jr. was upheld again by Supreme Court when a bunch of Decisions were handed down
Saturday.--MR. Mar. 17.
1922--Monday Sen. Arthur Capper was here; he was mighty busy greeting people.--Nov. 10.
1922--The Commercial Hotel was bought from Mr. and Mrs. George H. Bales by Cook & Co., KC; they own Broadmoor
Hotel.--MR. Nov. 10.
1922--Armistice Day was observed by entire cessation of business.--Nov. 17, 1922.
1923--Fred Koehler sold his bakery to Wilmer Barkhurst; the workshop and baking rooms are on the second floor of the
Peiker & Scheer building east of the Peoples National Bank.--WS. Dec. 30.
1924—Mr. Ota (Ione?) Naomi (Cranston?) Brainerd Patterson, (Mr. James), 43, died at the home Jan. 13, 1924.--MR.
1924--D.F. Dunn has sold his furniture and undertaking business to J.B. Lindemood. In 1909 Dunn had bought a new
$1,000 funeral car, of the latest design, eight columns on a side.--Feb. 10.
Roy Wilson is now associated with Jesse Lindemood as embalmer.--May 18.
1924--C.M. Koenig, Paola Music Co. sold store in Sinkey Block to Wittiman & Harkins.--Feb. 17.
1924--Country Club opened by President Paul Russell, luncheon served to 60 members.--Feb. 24.
1924--Wallace Park authorities are to arrest couples who go there to spoon or hug.--Mar. 16.
1924--Spring elections only 625 of 1650 registered voters did so.--Apr. 6.
1924--The girls of the 3 camps, Peoria, Pocohantas and Chippewa, attended the Fourth National Convention of the
Campfire Girls in KC. The Chamber of Commerce set aside $200 to help the local Boy Scouts.--Apr. 6.
1924--Stockholders of People’s National Bank met at home of C.N. Emery to celebrate 35th anniversary of bank; they
agree to consolidate with Miami County National Bank.--Apr. 20.
1924--Jim Kane died May 1, 1924. He began in Osawatomie as editor of Southern Kansas Herald, the first newspaper
published south of Kansas River in 1857.--May 11.
1924--Women met with A.M. McCullough May 5 to discuss organization of PTA, 96 members endorsed by Chamber of
Commerce, Ministerial Alliance, Federated Women’s Clubs.--May 18.
1924--Floyd Fickel graduated from KC College of Pharmacy.--May 18.
1924--Methodist Church purchased Clarence Ward’s place east of there; the house was built 70 years ago about 1854.
The Wards had longest ownership in town at that time. Clarence Ward born there 1861and died April 14, 1913, age 52.
--MR. May 23.
Pueser Motors advertised a Ford Touring Car $295 F.O.B. Detroit with detachable rims and starter $85 extra.--June 22.
1924--Co. D. 1st Regiment KS National Guard of 60 members will go to Ft. Riley for encampment in August.--July 13.
1924--A Junior College will open at Ursuline in September.--July 13.
1924--Jenkins Brothers Groceries are successors to Young’s on south side of square.--July 20.
1924--Dr. L.B. Spake, ENT specialist, is at Dr.CA Fisher’s office, twice each month.--Aug. 3.
1924--The Farm Bureau Insurance has an agent again; his office is in the old Sales Pavilion. J.D. Buchman of the
Agricultural College was sent to succeed E.H. Walker.--Aug. 24.
1924--The Methodist Church will use the courtroom while new building is being built.--Aug. 24.
1924--Jefferson Highway through Paola was okayed by state and federal governments. Beginning at the county line
then due south through Hillsdale to the Petrie Corner then ½ mile west and southwest past the Country Club into
Paola on Pearl St. south over the South Bridge to main road to Osawatomie and south to Beagle.--Aug. 31.
1924--Friday was opening day form W.B. Brueck Dry Goods on northwest corner of square.--Aug. 31.
1924--A.F. McLachlin sold his interest in Paola Lumber & Coal to Harry H. Whitaker.--Aug. 31.
1924--John W. Sheridan to take charge of the Western Spirit as editor and manager.--Aug. 31.
1924--A new garage and implement house for the caretaker of Wallace Park and Comfort Station 40 x 50 were erected
after many donated. The caretaker’s house was paid for with Congregational Church’s closing funds.--Nov. 2.
1925--Paola is located on 2 state highways, Jefferson and Canon Ball. A toy factory, brick plant, ice plant, cheese
factory and soda pop factory are the chief plants. Paola has 3,370 inhabitants: 530 Methodists, 415 Presbyterians, 379
Christians, 243 Baptists, and 700 Catholics. Other churches are the Colored, Holiness and Lutheran. Paola has 2
telephone systems: Hodges, 1000 city phones and Farmers 600. Three banks: Miami Co. National, Citizens, Liberty
State. Chamber of Commerce a recent organization.--PB & HK.--EH #3. Nov. 27.
1925--The County Commissioners made the following appointments: Link Logan, Janitor; E.J. Finn, oil well plugger;
Floyd Kirby, purchasing agent.--Jan. 19.
1925—Willard Thorpe is now the baker at Barkhurst’s City Bakery--WS. Jan. 19.
1925--The county is organized to curb bank robbers; Sheriff J.S. Barnes has appointed 50 deputy sheriffs distributed
over the county.--Jan. 23. (Dec. 18 item: Arms and ammunition have arrived for the Miami County Vigilantes. These 75
men were all appointed deputy sheriffs; each town has a captain.)
1925--J.L. Lowe has discontinued his implement store.--Jan. 20.
1925--Rev. E.M. Daniels has been returned to the Methodist Church another year.--Mar. 9.
1925--A supervised playground for children in Wallace Park in the summer months is planned by the Chamber of
1925--The Council has passed the Bone-dry Law. It gives policemen authority to make arrests for violation of the liquor
law; the city gets the fines.--May 22.
1925--The Royal Neighbors held their county convention, 305 women of different lodges.—June 6.
1925--The Board of Education Decides for religious training in the Paola schools.—June 24.
1925--The Empress has installed a new cooling system three times as large as the old one. Where can you spend a
more enjoyable evening than high class pictures away from the heat--MR. July 17. Gus Krieger has installed a $2,500
electric pipe organ there.--Aug. 22.
1925--This week the road to the Country Club and to the club house has been recovered with cinders; the club is
standing the cost.--July 17.
1925--The American Legion Auxiliary will not back the Chautauqua this year because of lack of interest. Redpath people
will probably go ahead on their own since routings are made--July 17.
1925--Paola’s new sanitary swimming pool owned by Elmer Hagemeyer is formally opened; Miss Marie Wagner,
Chicago, gave exhibits of diving and swimming.--July 17
1925--Mother Jerome celebrated her golden jubilee at Ursuline Academy.--Aug. 22.
1925--Frank Tomlinson and Boone McNelly purchased Clithero Grocery on North side of Square.--Sept. 25.
1925--James Patterson to sell Gentry Bros.-James Patterson Circus to King Bros. of Peru, IN, owners of Walter LaMain
Shows.--Oct. 7. The big brick barn was destroyed by fire.--Nov. 24. Fire loss $50,000 James Patterson’s pony and
wagon barn.--Feb. 26, 1926.
1925--The annual reunion of the 20th Kansas will be held here.--Oct. 12.
1925--Armistice Day will not be observed in Paola this year.--Nov. 11.
1925--The new Methodist building was dedicated; Bishop Waldorf gave the address.--Dec. 20.
1926--Scout Bounds was granted a permit to operate bus line between Osawatomie and Kansas City.--Jan. 1. Bus
service started between Paola and Osawatomie by the Yellow Cab Co.--Feb. 12.
1926--The 50th anniversary of the Pleasant Hour club was celebrated.--Jan. 22.
1926--A big need is a modern hospital; about 25 county people in Kansas City hospitals.--Jan. 29.
1926--The Paola Butter Co. in new quarters on Maple Street, five people employed; the plant averages 750 pounds a
day, 125,000 pounds in 1925. L.B. Smith was one of the founders.--Jan. 29. O.E. Collins has bought the interest of L.B.
1926--City Council set salaries: street commissioner, $150 and assistant Marshal $90 a month, city attorney $300 a
1926--Bradley Bros. bought Paola Bottling Works wholesale Candy & Tobacco business.--Feb. 26.
1926--Davies City Laundry moving to new building on N. Silver back of Weir Hardware.--Mar. 5.
1926--County received state $26,811.03 for their 6 months share of the 2% gas tax--Mar. 5.
1926--Fred Koehler went to KC to buy the latest bread mixer, cost $1,290. Fred and his son Gerald have moved their
bakery to the Altman building.--Apr. 2.
1926--About a foot of snow fell; county roads drifted as high as a horse’s head. Roy Wilson, driving J.B. Lindemood’s
Studebaker funeral coach, stalled just west of Bonita and had to abandon it after 2 spans of mules failed to pull it out.--
1926--A Mary Pickford film is playing at the Empress theatre.--Apr. 9.
1926--George Staves will have free fishing day at his lake five miles south of Fontana.--Apr. 16.
Staves Supply Co. was one of Paola’s biggest business establishments in the mid 20s.--EH #25, pg. 7.
1926--K.L. Grimes announced the organization of a band next year (with loaned instruments). A real band is needed to
stir enthusiasm in athletic events.--Apr. 16.
1926--Elmer Hagemeyer, owner of the swimming pool adjoining Wallace Park, has purchased a steel slide 20 feet high
and 30 feet long and a smaller slide for children. Other features will be a steel water pony and a Marine monster--WS.
1926--Surveys made of new Miami County National Bank building to be erected on the old site, 44-foot frontage on the
west and 100 feet long.--WS. May 7. It was built in 1877, new one to be occupied in October. Cost will be $112,000
including the large vault.--MR. Sept. 19.
1926--H.O. Peterson has sold his variety store to Mr. Ed T. Moore.--May 7
1926--The Harry Fessenden Elevator 820 W. Peoria burned, thought from lightning.--May 21.
1926--Contracts will be let for the $400,000 administration building at Ursuline.--May 21.
1926--The Chamber of Commerce have added 64 new members in last month.--May 28.
1926--Conley Lumber Co. bought by Paola Lumber & Coal; Conley will work for them.--June11.
1926--Modern Auto Laundry installed by Emil Koehler at old City Laundry building.--June 25.
1926- Ingersoll Foundry has done exceptionally good lathe and cylinder grinding work.--July 2.
1926--The new $10,250 fire truck on exhibition this week.--July 9.
1926--H.F. Miller to open cleaning and tailoring shop on south side in Goldstein room.--July 16.
1926--The boy scouts have gone to Camp Dan Syre near Noel, MO.--July 30.
1926--A German World War cannon has arrived as a gift from the government to Miami Post, No. 156, American Legion.
It will be placed in Park Square.--Aug. 6. (Donated for scrap WW II.)
1926--Paola Motor Sales has been sold to Elmer Reed and Mr. Frances Reed.--Aug. 6
1926—The Paola Iron and Metal Co. on W. Wea is Herman Miller dealing in all kinds of auto wrecking and repairs.--WS.
1926--The oldest resident by years living here, William Todd, has been here 64 years.--Aug. 17.
1926--Miami county people living in Kansas City will hold a picnic in Wallace Park.--Aug. 13.
1926--Maj. Charles Crawford, after two years in Philippines is transferred to Washington, D.C. as war college instructor.
1926--Marion Talley, famous operatic star passed through enroute to KC. A number of her admirers shook hands with
her at the Missouri Pacific depot.--WS. Sept. 14.
1926--Miami County National Bank Building, now being razed was built in 1877; A new one is to be occupied in October.
(It was June, 1927). Cost $112,000 including the large vault.--MR. Sept. 19.
1926--R.L. Tracy sold his service station to Skelly and will be local manager.--Sept. 24.
1926--Adv.-Bowling Alley just installed 283 ft. of regulation Brunswick hard maple alleys. Ladies especially invited—P.J.
Elledge. SW corner sq.--Sept. 24.
1926--Adv.-New invalid coach to carry ill and wounded, heater for cold weather, 3 seats for passengers. We go
anywhere at any time, Metzler Furniture.--Sept. 24.
1926--The “Stop” signs at the four corners of Park Square are too small. What’s needed is large letters, at least 18
inches long, painted on the pavement in white.--WS. Sept. 24.
1926--The Frisco sold 242 round trip tickets to KC last weekend on its dollar-rate.--WS. Oct. 1
1926--H.T. Harbison, fire chief, received diamond studded pin for 38 years service.--Oct. 8.
1926--The Neil Rice cleaning and pressing shop installed a Hoffman hat blocking machine using a steam pressure
process.--WS. Oct. 15.
1926--The Church of God brick and tile chapel cornerstone laid at 505 W. Piankishaw.--Oct. 15.
1926--Paola’s radio broadcasting station, KUCO equipped by Manager Beneficial of Kansas Utilities will be used for local
1926--The high school will give a special program in honor of the World War veterans on Nov. 10th. A section of their
auditorium will be reserved for the veterans.--WS. Nov. 5.
1926 The Bide-a-Wee Chocolate shop is manufacturing thousands of pounds of candy for the Christmas trade.--Nov. 19.
1926--J.C. Young has sold his battery service station; he will be sheriff on Jan. 10.--MR. Dec. 3.
1926--Drew McLaughlin elected for board of education vacancy, death of B.L. Sperling.--Dec. 17.
1926--Charles Steele is winner in a slogan-for-Paola contest with “Try Paola First.”--WS. Dec. 17.
1926--Alex Stremmel purchased the air dome of Bunyan and LeMaster and will conduct it with his OK Theatre.--Dec. 22.
1926--Louise Meuser to Washington, D.C. where she takes charge of the Lewis Hotel Training Schools from which chefs
and caterers are graduated.--WS. Dec. 24.
1927--Federal aid for surfacing 6½ miles between Paola and Osawatomie granted.--Jan. 11.
1927--Old Sinkey Building, brick block on the SW corner of the Square, next door to old Paola Hall was completely
destroyed by fire. It was built by Sheriff Rainey in 1872 for his family to live on 3rd floor. Old rock jail was just behind it.
(Years before a large fiery KKK cross was burned on top.) Paola’s first pumper truck was brought. In basement was: JT
Elledge Bowling Alley & Billiards; 1st floor: J. Fred Williams. Clothing, Kidwell Grocery and A & P Tea Co.; 2nd: Dr. L.A.
VanPelt; Dunham & Williford, real estate agents; 3rd: Chas. Wright, Rudy Shaeffer and John Barricklow had sleeping
rooms. Adjoining were Nicholson Building, Bide-a-wee, Miami Republican in the middle of block. (Later a two story
building was built by Sinkey.)--WS. Feb. 2.
1927--There are 3 women of Paola who are known to smoke pipes and 12 who smoke cigarettes. Only 7 girls are
reported as cigarette smokers.--Feb. 27.
1927 J.B. Lindemood sold furniture and undertaking to Metzler’s Furniture and Undertaking Co. (who opened
remodeled funeral home in June).--Apr. 1.
1927--Paola headquarters for Troop 114th Cavalry KS NG; 62 men here signed up.--May 1.
1927--Ralph Coler to attend High School, rode a horse from Somerset, kept it at Randel Livery, W. Peoria.--May 1
1927--L.F. Metzler and E. Frazier were appointed to the Cemetery Board.--May 3.
1927--Mr. and Mrs. J.D. Buchman purchased Dale Whitaker’s Seed and Feed Store.--May 13.
1927--Paola is to have a kindergarten; the required petition signatures were secured.--May 27.
1927--Postmaster Cyrus W. Ricketts was elected state commander of the Spanish-American War veterans.--June 9.
1927--The City Council has revised the ordinances. They were printed in book form.--Aug. 8.
1927--The colored people celebrated Emancipation Day.--Sept. 22.
1927--Jack Dempsey, prize fighter, passed through Paola; admirers went to the depot to see him.--Oct. 9.
1927--Annual meetings of the Farmers Union and the Farm Bureau is to be the 3rd and 5th.--Dec. 3.
1928--Christian Science Church at Agate and Piankishaw is completed.--Jan. 6.
1928--Frisco Depot so badly damaged by fire that it will have to be razed.--Jan. 6.
1928--E.J. Sheldon is Republican candidate for state senator.--Jan. 13.
1928—W.H. Lewis, broker in investments, motor car paper, and realty loans, has done $200,000 worth of investments
in the last six months that before had gone to KC and Chicago. His offices in the Baehr building are visited by many.--
WS. Jan. 13.
1928--Thomas H. Kinsella, Kansas City, 74, Holy Trinity pastor 1914-1919, died.--Jan. 20.
1928--J.B. Bailey received two carloads of new model Hudson and Essex cars.--Jan. 20.
1928--Chilton Cully has sold Blue Lantern Restaurant to Ed Evans.--Feb. 3.
1928--Air mail service available by train connection with Chicago-KC-Dallas line; 10 cents for each half ounce; envelopes
Marked “Air Mail.”--WS. Feb. 10.
1928--The Presbyterian addition will extend 20 feet to alley to take care of pipe organ donated by Christies.--Feb. 10.
1928--Relatives received from J.C. McLachlin an oil painting of their great grandmother Jane Mar. shall, wife of Wm.
McLachlin, copy made from a hundred -year old picture.--Feb. 17.
1928--Maurice Whitaker, deputy sheriff, was critically wounded by a man he was trying to arrest (and died Mar. 9,
1928--The Park Board spent $180 for a kitchen at Wallace Park with 2 hot plates, table and a gas meter constructed so
a nickel will be enough to cook a meal. A double cottage built for tourists is arranged for 2 parties and with auto
shelters to rent for $1 a night.--Mar. 16.
1928--Henry Sherman and Frank Koehler bought billiard room on west side of park from Josey Dickey. Frank Robsaman
and L.E. Dickey consolidated barber shops with J.W. Pumphrey.--Apr. 4.
1928--Drew McLaughlin was elected Second District delegate to KC Convention.--Apr. 4.
1928--A Boy Scout troop was re-organized under G.A. Egbert, South School Junior High Principal. He had organized a
Marble tournament in March.--Apr. 6.
1928--Rawson Restaurant burned.--Apr. 13.
1928--W.O. Young bought Canon Ball barn one block west of square planning on replacing it with tile and stucco
structure but it burned and entire block, thought to be Paola’s biggest fire in history. Fire cleaned block NW of Park
Square: B-Square Garage containing 60 autos & trucks; Robt. Lehr’s Shop; Harry Burton Vulcanizing; Dr. W.M. Dicke,
Vet Office; Paola Lumber & Coal and home of J.W. Pumphrey, 209 W. Peoria. Osawatomie fire truck helped keep fire
from spreading to other homes. The new Paola Lumber & Coal and Panhandle Eastern Pipeline building next occupied
the block.--WS. Apr. 21.
1928--The Atlantic & Pacific Tea store destroyed in Sinkey Building fire has taken a 5-year lease on the Frank Koehler,
Sr. building on east side of Square; J. Fred Williams has rented a room of Preston Mitchell in the Eisele building on the
east side.--Apr. 21.
1928--John Hinkle of grocery traded Anderson county land to Mr. Dora George for lease of Commercial Hotel.--Apr. 27.
1928--City to have modern ice cream factory operated by R.E. Saxton.--May 4.
1928--Paola has 11 north bound and 12 south bound trains’ daily.--May 11.
1928--Robbers broke in at 10 pm into Bailey Motors and stole 57 tires even though many people on streets at that time.
1928—New ball park on east edge to be used for football, baseball and outdoor games.--May 18.
1928—25 shale gas wells were brought in during the last two weeks.—July 27.
1928--Carnival coming under auspices of Troop 114th Cavalry will be in the McGrath pasture west of Wallace Park.—July
1928--Delinquent tax lists 5 1/2 columns long are published in this issue.--Dec. 4.
1928--City council votes to pave the street to cemetery.--Dec. 4.
1929--The County Commissioners appointed Wm. McNelly, Register of Deeds, to fill the unexpired term of Mr.. Lulu
Sperling, Deceased.--Feb. 15.
1929--DeMolay George M. Durkee Chapter was instituted with 42 chapter members.--Feb. 22.
1929--The Commercial Hotel is managed by the owners Mr. and Mr. John Shinkle.--Apr. 12.
1929--Canfield & Goldsmith Women’s and Children’s dress factory in Armory Hall.--Apr. 26.
1929--Lewis buys John Shinkle Grocery Store; Essner opens grocery in south half of Schwartz Building; L.Y. Monroe, KC
opens an Unclaimed Merchandise Store.--May 31.
1929--Mr. and Mrs. Ed Boyd motored to Ann Arbor for daughter, Berenice’s graduation.--July 5.
1929--W.H. Bowers again in charge of the Bowery.--July 17.
1929--48 Methodist young people to Rocky Ford for swimming, base and army ball.--July 17.
1929—Elizabeth Ahrens and friend Mary Shapiro will sail from San Francisco to start a two years trip around the world
as traveling journalists for the Missouri University.--Aug. 23.
1929—Dickinson Theaters Inc. purchased the Empress.--Aug. 29. The fall show has been called off because of polio
cases. (9 in county). (Talkies installed in following March.)--Sept. 15.
Insert 3-69 and 3-70.
1929--Lt. Walter Ringer, the new Captain of Troop K., 114th Cavalry.--Oct. 29.
1929--The will of Charles Griffith left $7,000 to Paola churches.--Nov. 4.
This Indenture Made this 13th day of December A. D. 1860, between Baptiste Peoria, a reserve of the Confederated tribes of Piankeshaw, Peoria, Kaskaskia and Wea Indians of Kansas Territory, and Mary Ann Peoria, his wife, residents of Lykins county, Kansas Territory, parties of the first part and The Paola Town Company, of the second part.
Witnesseth. That the parties of the first part, and The Paola Town Company of the second part:
Witnesseth. That the parties of the first part for and in consideration of the sum of Five Thousand and Dollars, in hand paid by the parties of the second part in gold and silver coin of the United States, to the parties of the first part, the receipt of which is hereby acknowledged, have granted, bargained and sold and do hereby grant, bargain, sell and convey to the party of the second part and to their heirs, successors and assigns the following described real estate lying in Lykins county, Kansas Territory and bounded and described as follows, that is to say:
Commencing at an ash state by an oak tree on the north-west corner of the town track, thence east 321 perches and 3 feet to a stone monument and stake, thence south 200 perches to stake and stone, thence west 321 perches and 3 feet to a stake, thence north 200 perches to beginning and containing 403 1/2 acres, in Sections 16 and 17, township Seventeen, Range Twenty-three, East, and is all upon the headright of Baptiste Peoria, and is a part of the allotments of land to the said Baptiste Peoria made under the treaty of May 30, 1854, between the above con-solidated tribes of Indians and the United States.
TO HAVE AND TO HOLD the above described premises with the appurtenances to the said party of the second part, and to their heirs, successors, and assigns forever. The party of the first part hereby covenanting with the part of the second part that the title hereby conveyed is free, clear and unincumbered and further that the party of the first part will forever warrant and defend the same to the party of the second part and to their heirs, assigns and successors against the lawful claims of all persons whomsoever.
In Testimony Whereof, the parties of the first part have hereunto set their hands and ink scroll or seals this 13th day of December A. D. 1860.
Baptiste Peoria (his mark X)
Mary A. Peoria
Executed in presence of
John L. Street,
B. F. Simpson,
Osage River Agency, Paola, Lykins County, Kansas Territory
Before the undersigned, United States Indian Agen for the Confederated tribe of Piankeshaw, Peoria, Kaskaskia and Wea Indians, personally appeared Baptiste Peoria and Mary Ann Peoria, his wife, well known to me to be the identical grantors in the above deed named, and whose genuine signature appeared thereto and acknowledged the signing and sealing of the above deed of conveyance to be their free, voluntary act and deed for the uses and purposes therein named, and the said Mary Ann Peoria being at the same time examined by me separate and apart from her said husband, and the contents of said deed make known to her by me, she did declare upon such separate examination that she signed, sealed and acknowledged the same of her own free will and accord and relinquished her dower interest therein, without fear of compulsion on the part of her husband and that she is still satisfied therewith.
Witness my hand and ink scroll or seal this 13th day of December A. D. 1860.
Indian Agent, (Seal Scroli)
Department of the Interior,
Office of Indian Affairs
February 2d, 1861.
The within deed from Baptiste Peoria, a member of the confederated tribes Peoria, Piankeshaw, Kaskaskia and Wes Indians, to the Paola Town Company for the conveyance of 103 1/2 acres (as described above) for $5,000 is respectfully submitted to the Acting Secretary of the Interior for his approval.
(Signed) A. B. Greenwood, Commisioner,
Department of the Interior,
February 12th, 1861.
The within deed is hereby approved as recommended by the Commissioner of Indian Affairs.
(Signed) Moses Kelley, Acting Secretary.
Filed for record on March 21st, 1861, and recorded in Book C. of Deeds, at pages 638 and 639, in the office of the Register of Deeds within and for Miami County, Kansas.